We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
15 reviews
Wood burning fire
Fully equipped kitchen
Large bathroom
Loch Awe 120 yards away
Bedroom 1
Castle Kilchurn on Loch Awe
Hot Tub - wood fired
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 7
Dalavich, Argyll and Bute, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 15 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Kimbotheb...
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed 2 weeks ago for a stay in June 2018

Just returned from a fantastic 5 day stay. Lodge was brilliant.perfect for a party of 7 adults. We were greeted by the owner Steve ,who came to check everything was ok with the lodge and hot tub. We paid to have the hot tub set up,which it was. We loved the quirky living/ dining area. Was enough seats for us around the large table for meals and also the outdoor picnic bench was great. We had a BBQ there. We got so lucky with the weather, heatwave :) The beds were comfortable and lovely duvets. Lodge was clean and perfect for our needs. I recommend hiring the motor boats down at the jetty. We did this midweek and enjoyed it so much we did it a second day. We visited the castle ruins and a few of the islands, swam in the loch which was just amazing. WiFi was a bonus and with teenagers was great. we will definitely be back next year. Thanks very much,so glad we booked it. If you're looking to get away from it all and just enjoy the beauty Scotland has to offer it's a must.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 2, 2018
So glad you had a lovely stay and if we could arrange this weather for everyone we would:-)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rebecca M
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The perfect get-away”
Reviewed March 28, 2018 for a stay in February 2018

Wow!!! What a treat!! My boyfriend booked this as my birthday and the break was just a few weeks after, and we were so excited for it! It’s a lovely warm lodge in a secluded village with a village shop! The social club wasn’t open when we went but it looked lovely, a reason to return! I’ve told so many of my friends and family how amazing it was and can’t speak more highly of how much I enjoyed my time there!! Why couldn’t it have been a longer stay?!?! Thank you!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 30, 2018
So pleased you jd a lovely stay;-)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allison C
Coylton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Ideal retreat for relaxation in forest surroundins”
Reviewed June 26, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

We booked for a girls weekend to relax and celebrate a forthcoming 60th birthday and what a great weekend we had at Fern cottage . Starting with the road trip and the long winding road into beautiful scenery reminding me of Outlander disappointed I did not spot a bearded highlander ;) The cottage was delightful, clean and all amenities as described by the owners , had everything we needed. We requested for the hot tub to be prelit so we just unpacked , poped the corks on our prosecco and a few blissful hours relaxing among the trees.The wifi was good essential for our sonas and we danced the night away accompanied by the sound of the local wildlife don't think the resident swallow was impressed . Next day further relaxing with chick flicks , more hot tub - fun getting it restarted ( bring plenty of firelighters and kindling) luckily some of us were girl guides in our youth. Walk to shop such pretty surroudings and at night to the community center for a wee dram - staff were lovely very friendly running us back to lodge as it was pouring !
Warning heat sensors very sensitive we set them off twice cooking our full Scottish breakfast :) and they were loud ! We were lucky and had no encounters with the bloodsucking midgies. Only negative decking very slippy was a wet weekend could do with a wee powerwash there is mats to prevent slips.
Highlights - perfect location for relaxation and girl shenanigans , we were visited by a red squirrel a first experience for all 6 of us .
We left Fern Cottage relaxed , happy after an amazing weekend !
Next time we will do more and visit local beauty / historic highlights.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 26, 2017
Thank you for your review and so pleased you enjoyed your stay. Sorry we couldn't provide a bearded Highlander en route (maybe next time)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neversolo
Brecon, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Luxury not even close”
Reviewed June 8, 2017 for a stay in May 2017
2
people found this review helpful

Stopped in this so called luxury lodge on 13 may 2017 for a week.
We paid a lot of money for a weeks stay thinking we would have a luxury break, but that was not the case.
as follows.
In details, it mentioned a fridge with freezer compartment, what we found, was a large fridge in corner near dining table, with no freezer compartment and had to fix as it was terribly wobbly, we also noticed someone also complained a year ago about this on TA.
Terrible dirty cupboards.
Fryingpan burned and unusable.
if you used hot tap in bathroom it banged throughout the lodge.
double bed mattress full of springs.
ashtrays outside full of fag buts and water.
cooker hood just didnt work. ( owner said turn on switch, we did still didnt work)
Rubbish under lodge like old cleaning bottle fag buts and old tyres.
we did have an emergency while there, and had to call the emergency services, nowhere in lodge was correct address, even tho owners said there was the address was for the village not the lodge.
China in kitchen cracked and chipped and nothing matched, complete miss match of bits.
Stack of tables in living room, marked and stained with ring marks and not very nice to look at.
We made a complaint to owners when we got home, but was told that we should have complained while we was there, but after spending 9 hours travelling, the last thing you need is a stranger coming in to sort out the problems, that should have been done already, but some of the problems could not have been sorted out anyway.
We then got a very very rude email from owners, saying our complaint was not upheld, and they would not be willing to have any other correspondence with us, not mentioning any major complaints, just mentioning we should have had a stranger come in and sort a few things out.We took pictures of cupboards, and frying pan as I was so disgusted with these issues but the owners just didnt want to know, they had your money and end of story.
Also please be aware that the village / Lodge is 15 miles either way on single track roads with passing places, before you get to main roads then the nearest town Oban is 12 miles away after that, so you are very very remote, this was again mentioned to owners, and was told if we had asked we would have been told about this beforehand, this need to be a major point on the details, rather than having to ask, like mentioned we did have an emergency while there, and we would not have booked this place if we had know how remote it was due to the time it took to get emergency services to us.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 12, 2017
Thank you for your "detailed" review. We do feel for a review to be balanced and fair then other readers should be fllled in on a few details that have been omltted in your lengthy rant. Firstly you informed us in person how much you loved the cabin and we therefore were exceptionally surprised to receive an email from you a week after your stay asking for money before you wrote a review. We are not in the habit of giving refunds in exchange for reviews (good or bad).
So here are a few facts.....
When you made the booking you were fully aware where the cabin is. It's clearly shown in the advert!
You complain about Scotland's road infrastructure and the remoteness of the cabin and stated in your review that you informed us of the location of our cabin. Thank you for this but not only do we already know where it is, the majority of our guests choose the cabin for its location on the beautiful Loch Awe
The other fact you have failed to mention is that when one of your party had a medical emergency we came rushing to your aid with a defibrillator and stayed with your guests giving first aid until an ambulance arrived.
So to finalise my response
The cabin is in the beautiful Scottish Highlands that are renowned for the lovely single track roads and scenery
Some of our mugs are not all the same colour but that's the way we like it and if that ruins your holiday don't book with us.
The fridge is large as previous guests have asked for a larger fridge to be put in.
There are no tires and debris around the cabin and the cooker hood definitely works. You just didn't seem to be able to follow clear instructions that are in the cabin.
No we don't give refunds to people who tell us how much they like the cabin and then ask for a refund prior to submitting a review.

Last but not least if you found our polite email rude and my non matching mugs offensive then we can only offer our sincere apologies.

TripAdvisor have recently awarded our cabins a certificate of excellence because of the number of delighted customers we have and our execellent customer service.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
May 26, 2017
Thank you for your review. We are so glad you had a lovely stay and look forwards to greeting you back again
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Rich_Azzo...
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great weekend break at Fern Lodge!”
Reviewed March 23, 2017 for a stay in March 2017

We had a fantastic weekend at the Lodge, the surroundings are spectacular and waking up to the sight of Loch Awe each morning is just breathtaking.
The cabin is wonderfully cosy and provided ample space and amenities for the 4 of us who shared it.
My wife is terminally ill and we were looking to completely relax for the weekend in beautiful surroundings, the cabin ticked all the boxes, we didn't want to leave.
It is finished to a high standard with a spacious shower room, bedrooms and kitchen facility.
Spending the evenings on the sofas in front of the burner was lovely.
The hot tub does take a while to heat but this is fully disclosed in the info pack and you can have it preheated before arrival should you choose to do so.
Even though the weather wasn't the best it didn't deter our break at all.
All in all the weekend was everything we expected and more, thank you to Sonja and Steve.
We will be returning as soon as we can!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 24, 2017
So glad you enjoyed your stay and we wish you and your wife well.

Sonja & Steve
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“Get away from it all perfection”
Reviewed March 13, 2017 for a stay in March 2017

Stayed in this lovely cabin with my boyfriend and it was even betterthan we expected. The cabin is in a very spacious park with other cabins on the shore of the Loch but even though there are other cabins on the park it was so quiet and peaceful we felt that we were totally secluded. The hot tub is just amazing. We sat in it every night we were there listening to the fire burning and the wind in the trees. We even went in it in the rain and it just added to the natural feeling. We can;t wait to come back to our little piece of perfection. Thank you so much for letting us stay.....we will be back.

Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 14, 2017
Thank you for your review and we are glad you had a lovely time. Look forwards to seeing you back here again:-)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing