We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superb cuisine and attention” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Quickenberry Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Quickenberry Guesthouse
Ranked #1 of 1 Windwhistle B&B and Inns
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Superb cuisine and attention”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2013

Our visit began with a very warm, charming and friendly welcome from host Christine. There are only 4 rooms, but each is spacious with very elegant decor and huge, comfortable beds and lovely quality linen. Everything was spotless. The rooms overlook well-mown lawns and whilst you dine, you can watch various native birds and hares gambol in the the grass. Christine was exceptionally attentive and most interested to partake in interesting discussions over coffee and later with pre-dinner drinks. She was delightful serving us and explaining the ingredients in each course. The cuisine was utterly superb from Swiss host and chef, Robi, who is equally charming. He is very creative with his combinations of vegetables, sauces, cheeses and herbs to accompany the main ingredient. Everything was cooked to perfection and presented with Michelin-star quality. This is a place to come to relax and unwind and visit again and again.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bernard P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    5
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
3
59
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Son en Breugel, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2012

Last November we stayed 2 nights in this great guesthouse. We enjoyed every minute, because we felt welcome, the house was comfy and clean, the beds were top and Christineknows how to take care of her guests. Robert belongs, without any doubt, to the best chefs in New Zealand. The meals he prepared for us were a sensation and our hosts were very informative about the country. We can recommend this fantastic place!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TvMeurs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Takamatua, null, New Zealand
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012

We have now returned to Quickenberry many times over the years. It is a really special place where guests are treated as they are visitors in a private home. If we have something special to celebrate it is the first place that comes to mind.

There are several things that make it work well. There are just four rooms though occasionally a fifth is made available under special circumstances. Each room is individual, private and very comfortable with a superkingsize bed, lovely linen, pleasant ensuite and basic tea and coffee making facilities.

Guests are invited to a complimentary drink before dinner and encouraged to interact. It is a great way to meet a diverse group of people from all over the world. Dinner is usually four course with two entrees and a main followed by dessert. Robbie seems to have a knack for getting the calories about right in the table d'hote menu. If you want old stables such as french fries you might be disappointed. These are healthy menues! There is a Swiss bent to the dishes expressing French, German and Italian influences using fresh local ingredients. Presentation of entrees is often quite artistic. Mains are not large but then nor should they be given the number of courses. Flavours are excellent, can be complex but usually just make the most of what is in season.

You are then encouraged to sit and chat over coffee in the lounge after the meal and Robbie and Christine usually join in. If you are a whisky lover then bring something special along with you and Robbie will be likely to share with you his extensive experience of fine whisky.

You are then expected to designate your n preferred breakfast time before retiring. ON a clear night though is is worth wandering out to see the extraordinary night sky of this clear mountain air.

After a good night's rest, the indulgence of the night before then a light breakfast is all that is needed: cereal, juice, an egg and a piece of bacon fruit and yoghurt! What more could one fit in!

There is usually no pressure to leave the next morning but if you have the time it is well worth staying more than one night to provide an opportunity to walk, golf, cycle and fish in the surrounding area. Or if not so energetic just to stay and do a jigsaw puzzle which is usually laid out in the library.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Niall H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, Canterbury, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2012

We were very disappointed with our one night stay, i have never written a review before but felt prompted to write this one. We were greeted with the words 'go away' evidently we had been ringing the wrong bell! Give her her due christine did apologise but we very nearly didnt stop. The complimentary coffee sachets were out of date, no biscuits or snacks and not enough milk. The bedroom was lovely but the best views were on the owners side of the house so we couldnt see the mountain just a field. The meal was ok ,still dont understand the brussel sprout leaf with 2 kidney beans and a bit of feta cheese! No wine cooler and no choice of menu. Beds were very comfy 2 big singles pushed together, muesli was lovely but egg and bacon was just that! 1 egg and one piece of bacon. Overall not what we expected for the price.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quickenberry, Owner at Quickenberry Guesthouse, responded to this review, October 6, 2012
Well this woman obviously did not like us. A vindictive and spiteful review is never a good one and tells more about the writer than about us. If she only had used the bell and not walked upstairs into our private appartement and surprised Christine in her undies! Would Elizabeth not be upset herself? We apologised. Apparently not enough. We hope you ignore it all. Also the room she complains about has been recommended by somebody as a 'Tip.
Robert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2012

My husband and I just returned from a fantastic weekend stay at Quickenberry. It is in such close proximity to the ski fields and it was incredible coming back after a day on the slopes to a roaring fire, a good cup of tea and such warm hosts. The rooms were beautiful, immaculately clean and comfortable with underfloor heating, electric blankets and stunning views. Robi and Christine were also really helpful and friendly and gave us advice on the area, day trips and restaurants. I'd highly recommend you chose this guest lodge!

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Jessica G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashburton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2012

We thouroughly enjoyed our night at Quickenberry. The hosts are really lovely, The room was excellent, really comfortable and warm and we woke to an icing sugar duting of snow! Beautiful!. The food was exceptional!!!! The best meal I have had in the South Island NZ ever!!!! Thanks for a wonderful break! I would highly reccomend you should stay here!!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maza223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2012

My husband and I stayed at Quickenberry this past weekend and loved it! It was one of my favorite places to stay in all my travels. Robi and Christine are the sweetest hosts, it felt like we were staying with family. They're also really knowledgable on the area and very helpful. The room was spotless and the bed was so comfortable. I really can't say enough good things about our experience. I would HIGHLY recommend Quickenberry and we will definitely stay there again if we're back in NZ.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bnicole00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Windwhistle
1.0 mi away
Terrace Downs Resort
Terrace Downs Resort
#1 of 1 in Windwhistle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
10.5 mi away
Methven Resort Hotel
Methven Resort Hotel
#1 of 2 in Methven
4.0 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
17.3 mi away
Springfield Motel & Lodge
Springfield Motel & Lodge
#1 of 2 in Springfield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Mt Hutt Lodge
Mt Hutt Lodge
#1 of 2 in Rakaia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
15.4 mi away
Staveley Heights Bed & Breakfast
10.5 mi away
Lake Coleridge Lodge
Lake Coleridge Lodge
#2 of 11 in Methven
4.5 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quickenberry Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quickenberry Guesthouse

Property: Quickenberry Guesthouse
Address: Robert & Christine Koller Coleridge Rd, Windwhistle 7572, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Windwhistle
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Windwhistle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Quickenberry Guesthouse 4.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quickenberry is a lovely small lodge in a stunning setting high above the Rakaia Gorge with views over rolling country side and towards Mt. Hutt. It is peaceful and quiet giving a feeling of remoteness yet it is only one hour from Christchurch Airport. There are many walks nearby, there is golf and skiing and many other activities. All rooms have all modern facilities; there is a large lounge with open fire, library and cozy dining room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Quickenberry Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing