We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Short getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Montigo Resorts Nongsa
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Nongsa
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good Short getaway”
Reviewed December 24, 2013 via mobile

Quite a pleasant experience overall, service was good throughout the 2d1n stay. Spacious villa and nice view overlooking the sea . Villa I stayed in was clean although I could see the maintenance of the villa wasn't too good especially for resort that's only a year old, oddly there was a couple of mattress and cushions near the door out to rooftop, seems like it became a storage space or housekeeping forgot to clear it? Had a nice breakfast and dinner at tadd restaurant. Planned to take the shuttle when I arrived at the villa, however shuttle bus was already full, only one timing available which is 10am for the shuttle out to Nagoya and back to resort at 4pm. Do call the buggy 10-15 mins before heading out from villa as they take a while to arrive. May come back but probably only good for a night stay and a short getaway.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank DTraveler07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,137 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    509
    378
    164
    49
    37
See reviews for
426
223
4
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (239)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
85 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed December 24, 2013

The family enjoyed our short getaway to Montigo. The staff was courteous, attentive, and spoke good English.

The villas are also quite impressive. Each villa has 2 rooms, a living room, a mini kitchen area with a stove and microwave oven, as well as your own private pool and sundeck where you can have a barbeque party while catching the sunset. Wii is also available in the villa. The beverages in the mini bar are all free of charge as well as the cassava and banana chips.

Going around the resort, they also have a kids' play area where they have toys from duplo to alphabets, stuff toys, air hockey and slides!

For me, the spa is the best part of the trip. Their spa service is excellent!

The only downside is the price. It is pricey compared to other 5-star hotels, although, the floor area is triple that of a hotel as well. But, despite the price, it is worth visiting again! And an overnight trip is not enough to fully experience what the resort has to offer.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GIAJane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2013

My wife and I enjoyed our stay here at Montigo; we love the spacious villa and service. Also the food suited our Singaporean palette. Unfortunately a hidden cost marred our first impression with the resort. We booked an advance purchase through the resort's website which reflected Singapore Dollars (SGD) as the "hotel currency". All prices quoted online as well as the receipt were all stated in SGD. But we got a rude surprise when we received our credit card bill; we were charged a higher amount than what was stated in the receipt due to currency rate conversion to Indonesia Rupiah. Later we found out from Reservation that credit card payment in Rupiah is required by local government regulation. But there was no mention of this currency conversion throughout the online booking process, or the T&Cs. We were disappointed with this and have informed Reservation on this issue.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ruhong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
1 review
Reviewed December 18, 2013

My overall experience was generally positive. We stayed at the seafront villa. The villas are huge and very comfortable for my family of 2A and 2C. The service staff are very friendly and ever ready to assist. My kids had fun at the kids club - they are 9yo and 7yo daily as well as swimming in the villa's private pool. We also visited the spa and the massage was good too.

Some areas which I hope they can improve on is to upkeep their villas. The first villa I was allocated was leaking quite badly. With the heavy down pour on our day of arrival, there was water seeping in at several spots. We were subsequently given another villa which was fine.

Also, every villa came with a Wii console and game. However, they ran out of controllers so my kids were very disappointed that they did not get to play. Despite us calling the reception a few times to check, we were not able to get hold of any controllers. So if you intend to play wii, please bring along your own controllers to avoid any disappointment.

We also signed up for the firefly tour which didn't turn out as expected but through no fault of Montigo. It was low tide and the moon was quite bright that night, so we didn't manage to see many fireflies. The boat we were in also malfunctioned a little, which caused us unnecessary worry. The staff was nice enough to offer a 50% off the tour fee but it still didn't leave a good aftertaste.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chupachup77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2013

The villas are all two room villas so you gotta go in a group to make your money worth? Maybe because we were part of a big group who really spend big bucks at the resort, the service was top notch and very personal and detailed attention was given to us throughout the stay. The villas come with a small pool and the rooms are huge and spacious. If you like lounging under the stars, the third storey of the villas had a great Chillout outdoor area with sofas. Location wise it is not near Town so you are really dependent on taxis or their shuttle. Overall, the price us too much to pay, and I probably can get the same kind do villa experience at Phuket or Bali at half or stay most 3/4 of the price

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KevinShan2133
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2013

This will definitely be our first and last stay with the resort. Firstly, it was evident that that they did not do a thorough cleaning as there was a used condom + packet in the toilet bowl. Yucks. Our experience was further marred with the sight of a dead cockroach floating in our pool. We requested for a change of villa, we were even willing to downgrade rather than swim in the contaminated water, but they were supposedly fully occupied. So we requested for them to help us to drain the water while we went to the malls.

Upon returning, we were greeted by several cockroaches and millipedes in the living room + dining area at the pool. So subsequently we spent almost an hour killing them with the insecticide provided and then we called the reception to get a guy to get rid of the carcasses. They did not sound apologetic so I guess it's a normal occurrence to them.

Also, half of our view was blocked by the ongoing construction work right in front of the villa. And all the adjoining little huts outside were under maintenance due to safety issues.

But overall, the service was pretty good. They were very attentive and helpful. But still, the whole experience left a bad taste in our mouths.

Time your trip to the mall properly as the taxi trip to and fro Nagoya costs 200,000 and 150,000 rupiah to and fro respectively and the hotel only provides the shuttle service once a day ( leaves montigo at 10am and leaves Nagoya at 4pm).

Room Tip: An advice to guests would be to ask for higher levels so there would not be so many pests.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbrady111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2013 via mobile

The trip was memorable for a few things.

First, the villa was luxurious, no doubt, but there are a few oddities that we saw. There was no beach to the Beach Front villa. In fact, there was no real beach to talk about.

Second, the maintenance of the properties was not too well done. There was bracket fungi growing on the door handle to the roof terrace. A paving stone on the steps to our main door was loose. I understand that fixing it immediately was not possible but numerous attempts to get the staff to just mark it seems ignored. At check out, it was still loose.

We brought my toddler along, and when she slipped off the sofa, we realized that the cushion was fitted wrongly. When we flipped it around, we saw numerous stains on the correct side. Admittedly, no guests in the right frame of mind would flip the sofa cushion over. However, I believe that as a luxury resort, sending the cushion to the cleaners should be the option, not just flipping it around.

Now for the good parts.

The view from the roof terrace was spectacular, you can even spy the Marina Bay Sands(Singapore) when the weather is clear.

The food at their restaurants especially Tadd's, was really great. I never thought that Nasi Padang could be a haute cuisine, but I was wrong. The presentation, the portions, and the sambal, especially the sambal, was world class. There was even balloon art for the little one to keep her entertained!

If the restaurant was great, the private BBQ was even better. There was a chef on hand to prepare every piece of meat to perfection, and a waiter to serve you your food. Yes, it was a little on the expensive side, but the service, the sheer perfection and the keropok (fried prawn crackers) was great.

The private plunge pool was a great place to lounge in, so much so that for our short stay, my partner and I failed to complete most of our objectives. We wanted to do some planning and review our business process, but the call of the plunge pool was too strong.

The shuttle to Nongsa Ferry terminal was efficient. I believe that it would be a better idea to allow guests to check out nearer to their ferry times, rather than having a standard check out time to bring in the feel of real luxury.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank -Cheng-Hui-__-
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nongsa
6.4 mi away
Radisson Golf & Convention Center Batam
1.8 mi away
Nongsa Point Marina & Resort
18.3 mi away
Banyan Tree Bintan
Banyan Tree Bintan
#2 of 36 in Bintan Island
1,562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Batam View Beach Resort
18.6 mi away
Angsana Bintan
Angsana Bintan
#5 of 36 in Bintan Island
1,577 reviews
4.0 mi away
HARRIS Hotel Batam Center
HARRIS Hotel Batam Center
#2 of 11 in Batam Center
1,491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Montigo Resorts Nongsa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Montigo Resorts Nongsa

Property: Montigo Resorts Nongsa
Address: Jl. Hang Lekir, Nongsa, Riau Islands Province 29411, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Riau Islands Province > Riau Archipelago > Batam > Nongsa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Nongsa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Montigo Resorts Nongsa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 88
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Montigo Resorts Nongsa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Montigo Resorts Nongsa Batam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing