We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Welcoming and Amazing!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Quickenberry Guesthouse
Ranked #1 of 1 Windwhistle B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 9, 2012

We stayed here for 6 days and the owners Robbie and Christine are excellent hosts and the food Robbie prepares is fabulous. Our rooms were very nice and the beds had the best quilt on them, I looked forward to bedtime every night. The views from the rooms are absolutely beautiful.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Victoria R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (81)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

44 - 50 of 81 reviews

Reviewed April 23, 2012

Finding the 'guesthouse' may take some doing but it's well worth it even in the wettest of weather. Christine runs an immaculate house and is great fun whilst Robby is a brilliant chef with a very dry Swiss humour. The thought of the evening meal still makes me salivate and it was added to by the ambiance of the dining room and the other guests. There's a huge lounge area where we had pre-dinner drinks which is also well stocked with reading material and great comfy chairs. The house, food, furnishings and bedrooms are all Classic.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Will_Of_The_North
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2012

There's not much to be said about Quickenberry except ... everyone deserves to visit here at least once in a lifetime! The food is second to none and the hosts, Robi and Christine, are gems. Christine is a delight and Robi's cooking tantelises the taste buds on every mouthfull.

If you do nothing else in your life ... visit Quickenberry, even for just one night. It's worth every cent, and more!

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tmcmaus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2012

Our stay here was our first day/night in New Zealand and it proved to be a relaxing and pleasant introduction to the country. The room was wonderful - open, airy and peaceful with country views. The food was some of the best of our entire trip. The four course dinner prepared by Robby and served by Christina was absolutely superb. Great hosts!

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Noracd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2011

After spending one night at Quickenberry guesthouse four years ago, we decided this time to spend Christmas here. It was just wonderful again! Excellent hospitality, outstanding dinner as well as delicious breakfasts combined with a lovely place to be made it a perfect start for our trip.

Room Tip: The Appenzeller room is lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ruediger2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2011

Our stay at Quickenberry, was our first night in New Zealand and such a warm and welcoming introduction to this amazing country!

Upon arrival at Quickenberry, we were greeted with warm, friendly New Zealand hospitality and made to feel so welcome, like the home was also ours.

Despite our prior advising at booking, to not take up the 'dine in' option, we were offered dining options, including the local golf club. The hosts courteously took it upon themselves to phone the golf club restaurant on our behalf, to check for a reservation vacancy, which we graciously accepted.

Dining at the golf course's fine dining restaurant 'Avoca' was an absolute pleasure and such a wonderful introduction to the magnificent food and wine that New Zealand has to offer. Due to the number of diners and functions at the restaurant, there was a very minor delay in the receival of meals. It was impressive that the restaurant manager himself was on hand, personally meeting and greeting every diner to apologise for the delay and ensure that the experience was a good one. The meal was sensational and the service of all staff was exceptional.

The second evening of our stay at Quickenberry, we dined in house and partook of the wonderful four course meal consisting of Swiss, Italian and French origins. Dining commenced with a complimentary drink, which enabled us the opportunity to meet some lovely fellow travellers, as well as the opportunity to meet our hosts. The dining experience was wonderful, the food sensational, the hospitality warm and friendly.

Breakfasts on both days, were hearty, well prepared and delicious.

Charming place, impeccable hosts in a location that soothes the soul and relaxes the mind. We would definately come back here again and highly recommend to anyone!

Congratulations to Quickenberry on setting such an amazing high standard of hospitality.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Swarvie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2010

This B&B was so great. The owners are delightful, food superb, bed, linens, towels, accommodations first class. We loved the assortment of tea, wine, snacks, etc. OK, food was unbelievable. Robby - owner and Swiss gourmet chef - and his wife Christine - entertainment and hostess deluxe! Well, I would have brought them home to Texas with me if we could have.

The view out our room was breathtaking, weather was perfect and we just had a perfect stay.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Janelle1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Quickenberry Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quickenberry Guesthouse

Address: Coleridge Rd, Windwhistle 7572, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Windwhistle
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Windwhistle
Price Range: $162 - $173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Quickenberry Guesthouse 4.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quickenberry is a lovely small lodge in a stunning setting high above the Rakaia Gorge with views over rolling country side and towards Mt. Hutt. It is peaceful and quiet giving a feeling of remoteness yet it is only one hour from Christchurch Airport. There are many walks nearby, there is golf and skiing and many other activities. All rooms have all modern facilities; there is a large lounge with open fire, library and cozy dining room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Quickenberry Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing