We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mushroom Heaven”
Review of Kanela & Garyfallo

Kanela & Garyfallo
Ranked #2 of 4 Restaurants in Vitsa
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $22 - $34
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: Unique restaurant with cozy, romantic atmosphere specializing in Gourmet Mushrooms. Taste more than twenty different wild mushrooms through the year cooked in unique combinations. Plenty of vegetarian dishes as well as excellent local meats from this mountainous region. Inspired by local and international cuisines, this restaurant also offers an excellent wine list representative of the best Greek vineyards. Cap off your meal with delicious homemade desserts and the chef's own liquors made with local wild fruits.
Reviewed July 4, 2018 via mobile

This restaurant was such a treat.
We had mushrooms for every course, including dessert.
The food was wonderful and serious cuisine. At the end of our exquisite meal, the owner talked to us about the varieties and uses of mushrooms. This commitment to his craft enlightened our experience.
My bottom line - the food and ambience were heavenly.

1  Thank sheiladcolon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (685)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

8 - 12 of 684 reviews

Reviewed June 26, 2018

I have been to this restaurant a year ago.
Traditional greek cuisine and a great specialization in mushrooms!
A must if you are visiting the area!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Shainshein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2018 via mobile

Visited with my son 8 months ago while trekking in the region, a real treat to any mushroom lover or anyone who appreciates good dinning... Owner had a vast knowledge and recommended great wines to go along the outstanding dishes. A must visit, will love to visit sometime in the future again... A1

1  Thank Ephie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2018 via mobile

Most of the dishes involve some kind of mushroom. There is a variety of starters and main dishes, making it hard to choose, they seemed all very interesting. The ones we picked were delicious indeed, I would definitely go again. For the ones who are not very font of mushrooms, there are a few choices to choose from. Great hospitality too!

1  Thank Stephanie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2018 via mobile

This restaurant is different from others in the area. It is not the traditional cuisine of the area. It is more gourmet I would say. The food was very good (but not the best in the area) but the bill is almost double of that in restaurants in the area.

1  Thank Hiker1234567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vassily K, Ιδιοκτήτης at Kanela & Garyfallo, responded to this reviewResponded May 31, 2018

thank you for visiting and taking the time to review us. Taste is subjective but you cannot compare apples with oranges, i.e a regular meat and potatoes dish at a traditional taverna with a wild mushroom and fresh truffle topped steak meal at our "gourmet" restaurant. Different genres, materials and food costs, service standards, general operation costs and of course menu prices.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kanela & Garyfallo also viewed

Monodendri, Ioannina Region
 
Dilofo, Zagorohoria
Vitsa, Zagorohoria
 
Papigko, Zagorohoria
Konitsa, Ioannina Region
 

Been to Kanela & Garyfallo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing