We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (73)
Filter reviews
73 results
Traveler rating
47
14
6
3
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
47
14
6
3
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthai styleboutique resortsmall roadswimming poolamerican breakfasthidden gemhuabangkokbeachbicycleskm
Filter
Updating list...
33 - 38 of 73 reviews
Reviewed January 11, 2013

Great little family run resort that provided exactly what it advertises.... a peaceful little oasis , off the beaten path where you can just sit back and relax.The resort itself is a a small compound of Thai style rooms on stilts and more modern garden rooms. We stayed in Villa 5 which is directly across a small gravel road from the beach...and although it had no windows per se one could open up the whole room to the ocean simply by unlatching the wooden doors and shutters. We particularly enjoyed our evenings on our balcony having a drink and watching the ocean...a number of times the staff served us dinner right on the balcony! The food was excellent and the staff(although extremely limited English) were a delight...every encounter was a game of charades while we figured out what each other was trying to stay. Lachie and his wife were unbelievable hosts and organized a motor bike for us for the week, sent us out on tours to other beaches and caves and arranged a trip to a National Park to see elephants in the wild.
The property is not directly on the beach but is only separated from it by a little travelled gravel road. The beach itself is miles long and is quite flat with hard packed sand- we travelled quite often to nearby beaches that were a bit more to our liking. This is not a resort for someone who wants all the amenities and access to the night life....it is as the name implies away from all that.
Great place to chill out , read some books and leave the busyness of life behind.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tomandrach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Away H, Manager at Onusa Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded February 16, 2013

Dear Tomandrach,

Thank you for taking the time to leave your thoughts about Away Hua Hin-Pranburi.

We are very happy to hear that you and your partner enjoyed your stay with us. Both my wife and I enjoy sharing what local knowledge we have of the surrounding area and helping out to ensure all our guests enjoy their stay to the best possible.

Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back again sometime in the future,

Kind regards,
Lachlan Cooper
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2012

We are looking forward to our third visit to Away. This small hotel is oir idea of perfection. The owners are charming, helpful and so kind and have become good friends. The staff, despite limited English, always eager to help and be of service and so cheerful. The rooms have all one could require plus excellent wifi throughout the premises. We love the breakfasts, something for everyone and the other meals are fresh and healthy and varied and the cook is happy to cook pretty much on demand. You'll get asked what you would like in the morning and quite likely it'll be bought and cooked for you in the evening. The beach is empty and beautiful and the pool and grounds are lovely too. If you like the high life and lots of glitz Away is not for you, but if you want serenity and beauty you'll love it.

Room Tip: Front rooms have best sea view but are smaller. ThemThai house is the most atmospheric!
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Anna T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Away H, Manager at Onusa Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded February 16, 2013

Dear 487Anna487,

We are always happy to hear what our guests have to say about their stay and it makes us warm to hear you enjoyed your previous stays so much.
We of course look forward to seeing you again.
You have picked a wonderful time of year to stay, a mix of the busier holiday season and quiet with lovely empty beaches.
Our staff look forward to doing their best to look after you.

Kind Regards,
Lachlan Cooper
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2012

What a fantastic place. The owners are now back running the place and couldnt be more helpful, even taking us to the train station at 5.30 am when we left. They organised lots of excursions for us, negotiating discounts and not taking a commission. The rooms are delightful, the food is great and the swimming pool very welcome. Highly recommended

Room Tip: They are all good but the ones facilng the sea have the best views
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Magellan57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Away H, Manager at Onusa Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us.
We are very pleased that your family enjoyed your stay.
Both my wife and I enjoyed organizing all the tours and activities for you, we are always happy to help when we can.
I hope the train trip was pleasant and you made it safely to your next stop.

Hope to see you again sometime in the future.

Kind regards,
Lachlan Cooper
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2012

We stayed for two nights at Away Hua Hin in April this year. This place is amazing and the owners are great too. We could not find the hotel at first because we got on the wrong bus from Bangkok. We phoned the owner for directions and her very kindly picked us up! During our two day stay they were so accommodating, the food was some of the best we had eaten during our holiday.
Would highly recommend this amazing place.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bambi1074
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Away H, Manager at Onusa Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review for Away Hua Hin.

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We are looking at ways to improve our communication through our booking sites, so that all our guests can find the best and easiest options to get here.
We are slightly remote from the main tourist area, which can make it difficult for some drivers to find us.
We are always happy to help however when guests get lost, or need to be picked up from town.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and we hope to welcome you again sometime in the future.

Kind regards,
Lachlan Cooper
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2012

I've been coming here 3 or 4 years now, must have stayed 10 or more times already, always long weekends, 2, 3 or 4 nights with my wife and 2 young children. Adorable place, excellent clean comfortable rooms with everything you need, caring hospitable owners in the Cooper family and friendly staff. The breakfasts are relaxed, when you want it, and good quality. The food at Ella's kitchen is well prepared and consistently good, especially the grapao... The beach is empty and quite extraordinary for she'll collecting. My kids love the pool (and playing with baby Ella) which is great too. Stayed many other places in Hua Hin and Pranburi (lovely Anantara, Hilton, Hyatt, Evason, Yaiya, Evason, the excellent Aleenta, the awful Praseban) but nowhere compares on quality and value.... Keep up the great work Locky and Meeow!!!

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jamescot65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Away H, Manager at Onusa Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you kindly for taking the time to write a review.

We are always happy to have you and your family stay with us. Ella especially, as she adores your 2 daughters so much!
For guests like yourself that have been staying here regularly, we hope that we can keep our high standard of service and improve where need be.

We look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.

Kind regards,
Lachlan Cooper
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews