We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel for short stay”
Review of Itanos Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Itanos Hotel
Ranked #3 of 20 Hotels in Sitia
Reviewed March 10, 2012

Been there for a night for business. Cheap, very clean, staff extremely helpful, free wifi. Breakfast was ok, not anything special but ok.
Cons: no private parking but the owner helped me to find a spot near the hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vdem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (127)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

31 - 37 of 127 reviews

Reviewed October 18, 2011

We stayed there in May for a week since it is a convenient base from which to explore eastern Crete. The hotel has been recently refurbished and is comfortable. Ask for one of the rooms with a view of the harbour and a balcony. Despite some earlier negative comments about the breakfast, it was an absolutely standard Greek breakfast. There's a good, free wifi connection. There's no parking outside the hotel, but there's plenty of space in the next street. We ate at the hotel's own taverna which is situated just opposite. Good, standard menu at reasonable prices.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hippocleides
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2011

We stayed at the Itanos Hotel for one night and found it was quite modern, clean and very central which was good for the night life. Breakfast was great and the receptionist was very professional. Definitely a good bargain. The only difficulty we had was finding a car park as the hotel is right in front of the main busy road of the port. Other than that, we found it kept the promises it had made in its descriptions. Shame it didn't have a pool!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HK_Penny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2011

We got a room with a nice view on the sea and on the port. Besides, it's a bit noisy and if you sleep with window opened you must be ready to be awake many times during the night and in the early morning.
Room was ok, quite small but with air conditioning included in the rate. Bathroom instead was really too small. It was really difficult to open the door, to enter inside and then to close the door.
Breakfast was insufficient in my opinion. Some foods tasted not natural at all, especially jams which were completely artificial and too sweet.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sh0gun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2011

We booked this hotel at very good price including breakfast. We were given a room on the third floor and from the balcony we could admire the nice view of the small port. This hotel is very central, i can say that it is located in the heart of Siteia, everything is within walking distance (cafe, restaurants, shops, KTEL bus station)so this is great espacially if you are not renting a car. Breakfast was good but unfortunately the only fresh fruits they had waere iranged which is a shame sinc eyou are in Crete!The room was clean and of good taste.

Room Tip: Upper floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KATERINA-CYPRUS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2010

We spent three nights here while attending an enormous Greek wedding (650 guests) held near the town. Staff are friendly, welcoming and efficient, the hotel is clean and has an excellent location right in the heart of the town and on the best point of the harbour/bay yet there is little street noise. Views out the front were lovely and Sitia is said to be one of the prettiest towns in Crete. The rooms have TVs but are very simply furnished and the shower rooms too are quite basic. Breakfasts were disappointing - the only fresh fruit was oranges, which seems strange in the Mediterranean (tinned peaches with yoghurt?) - and the range of food limited. The breakfast/dining room is at the side of the hotel with a view of an alley (the main restaurant is across the street on the quay). We got a deal through the bride, but even with a discount thought it expensive for what it was.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheHistoryProfessor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2010

My wife & I choose this hotel for its location (right on the picturesque harbour) and the price which fell nicely within our budget. All in all it lived up to what we expected for the price. Rooms were clean, food both at breakfast and evening was good.
We found the staff more than willing to answer all our questions and their English was certainly better than our Greek, the manager was keen to find ways to improve things for his customers and encouraged suggestions to this end.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AIR20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sitia hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Elysee
Hotel Elysee
#5 of 20 in Sitia
76 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Petras Beach
Hotel Petras Beach
#6 of 20 in Sitia
63 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Sea Breeze
Hotel Sea Breeze
#7 of 20 in Sitia
28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Nora
Hotel Nora
#13 of 20 in Sitia
8 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel El Greco Sitia
Hotel El Greco Sitia
#2 of 20 in Sitia
52 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Apollon
Hotel Apollon
#10 of 20 in Sitia
8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Itanos Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Itanos Hotel

Address: 4 Karamanli Konstadinou, Sitia, Crete 723 00, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Lasithi Prefecture > Sitia
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 20 Hotels in Sitia
Price Range: $48 - $74 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Itanos Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Itanos Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Itanos Hotel Crete/Sitia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing