We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (73)
Filter reviews
73 results
Traveler rating
47
14
6
3
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
47
14
6
3
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthai styleboutique resortsmall roadswimming poolamerican breakfasthidden gemhuabangkokbeachbicycleskm
Filter
Updating list...
43 - 48 of 73 reviews
Reviewed January 1, 2012

Unfortunately we only spent one night in this gem of a guest house - we would have loved to have spent a few days just chilling there. The dinner we had sitting outdoors at a candlelit table was by far the best meal we had during our stay in Thailand - I don't think that any of us have ever eaten such amazing prawns! The restaurant is named after the proprietors' cute little daughter, Ella.

The accommodation in the beautifully restored Thai home is very comfortable.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2011

This little boutique resort is a treasure - and once found you will want to keep going back and back. It's located on a peaceful beach free from touts or crammed with tourists. The accommodation is either gorgeous garden villas, beachside traditional Thai teak houses (lovingly restored and with all the creature comforts of home). The owners and management are the loveliest people and really cared about making sure our stay was fantastic. It ticked all the boxes for us as a family of four. We will be bringing loads of friends and family back for celebrations and just weekends to hang out and chill. Ella's Kitchen also does affordable, yummy Thai style food and it is fresh and delicious. Our new home away from home.

Room Tip: All rooms are great weather by the gorgeous gardens or beachside.
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank michellemc2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2011

At first, we just sat on the beach in front of the hotel but later got invited to use the pool and bathroom. The staffs are very friendly and helpful. We ordered some drinks and stayed by the pool, which is very clean. My 8 month daughter was sleepy so the staff provided a mattress for her to sleep comfortably. We already got some place to stay but I would absolutely come back here if I got a chance. The hotel is decorated in traditional Thai style. The building itself is very beautiful.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank YosaP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2011

Situated far from the hustle & bustle of Hua Hin, Away Hua Hin is a secluded resort close to the cleanest beach that we visited from Hua Hin, Pran Buri, & other beaches further south.

The decor is very nicely done with all thoughts obviously around the needs of the guest. Meals can be serviced at your cottage with the staff being very accommodating.

The food from the restaurant, although a little higher than outside was excellent. Some of the nicest prepared meals we've had even though we've lived in Thailand for many years. Definitely a big thanks to the chef from there.

The internet here was super fast too...faster than our fixed line in Bangkok.

Alex

Room Tip: If you are making your own way to the resort, use the google map instead of their map to get a better idea of the local roads.
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lawrence Alex W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2010

I don't know why this resort is expensive if compare with the place, room and service. I 've just been there not too long ago. My wish was to spend most of the time and relaxing at the resort and escape from people that 's why I chose Away Pranburi as it seems to fill up all my wishes from photos on website.
Once I arrived there, first thing was my room already occupied by a couple due to the manager didn't recieve any notice from the main office in BKK. We had to wait for almost 2 hrs to clear & clean the room. Our room is only one beach front in the resort cost 4700 baht a night but doesn't have basic bathroom stuffs like hair cap, soap, hair towel,.. A lot of ants from the water tab, no clothes hangers or hanging area. Outdoor shower is quite old, not much water, Satellite TV didn't work, towels are very old! and dirty.
Garden and swimming pool is dirty. One morning there was used diaper by the pool and nobody threw it away. Mini kitchen not able to serve big/nice breakfast or dinner there, indeed the manager recommended to eat outside!. Only one manager and 2-3 ladies managing the resort so don't expect any pamper or well service, morelike you are on your own.
It would be better if the price is less than 2000 bht a night and don't rate themself as 4 stars hotel because that 's cheating!!

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank BooBoo45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Away H, Manager at Onusa Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded August 25, 2011

In October 2011 Away Hua Hin Boutique Bed and Breakfast (Formerly Away Hua Hin, Centara Boutique Collection) was taken over by new management.
We are now managed by the original owners of the resort.

We are very serious about improving our facilities and general customer satisfaction and therefore take all our reviews seriously.

Among the many changes we have made, one is listening to all our guests feedback and taking action when needed.



Best regards,
The management
Away Hua Hin
Boutique Bed and Breakfast

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews