We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average to Poor”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hohe Rinne Paltinis Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Paltinis
Certificate of Excellence
Cluj-Napoca, Romania
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Average to Poor”
Reviewed September 29, 2013

I had a bad experience with this Hotel. The trip was organized by the company I am working for. We were approx. 160 people and the trip was announced 2 months earlier. We arrived at 2 PM and the receptionist started to share the rooms. She stopped at one point and she said this is all. The rest of you will get your rooms later. They had another large group and they have not leaved their rooms on time. I would expect to be informed if there are some problems right in the moment when I arrive to the Reception.
When I finally got the room, at 7:30 PM, I had another "experience" with the room. I found 2 tufts of hair on the carpet, the size of a tennis ball. The bathroom was clean though.
They also "forgot" to mention that the spa is only open until 10 PM. There is a lack of personnel there. The spa is quite big and clean.
The restaurant and the bar are good. I have nothing bad to report about that.
The hotel is expensive, but is the only one in Paltinis that can lodge so many people.
We had the check out at 11:55 AM.
I would not recommend this hotel for large groups. They are not capable to manage this situations, to clean all the rooms in time and to take care as they should of their clients.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Ionut C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    42
    18
    7
    3
See reviews for
58
31
3
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bucharest, Romania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2013

- Poor Service, Watch Out: after messing up our Booking.com reservation of superior room by telling us that they don't have any such room left (why do they take reservations anymore?), the only "consolation" coming from the Reception personnel was that anyway we'll stay there more than one night (so we shouldn't mind moving to another room the next day ?!!!). Needless to add, first impression - terrible. The manager had exactly the same attitude - "we cannot offer you anything else, so wait until tomorrow" - just to call into the room few minutes later and offer an apartment with mountain view (only at my previous suggestion in fact), the exact view requested in our reservation and that we extra paid for. Furthermore, starting with the next day of our staying there, the entire hotel had only 6 or 7 rooms occupied (based on the breakfast list at the restaurant) and hence breakfast is included, it means they could have offered that apartment with similar conditions in the first place, with no profit loss for the hotel and without stressing out their client. To us, it's a typical example of short-term business thinking of increasing their profit with no respect for their clients. And hotel's motto "Hospitality from the heart".. it's anything else but heart in their attitude.. We barely saw someone from personnel's team smiling during our staying;
- Average Sleep Quality: the hotel is large groups oriented, therefore this can have negative effect on the others' sleep and most of their rooms are twin bed type. The only workaround for matrimonial bed is to stick together the beds while the mattress is slipping and is too soft. Even worse, the poor phonic isolation between rooms may also impact the sleep quality. We have clearly heard (even with tv turned on) the people in the neighbor room and in the hallways, closing the door and stepping in;
- Average Cleanliness: the carpet in the restaurant remained uncleaned of dust for several days and so the tables in the morning. The same for the ventilation fan in the bathroom;
- Poor Location: the permanent smoke coming from the cottage in front of the hotel (you may see the attached picture taken from our room’s balcony, don't get fooled by the fog on top of the mountains) made impossible for us to keep the window open even though the cleaning lady did (in order to get some "fresh" air from outside ?!!). The smoke basically invaded the balcony of our room most of the time and we felt its smell even in the elevator and at the reception. This is a huge downturn of the beautiful view to the mountains (if you have the chance to be offered one at this hotel). The other main option for the view is the one that we have got initially and toward the most probable general source of the smoke - a big amount of wood;
- Average Rooms: the so called “suite” that we have been offered in the end had the same level of comfort with the other normal room, even a smaller bedroom, a hall where they have a sofa as additional bed (not needed for us, of course), almost no phonic isolation, none of the tv remote controls working, low tv image quality, unfriendly doors system, noisy ventilation system, flexible floor, broken curtain (I had to fix it myself using 2 chairs), poor mini-bar, no slippers, no additional bathroom products and not even a "do not disturb" card on the door;
- Room Service: looking through the room's info card, I haven't noticed a 24/7 available room service, so I see it as another minus of a "4 stars" hotel, but since we haven't used it at all, neither the Spa, I will not rate these areas at all;
- Poor Value: the accommodation prices are definitely of a 4 stars hotel while the actual level of comfort (of rooms, mostly) is in the best case of an ordinary 3 stars hotel, partially justified probably by the optional services (Spa, pool, fun area..) that you may want or may not benefit from.
As for the good parts, there were few (the beautiful surroundings even though they are general and not specific to this hotel only and there is a lot of trash all over the place - also a general characteristic, the bicycle rental, some dishes of the menu - soups, local fish, bread and fruits) but still weighting too less in order to change our general impression about this accommodation unit.

We have chosen this hotel for two main reasons: its level of comfort and its location (including clean air, expected in a mountain area). Both of them were in fact a big disappointment to us after staying there and this made it a rather unpleasant experience: heavily polluted air at the hotel’s location and low quality of room’s finishings. Any of the reasons mentioned in the above title is enough to never return there, therefore we do not recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank Razvan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avrig Romania
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2013

Lovely Hotel in the mountains easily accessible to reach by car. Quiet location with good walking paths to explore the area. Extremely comfortable bed with beautiful views from the balcony. We took advantage of using the Spa which is equipped with very high spec facilities all included in the price. Although we were travelling without children, there is a wonderful room specially designed for youngsters, full of super toys. All staff are polite and helpful.
The ambience of breakfast dining would improve by playing much quieter, softer easy listening music.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Raz R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medias, Romania
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2013

We stayed at this hotel together with my family for a weekend. I can say it is a very nice place to visit with children as they have a room special destined for kids with toys, cartoons, natural light, very nice indeed. My son was delighted. The room was confortable but definetly ask for a room with panoramic view and balcony. The sorroundings are extraordinary, very nice mountain area, fresh air to breathe. The staff is very friendly and helpful, except for the lady chef, which is kind of sour person. Also the food is tricky: it depends of what you order. The zuchinni soup with goat cheese was absolute delicious, but then I ordered salmon with asparagus garnish and I got instead salmon with green beans, without even telling me that it was a different garnish then it said on the menu. Then I had spiced shrimp which was very very salted. Don't try the moldavian tochitura! In rest we were pleased in general with everything. Thanks the staff from the front office for fixing the problem with the WI-Fi in such short notice. We will definetly come back, hopefully in the meantime the lady chef will work on the attitude and the salt in the meals.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with balcony and panoramic view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank car p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013

A fair property in the middle of no-were. The hotel is clean, personnel is very open mind. Please be careful when you choose a room. There is no difference between superior and standard in therms of space. The difference is made in therms of view. For the superior you get a balcony , for the standard you get a view to the wall. The spa is relatively big, the problem is the lack of personnel. Same guys from the massage are also at the reception. You can imagine what is happening when they are occupied simultaneously. Take care at the restaurant because they are serving drinks which are more expensive compared with the one in the menu.

Room Tip: Mandatory a superior room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Florin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

As I wrote in the subject, the Aducco Hohe Rinne Paltinis Hotel is an excellent place for a mountain vacation in Romania. Paltinis (Hohe-Rinne) is the oldest mountain resort (1894) in Romania, located at an altitude of 1450 meters.
The rooms are a really 4 stars rooms and also the restaurant, with very good food and beverage, which are served by a friendly waiters.
The breakfast can be served until 11 am which is a rare thing in Romania.
The SPA has pool and jacuzzi, many sauna rooms, salt room, tropical showers and all of them are included in the room's price.
They rent Cube bikes that you can take for a beautiful but also hard ride in the zone.
The Hotel is located at 30 kilometers from Sibiu airport and provide transfer services.
Being located at the end of the road and at only 300 meters from the ski zone, the hotel zone is a very quiet place and proper for families with kids. I understood from the staff that they intend to make also a kids club at the first floor starting with August the 1st.
Because we felt very well here this week-end, we will come back at least one more time this summer.

Dragos Geanuneanu

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dragos G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

I just came back from a city break at hotel Aducco in Paltinis and I wanted to post a review with the title "Perfect", but I see someone else bit me to it. What can I say? My wife and I were just blown away by this hotel. Rarely can I say that a hotel has it all. But for this one it is easy. We just can't find any flaw. The decorations and furniture: new and tasteful. Furniture and doors are made of massive wood, with a classic look, but not obsolete. Latest models of LCD TV are present in the rooms and in the restaurant. Beautiful soft carpets in the rooms and on the halls. Regarding the staff: everybody, from receptionists, to waiters and house keeping staff exceeds common standards of kindness, politeness and helpfulness. They all made all efforts to make our stay more enjoyable and fulfill our every request and they succeeded. We wanted a baby bed in our room and we received one. When we weren't able to mount it (tricky mechanism), someone immediately came and fixed it for us. We asked for an extra blanket, the house keeping ladies immediately brought one. Every request is fulfilled with a smile on the face and with a friendly and polite word. Made us really feel like at home. The buffet breakfast was incredible, all the food was of the best quality, the coffee and juice also. We also had lunch and dinner and we were pleased with what we had. The hotel also has a very nice spa area (swimming pool, Jacuzzi, sauna and massage), and a well equipped gym. We saw them, but we didn't get a chance to use them, due to the short time and the fact that we came with our little baby. The surroundings are calm and peaceful (the forest surrounds the hotel, and one can hear the singing birds all around). Paltinis isn't a very big and crowded resort, but one can enjoy walks in the forest or bike or ATV rides organized around. Perfect for a getaway from the crowded, loud city. Will definitely come back and recommend to others. If I were to make just one constructive observation to the hotel management, the pillows are too big and soft, and we found them a bit uncomfortable, they could be replaced. However, this does not affect the overall impression that this hotel is perfect. Even though it is now rated as a 4 star hotel, I think it beats some 5 star hotels I have stayed in. Definitely the best hotel in Romania I have stayed in and one of the best hotels I have ever stayed in.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ketchup1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Paltinis
14.5 mi away
Casa Luxemburg
Casa Luxemburg
#2 of 31 in Sibiu
248 reviews
14.1 mi away
Continental Forum Sibiu
14.0 mi away
Hotel Ibis
Hotel Ibis
#7 of 31 in Sibiu
534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.9 mi away
Hilton Sibiu
Hilton Sibiu
#1 of 31 in Sibiu
552 reviews
22.2 mi away
Brukenthal Palace Avrig
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
Vila Creasta Cocosului
#2 of 10 in Paltinis
1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hohe Rinne Paltinis Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hohe Rinne Paltinis Hotel & Spa

Property: Hohe Rinne Paltinis Hotel & Spa
Address: Oncesti Street 1, Paltinis 550001, Romania
Location: Romania > Transylvania > Central Romania > Sibiu County > Paltinis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Paltinis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hohe Rinne Paltinis Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoying a peaceful and an almost virgin mountain location right in the historical center of Paltinis, the second highest mountain resort in Romania set at 1.448 M, the Alpine-style Hohe Rinne Paltinis Hotel & Spa offers free access to a fabulous spa fitted with an indoor pool, Jacuzzi, wet and dry saunas, salt cave and a fitness room. Free Wi-Fi is also available. The hotel and resort history dates back to 1894, being the oldest hotel and mountain resort from Carpathian's mountains, and has been completely renovated in 2012. The 88 rooms and suites at the Hohe Rinne Paltinis are modern and comfortable, each equipped with a minibar, safe, cable and satellite TV and a private bathroom. The in-house Restaurant Conradt and Gutt Cafe have a pleasant ambiance and serves both Romanian and international cuisine, while children can enjoy the modern Rainbow Kids Club. Mountain bikes for all ages are available for rent, while the hotel is the starting point of many hiking trails in the surrounding mountains. Hohe Rinne Paltinis is set only 200 metres from the main chair lift, 3 km from Arena Platos ski slopes, 8 km from Arka Adventure Park, and offers free transfer to all these locations. The city of Sibiu, a beautiful historic and touristic city from Transylvania who was chosen the European cultural capital in 2007, is just 30 km away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HRS, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hohe Rinne Paltinis Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing