We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great day trip!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Terrace Downs Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Windwhistle
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 22, 2012

Recently went to Terrace Downs for a Sunday drive, never realised that is was a possibility. Had always thought the place was a stay only guest exclusive kind of lodge. I was really wrong. Lovely lunch on the terrace followed by an impromptu afternoon of Clay shooting with Neil. Definitely the highlight! Neil made me look like a pro, much to my husbands disbelief! Am so excited to be able to take friends and share the experience. Would highly recommend the shooting and archery, great way to experience the place, especially if you don't have the time for a round of golf.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Nzgd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (289)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

197 - 203 of 289 reviews

Reviewed October 6, 2012

Three of us stayed in the five star villa accomodation near the reception and proshop. First impressions were magnificent views of the golf course and beyond to the alps. The level of amenity in the villa was outstanding- as close to home without being there! Deep bath, super comfy beds, full kitchen even a garage for the car! Will definately be back next time for a longer stay to enjoy more of the resort than just the golf which is one of the most interesting and challenging courses we have enjoyed.

Room Tip: All rooms seem to face the ratafia gorge and the mountains behind so probably there is a great exper...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Raze88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2012

A group of seven spent the night in one of the houses which was absolutely beautiful and well catered, would highly recommend the accommodation, but was very disappointed with the dinning experience we had.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
1  Thank lemadchef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Was a very busy day, smooth check in, fantastic accommodation beautiful view from all rooms.
Wonderful spread of Sri Lankan cuisine, Every body was very courteous and helpful.Attentive service.(Friday dinner). Saturday was another busy day with a wedding taking place in the main restaurant.We had dinner in the Tilleys The Steaks were just melting soft,and beautifully presented.Value for money.The cocktail list was a good choice and we tasted many cocktails.Again value for money.Breakfast on Saturday morning was good the kitchen being very busy.
This is the place, A hide away for the much needed relaxation for a weekend.Only one hour from Christchurch.The apartment we stayed was just beyond so comfortable and spacious. Many things to do in activity.Golf,Horse riding,Archery,Clay bird shooting Tennis,Hiking,Jet boating you name it and many more.THE PLACE TO BE.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lilan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2012

We had a sensational afternon enjoying a superb array of food at the Sunday smorgasbord, accompanying background musicians, fantastic service from the staff, and great company with our friends. We'll definitely be recommending Terrace Downs to others. Thank you for a fabulous afternoon. Next time we're keen to experience the accommodation

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Jos M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

My husband and I had the pleasure of visiting Terrace Downs recently, everything looked spectacular and the staff were very helpful, however the highlight of our visit was the clay shooting and archery! I have attempted, unsuccessfully, clay shooting before but with Neil's patience and very clear instructions my results were impressive (well my husband and I thought so, anyway). My husband is a hunting and shooting Kiwi bloke and learnt quite a lot from Neil - he clearly knows what he is doing! We shall return, as my archery needs a little more work!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Phillipa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2012

I had the pleasure of staying at Terrace Downs with my wife last weekend, and left thoroughly impressed with every aspect of our stay.

We stayed in a family suite, and from first impressions through to last, every detail was immaculate.

The spacious living area opened out onto our own private deck, with stunning views over the resort’s golf course and the snow-covered Mount Hutt.

The Kitchen featured modern appliances and was very well appointed.

The Master bedroom has a divinely comfortable super king bed with luxurious linen, I’ve never had such a great sleep away from home as I did that evening.

The ensuite bathroom had a large spa bath, where through wooden shutters you could see through the bedroom to the magnificent scenery outside, making it perfect for relaxing with a glass of wine at the end of the day.

The children’s rumpus room was an amazing touch. With its own television, couch, Playstation and loads of Playstation games, every detail had been taken care of to keep young ones happy. Loads of quality toys, beanbags, a chalkboard, books...every fine detail had been taken care of.

We had dined at Terrace Downs before so knew that Hunter’s Steakhouse was unrivalled for quality when it comes to a perfectly cooked steak, so I tried something a little out of my comfort zone, wild Thar, which was delicious and immaculately presented. The service was attentive and flawless.

The buffet breakfast the following morning in Tilley’s Restaurant was hearty with loads of variety, the bacon in particular was delicious. Hats off to the barista too, they nailed our coffee to perfection.

After exploring some of the near-by alpine back country and snow we returned for the early afternoon brunch setting, with live jazz music. The food again was utterly scrumptious, with ample seafood, fresh salads, succulent beef and juicy carved ham. I don’t know how we found room for dessert, with every item from the buffet delicious, but we were tempted to a fresh chunky fruit salad and divine chocolate mousse gateau.

After brunch we hired a golf cart to self-drive ourselves around the picturesque 18 hole resort, taking in the magnificent scenery. It is the best way to get breath-taking views down into the Rakaia Gorge from the resort.

Simply, an amazing luxurious weekend getaway.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hamish W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Windwhistle
9.4 mi away
Methven Resort Hotel
Methven Resort Hotel
#1 of 2 in Methven
131 reviews
5.8 mi away
Quickenberry Guesthouse
Quickenberry Guesthouse
#1 of 1 in Windwhistle
83 reviews
1.3 mi away
Mt Hutt Lodge
Mt Hutt Lodge
#1 of 2 in Rakaia
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.2 mi away
Red Cottages Staveley
Red Cottages Staveley
#1 of 2 in Staveley
14 reviews
11.3 mi away
Lake Coleridge Lodge
Lake Coleridge Lodge
#1 of 4 in Darfield
45 reviews
8.8 mi away
Methven Motels & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Terrace Downs Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Terrace Downs Resort

Address: Coleridge Rd, Windwhistle 7572, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Windwhistle
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Windwhistle
Price Range: $179 - $420 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Terrace Downs Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to New Zealand's high country resort. As the 'Gateway to the South Island', Terrace Downs Resort is perfectly located for the first and last nights of your South Island tour, or to rejuvenate with a week-long stay to really appreciate our wilderness backdrop. Just 50 minutes from Christchurch international airport, Terrace Downs offers luxury accommodation and family friendly villas with a variety of activities available at Terrace Downs and the local area. Boasting New Zealand's only high country golf course and fine cuisine dining, Terrace Downs Resort offers an ideal 'getting away from it all' destination close to Mt Hutt Ski field and Methven. Terrace Downs offers a choice of two deluxe accommodation options. Terrace Villa Suites are self-contained units with luxurious beds, a delightful raised spa bath and spacious open-plan living areas. These range from one to three bedroom villa suites, which include the Patiti Suite the new family villa with children's play room. Fairway Chalets are separate architecturally designed four to seven bedroom houses spread out amongst the resorts incredible surrounds. These beautiful chalets boast all modern conveniences and great indoor-outdoor living areas with stunning views. At Terrace Downs you can do as much or as little as you want - the choice is entirely yours! The ever-changing landscape acts as the perfect playground for visitors of all ages and fitness levels and makes Terrace Downs a captivating year-round holiday destination for thrill-seekers and those who enjoy more laidback pursuits. Terrace Downs offers a par 72, 18-hole championship golf course, rated as one of the top courses and golfing destinations in New Zealand. Based at the foothills of the Southern Alps, there are very few scenic alpine courses like it. The Cafe at Terrace Downs - For a delightful taste of the High Country, it's hard to pass The Cafe and Bar at Terrace Downs. The stunning surrounding mountain scenery is yours to enjoy in comfort, either from the fireside in winter or out on the deck in summer. Designed to complement its outdoor surroundings, the Cafe decor features warm timbers, river stones and schist while the menu offers a tasty variety of freshly prepared meals and snacks with great coffee and tea, for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Open daily from 8am, until 6pm Thursday to Saturday and 7pm Sunday to Wednesday. Hunter's Restaurant - A relaxing dining oasis overlooking spectacular mountain scenery, Hunter's presents a flavoursome menu that draws its inspiration from the surrounding environs, using only the freshest, best quality New Zealand produce and products. A large open fire, leather sofas and warm natural tones lend a welcoming and very comfortable atmosphere to this special 'dining destination' experience. Reservations essential. Open Thursday, Friday and Saturday for dinner only, 6pm till late. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Terrace Downs Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Terrace Downs Hotel Terrace Downs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing