We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Return treat”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Villa Thalassa

View of the Villa and the Garden
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
View of the Villa and the Garden
Living Room Terrace with Stunning Sea Views Fully Fitted Kitchen with Fabulous Sea Views
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
22 reviews
View of the Villa and the Garden
Living Room Terrace with Stunning Sea Views
Fully Fitted Kitchen with Fabulous Sea Views
Bathroom upstairs
Garden
Rocky Beach with Crystal Clear Waters Right in Front of the Property
Incredible Spring Colors
Unique Palm Beach Vai, just 20 min away from the villa
Beautiful long Kouremenos Beach, the absolute best for windserfing
Fine sand and clear waters of Itanos Beach
Treats of Crete
Charming seaside town of Sitia, 3 km from the villa
Charming seaside town of Sitia, 3 km from the villa
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Sitia, Lasithi Prefecture, Crete

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 22 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
kamusk
doha
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Return treat”
Reviewed November 6, 2012 for a stay in November 2012
1
person found this review helpful

I was happy to give this accommodation a positve review after my visit in April of 2012. I didn't hesitate to book another few days when I decided to return to eastern Crete in the following November. It was the perfect 'home base' for my daily excursions into the highlands of the eastern mountains. And I knew from my previous visit that the owners, Anna and Andrey, would try to ensure that my stay was pleasant.

Villa Thalassa is a two-story private holiday dwelling, fully equipped for two couples (or more?) or a family, with room to spare. It is a recent construction and design, with what appears to be Ikea style furnishings -- all quite chic, comfortable and airy.

Even so, I was hardly taking best advantage of Villa Thalassa. I was traveling solo, which I prefer, so much of the space and the amenities were wasted on me. That said, I made full use each evening of the large balcony off the livingroom, with its large view of ocean and sky; and in the mornings, I enjoyed my coffee on the sunken deck off the main bedroom on the lower floor.

I much appreciated the privacy of the villa, which is located a few hundred meters from the main road. Access is by a small lane passing through farm patches and a bamboo grove. Other than the attached, second villa, the closest building is the owners' house, about 50 meters away. Both times I was there, the attached villa was not occupied.

I am not one for manicured lawns and sculpted shrubbery. So I quite like the landscapping Anna and Andrey have done, making use of fine pebble, instead of grass, interspersed with local shrubbery and flowering plants; and the use of rock walls and terraces. It's a terrific area for young childrend to play. And it's a stone's throw, literally, to the water.

For travelers with pets, it is ideal. But I don't know what Anna and Andrey's policy is regarding pets.

The rocky beach will be a drawback for some people. However, for visitors with youngsters, that fact would deter children from hanging out too close to the water while the adults wish to relax (and sandy beaches are not far away, when one is wanted).

The Dionysus Restaurant, just 200 meters along the main road, is a delightful place to eat and perhaps catch local/traditional entertainment. The small city of Sitia is less than 10 minute drive away in the opposite direction and offers most of the services and amenities you would want in a place that depends significantly on the tourism trade (including ferry services to Heraklion and other islands).

So, after two visits, I give Villa Thalassa high marks for location, comfort, and lovely surroundings.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, privacy and view of the ocean
Traveling group: Solo
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2012 for a stay in October 2012

Value Location
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
kamusk
doha
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Greek ocean, Greek sky and 5 star amenities/comfort”
Reviewed May 8, 2012 for a stay in April 2012
1
person found this review helpful

Villa Thalassa was a treat, offering much more than I needed for my traveling purposes. However, due to the early season the owner was willing to offer it at a very reasonable discount. I couldn't resist. It consists of two joined villas of recent construction and contemporary design and furnishings. The villa is only a few kilometers east of Sitia. It is approached via a small paved lane, then wends under bamboo fronds leaning from two sides of a dirt lane--which only adds to the hide-away feel of the place. My unit was the closer to the ocean its cobble beach. There are no stretches of lawn here, nor a swimming pool (it is hardly needed). The grounds around the villas are brightened with wild flowering shrubs, which in late April and early May are in gorgeous bloom.

While you are expected to take care of your own food/cooking needs and replace the usual consumables of the villa, bedding and towels, etc. are all part of the deal.

The current proprietors are a young Russian couple who live there year round. They speak excellent English, and were able to advise on what the area offered, to make the most of my holiday.

Sitia is a significant town that offers waterfront cafes, restaurants and bars. However, I vouch for a taverna located much closer, within a 10 minute walk. The food is very good, the staff very friendly, and the place often features traditional music. And the place is kid friendly., with a mini-version of a MacDonald's playroom separate from the taverna itself. I don't recall the name of the taverna; just as Anna, one of the owners of Villa Thalassa.

I used the villa over two days as my base for touring the extreme eastern region of Crete--reason enough to choose to visit that part of Crete. With the comfort of the villa and its exquisite location it would have been easy to abandon my plans to continue my tour westward to Chania and Paleochora, with overnights in hotels as I found them. I enthusiastically recommend Villa Thalassa, particularly for one or two couples or a family for stays of a week or longer.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Solo Traveler
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2015 for a stay in October 2015
Google Translation

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
dadyblue3...
Naujac-Sur-Mer, France
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2015 for a stay in June 2015
Google Translation
1
person found this review helpful

Traveling group: Avec mes amis
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KLLU2014
Gröbenzell
2 reviews
Reviewed October 30, 2014 for a stay in October 2014
Google Translation

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Ruhige Lage direkt am Meer
Traveling group: Erweitertem Familienkreis
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ririgolf
aix en provence
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2014 for a stay in July 2014
Google Translation
1
person found this review helpful

Traveling group: En famille avec jeune(s) enfant(s)
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
$60
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your vacation rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing