We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little gem”
Review of Stella Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Stella Resort
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“A little gem”
Reviewed April 10, 2013

This little resort is in a perfect location for exploring Sam Roi Yot National Park. We had a car so were easily able to travel around but it may not be so easy if you didn't.

The individual bungalows are well equipped with a large, fully stocked fridge, a flat screen, wall mounted TV with satellite and tea and coffee making facilities. There is also a small private terrace with a sun bed, table and chairs. The small swimming pool is nice to cool down in.

When we were there renovations were happening to the restaurant area so there was a little bit of upheaval but this will be a big improvement when it's finished which shouldn't be too long now.

Breakfast was very nice and consisted of toast, hams, cheeses, cereals and eggs.

The best part about this resort though is the owners, Jan and his wife, who couldn't do enough for you and went out of their way to make the stay enjoyable. If I was coming back to this area I would stay here again.

Jan has a bar along the beach that we went to in the evening. The drinks were good and very reasonably priced.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susie118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    7
    0
    2
    1
See reviews for
13
24
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2013

Wow Charlie- your review is harsh. You must be from America where you feel entitled, but in reality can't get a cheap dirty motel room for 40 bucks (1200 THB) and feel it is your right to complain about small things. You obviously didn't do your homework- Stella is listed on google maps and shows their exact location. If you wanted beachfront 5 star accommodations you should have stayed in Hua Hin or some other part of Thailand such as Phuket and spent more than 40 bucks.

We stayed at Stella and found the owner and his wife to be the most friendly and accommodating people, who went out of their way for us to make our vacation better than we ever expected. We planned to stay for a week and stayed for three. Loved every minute and had the best vacation ever.

Thai people call you "Cheap Charlie" (Really! Even if your name isn't actually Charlie.) You found the best price in Sam Roi Yod and booked it regardless of location. You have the audacity to moan about a family run resort, complete with dogs, expecting five star service for 40 of your precious USD.

Dogs will be dogs. Chewing shoes is what they do. If you were smart you would have taken them off your feet and carried them inside for the night.The amount that the owner offered you would have replaced your sandals with a top quality pair of Thai brand (Remember- average wage in this country is less than 300 USD per rmonth), and you could have gone home with an amusing story instead of an attitude. It must suck being you.

My wife and I will be going back to Stella for the third time later this year, and we are already crossing off the days on our calendar. The care that they give- on the resort and at their beach bar is exactly what any person who knows Thailand could hope for.

I'd suggest that you stick to the "brand name" hotels and resorts next time, or go to somewhere other than Thailand. US Virgin Islands come to mind. Pay the top dollar - 200 to 300 USD per night - and do your homework first before you book.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sam R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2013

We were excited to stay at Stella resort because of the good reviews it got, but after staying there, I don't understand. There are plenty of nice resorts on the beach, about a 10 minute scooter ride away, that look much more inviting and are around the same price.

The hotel is pretty secluded, but not in a nice, romantic or family holiday way. Secluded as in, nothing is around, you need your own transportation to eat or get to the beach or to the park.

The "resort" is overpriced. Its a small plot of land in a residential area with a few bungalows on it. For the price, I expected much more of the room. The bed was uncomfortable. The shower (and sink) didn't work when we got there and we had to ask the owner to turn the water on for us. Once he did, it wasn't very good water pressure and we were told not to use much water. The room didn't have any views and was a bit dark. I didn't understand why there weren't more windows.

The hotel is away from the beach. There is nothing to do in the immediate vicinity. Going to the beach would be a very very long walk. Same for going to the park.

We rented a scooter from the owner. It was in poor condition, making riding on it a bit nerve racking (and we have rented scooters all across Asia). The owner gave us his insider tip on where to go -- the exact same tip that is covered in all the guide books and the reason we came -- but then he gave us the wrong directions!

I wouldn't stay here again and wouldn't recommend it to anyone. I was kicking myself when we went for dinner -- a scooter ride away by the beach -- because of all the great housing options there, with plenty of activities and restaurants within a few minutes walk.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank liveinchina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2013

I stayed here in March 2013 to check out the Khao Sam Roi Yot National Park and was terribly disappointed with my experience. First, the lodging is far over priced for what I got (I paid THB1200 or ~$40). The room was ok, clean and A/C worked, but wifi didn't work in the room and the bed wasn't very comfortable. Second, the location is a 5 km/3 miles away from the beach and down a bad gravel road.

Last, when I awoke and walked outside to put on my sandals (which the owner asked me to take off and leave on the porch) I found one of my sandals in the yard with the straps completely chewed to shreds by the owner's dog. When I show the sandals to the owner, he stares at me blankly and asks "what to do?" I say I bought the sandals for $40 in America and he says that I paid way too much and that you can get sandals for THB200 (~$6-7) in Thailand. I asked him to compensate me for them and he suggested I get them fixed as "Thai people can fix everything". He didn't seem to realize his dog had eaten significant portions of my sandal. In the end all he gave me was essentially a THB250 ($8.50) credit to my bill. The owner's attitude was not a "service oriented, trying to fix the problem and please the customer" kind of attitude, but rather very much of a "screw the customer, minimize how much I will have to pay" attitude.

tl;dr - okay place until there is a problem, overpriced, bad location far from beach, owner doesn't value customers' possessions

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Charliechrisman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sam Roi Yot
2.2 mi away
Dolphin Bay Resort
Dolphin Bay Resort
#1 of 12 in Sam Roi Yot
382 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Green Beach Resort
The Green Beach Resort
#4 of 12 in Sam Roi Yot
51 reviews
5.0 mi away
Oriental Beach Pearl Resort
Oriental Beach Pearl Resort
#3 of 12 in Sam Roi Yot
240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.4 mi away
Kuiburi Hotel & Resort
Kuiburi Hotel & Resort
#9 of 18 in Prachuap Khiri Khan
46 reviews
2.1 mi away
Long Beach Inn
Long Beach Inn
#22 of 136 in Hua Hin
190 reviews
10.3 mi away
The Privacy Beach Resort & Spa
The Privacy Beach Resort & Spa
#7 of 12 in Sam Roi Yot
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stella Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stella Resort

Property: Stella Resort
Address: 245 Moo 5, Ban Hua Than Teaw, Sam Roi Yot 77110, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Prachuap Khiri Khan Province > Sam Roi Yot
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 23 Specialty Lodging in Sam Roi Yot
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Stella Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When visiting Prachuap Khiri Khan , you will feel at home at Stella Resort, which offers quality accommodation and excellent service . With its location just 20 km from the city center and 270. Km from the airport, this 2.5 -star hotel attracts many travelers each year. Due to its location , the hotel offers easy access to must-see destinations of the city . Stella Resort offers impeccable service and all the amenities to invigorate travelers . . Hotel guests can take advantage of features on the site such as laundry service , Wi- Fi in public areas, family room , car park, airport transfer Stella Resort features 7 bedrooms, all tastefully furnished to provide comfort such as the Internet access - wireless (complimentary ), shower, air conditioning , balcony / terrace , mini bar. Garden, spa , outdoor pool, massage at the hotel are ideal places to relax after a busy day . Whatever your reason for visiting Prachuap Khiri Khan , Stella Resort is the perfect venue for an exhilarating and exciting break away . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Stella Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing