We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
The Beach Village(Sam Roi Yot)
$45
$40
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of $46/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Dolphin Bay Resort(Sam Roi Yot)(Great Value!)
$43
$40
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Stella Resort(Sam Roi Yot)(Great Value!)
$45
$28
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Green Beach Resort(Sam Roi Yot)(Great Value!)
$41
$37
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Baan Aroka(Sam Roi Yot)
$37
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Beach Box @ Pran(Sam Roi Yot)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (73)
Filter reviews
73 results
Traveler rating
47
14
6
3
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
47
14
6
3
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthai styleboutique resortsmall roadswimming poolamerican breakfasthidden gemweddinghuabangkokbeachbicycleskm
Filter
Updating list...
40 - 45 of 73 reviews
Reviewed March 19, 2012

I can't say enough about this fantastic spot! It exceeded our expectations in every way and was simply a joy to be there. My brother and fiancee literally last minute asked if the resort could help with a wedding (in 2 days time) and they moved heaven and earth to make it the most perfect day. Not only were they largely responsible for making the day so wonderful, the next day, the owner took us all down to the local Thai Temple and arranged for a really nice little Thai ceremony.
It is a holiday we will all never forget and for that, the owners are largely responsible. Couldn't imagine a better or more suitable little venue for a quaint, intimate little marriage ceremony. Perfect!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank noholesbarred1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Away H, Manager at Onusa Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2012

Dear Charlie,

Thank you so much for your kind words.
We loved having you stay with us, and especially pleased to hear that your family had such a fantastic time.
A big congratulations to James and Nadya, we wish them the best for their marriage.
I must give credit to my wife and our girls for all their hard work preparing the wedding reception and dinner for your brother and his wife.

Many thanks for choosing to stay with us.

Kind Regards,
Lachlan Cooper
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2012

We stayed in Away Hua Hin twice in 2011 (after trips to Bhutan and to Laos/Cambodia). The family run resort has 5 villas, two of them with sea-view, the rest - with garden view. Swimming pool, restaurant, spa (on demand, in room). Away is located in a very quiet area, among a few resorts occupied mainly with thai people. That means there is no Patthaya or Phuket style attractions, no bars, discos, crouds of tourists, shopping centers etc. You can take a bicycle and explore the local attractions - there is a quite interesting cave, or arrange a private trip to waterfalls or Sam Roi Jod national park -just ask the resort manager about it.
The food in restorant is very delicious, for the dinner if you want something special - tell your choice to the room maid in advance, or better write it down, otherwise you can can get a "water with lemon" instead of "watermelon" juice.  The prices in restaurant are acceptable, and there are not many other eating opportunities nearby. Actualy we ate only in the Away restaurant during our holidays.
The villas are very nice, lovely decorated wooden bungalows. Our villa (#5 with sea view) had a large balcony, and a private part of the garden - for relaxing in hammock. The bungalow itself was not very spacious - just a sleeping room and bathroom. There is a dead-end road between the seashore and the resort, but the are just a few cars in a day.
We booked through sawadee.com, it was quite cheaper then directly by the resort.

Next time in this part of Thailand will stay in Away for sure.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MurkiTheTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Away H, Manager at Onusa Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2012

Dear Maria,

Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review about your stay.
We always appreciate to hear what our guests have to stay about their stay and to share their experience with prospective guests.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Away Hua Hin, let us know and we will reserve Villa 5 again for you!

Best regards,
Lachlan Cooper
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2012

Just a fantastically relaxing spot. Made so by the quiet location, the well designed hotel and the wonderfully hospitable couple who run it (and their daughter, age about 2). The hotel consists of 5 villas set around a pool in the grounds of a traditional Thai house. It is located on a very quiet beach between the Pran Buri Beach and the Dolphin Bay beach. Each of these beaches is 5 km long so not small. We went to the beach everyday, when I say went I mean walked 20 metres!, and had the beach basically to ourselves most of the time!

The food was fabulous and not overly expensive. My kids could not get enough of the Tom Kad Kai! The hosts were great, always willing to help when you needed it, but still discrete.
We had a wonderful time and if we come back to Thailand we will be back!!

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chomolongma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Away H, Manager at Onusa Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you kindly for taking the time to review our property and share your experience with everybody.
The owners have tried very hard to create a peaceful and inviting place that blends in with the surrounding area for our guests, a place where you can feel at home.

We look forward to welcoming you back next you are in Thailand.

Kind regards,
Lachlan Cooper
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2012

Unfortunately we only spent one night in this gem of a guest house - we would have loved to have spent a few days just chilling there. The dinner we had sitting outdoors at a candlelit table was by far the best meal we had during our stay in Thailand - I don't think that any of us have ever eaten such amazing prawns! The restaurant is named after the proprietors' cute little daughter, Ella.

The accommodation in the beautifully restored Thai home is very comfortable.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2011

This little boutique resort is a treasure - and once found you will want to keep going back and back. It's located on a peaceful beach free from touts or crammed with tourists. The accommodation is either gorgeous garden villas, beachside traditional Thai teak houses (lovingly restored and with all the creature comforts of home). The owners and management are the loveliest people and really cared about making sure our stay was fantastic. It ticked all the boxes for us as a family of four. We will be bringing loads of friends and family back for celebrations and just weekends to hang out and chill. Ella's Kitchen also does affordable, yummy Thai style food and it is fresh and delicious. Our new home away from home.

Room Tip: All rooms are great weather by the gorgeous gardens or beachside.
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank michellemc2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews