We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fern Lodge”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
15 reviews
Wood burning fire
Fully equipped kitchen
Large bathroom
Loch Awe 120 yards away
Bedroom 1
Castle Kilchurn on Loch Awe
Hot Tub - wood fired
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 7
Dalavich, Argyll and Bute, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 15 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Neversolo
Brecon, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Luxury not even close”
Reviewed June 8, 2017 for a stay in May 2017
2
people found this review helpful

Stopped in this so called luxury lodge on 13 may 2017 for a week.
We paid a lot of money for a weeks stay thinking we would have a luxury break, but that was not the case.
as follows.
In details, it mentioned a fridge with freezer compartment, what we found, was a large fridge in corner near dining table, with no freezer compartment and had to fix as it was terribly wobbly, we also noticed someone also complained a year ago about this on TA.
Terrible dirty cupboards.
Fryingpan burned and unusable.
if you used hot tap in bathroom it banged throughout the lodge.
double bed mattress full of springs.
ashtrays outside full of fag buts and water.
cooker hood just didnt work. ( owner said turn on switch, we did still didnt work)
Rubbish under lodge like old cleaning bottle fag buts and old tyres.
we did have an emergency while there, and had to call the emergency services, nowhere in lodge was correct address, even tho owners said there was the address was for the village not the lodge.
China in kitchen cracked and chipped and nothing matched, complete miss match of bits.
Stack of tables in living room, marked and stained with ring marks and not very nice to look at.
We made a complaint to owners when we got home, but was told that we should have complained while we was there, but after spending 9 hours travelling, the last thing you need is a stranger coming in to sort out the problems, that should have been done already, but some of the problems could not have been sorted out anyway.
We then got a very very rude email from owners, saying our complaint was not upheld, and they would not be willing to have any other correspondence with us, not mentioning any major complaints, just mentioning we should have had a stranger come in and sort a few things out.We took pictures of cupboards, and frying pan as I was so disgusted with these issues but the owners just didnt want to know, they had your money and end of story.
Also please be aware that the village / Lodge is 15 miles either way on single track roads with passing places, before you get to main roads then the nearest town Oban is 12 miles away after that, so you are very very remote, this was again mentioned to owners, and was told if we had asked we would have been told about this beforehand, this need to be a major point on the details, rather than having to ask, like mentioned we did have an emergency while there, and we would not have booked this place if we had know how remote it was due to the time it took to get emergency services to us.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 12, 2017
Thank you for your "detailed" review. We do feel for a review to be balanced and fair then other readers should be fllled in on a few details that have been omltted in your lengthy rant. Firstly you informed us in person how much you loved the cabin and we therefore were exceptionally surprised to receive an email from you a week after your stay asking for money before you wrote a review. We are not in the habit of giving refunds in exchange for reviews (good or bad).
So here are a few facts.....
When you made the booking you were fully aware where the cabin is. It's clearly shown in the advert!
You complain about Scotland's road infrastructure and the remoteness of the cabin and stated in your review that you informed us of the location of our cabin. Thank you for this but not only do we already know where it is, the majority of our guests choose the cabin for its location on the beautiful Loch Awe
The other fact you have failed to mention is that when one of your party had a medical emergency we came rushing to your aid with a defibrillator and stayed with your guests giving first aid until an ambulance arrived.
So to finalise my response
The cabin is in the beautiful Scottish Highlands that are renowned for the lovely single track roads and scenery
Some of our mugs are not all the same colour but that's the way we like it and if that ruins your holiday don't book with us.
The fridge is large as previous guests have asked for a larger fridge to be put in.
There are no tires and debris around the cabin and the cooker hood definitely works. You just didn't seem to be able to follow clear instructions that are in the cabin.
No we don't give refunds to people who tell us how much they like the cabin and then ask for a refund prior to submitting a review.

Last but not least if you found our polite email rude and my non matching mugs offensive then we can only offer our sincere apologies.

TripAdvisor have recently awarded our cabins a certificate of excellence because of the number of delighted customers we have and our execellent customer service.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
May 26, 2017
Thank you for your review. We are so glad you had a lovely stay and look forwards to greeting you back again
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Rich_Azzo...
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great weekend break at Fern Lodge!”
Reviewed March 23, 2017 for a stay in March 2017

We had a fantastic weekend at the Lodge, the surroundings are spectacular and waking up to the sight of Loch Awe each morning is just breathtaking.
The cabin is wonderfully cosy and provided ample space and amenities for the 4 of us who shared it.
My wife is terminally ill and we were looking to completely relax for the weekend in beautiful surroundings, the cabin ticked all the boxes, we didn't want to leave.
It is finished to a high standard with a spacious shower room, bedrooms and kitchen facility.
Spending the evenings on the sofas in front of the burner was lovely.
The hot tub does take a while to heat but this is fully disclosed in the info pack and you can have it preheated before arrival should you choose to do so.
Even though the weather wasn't the best it didn't deter our break at all.
All in all the weekend was everything we expected and more, thank you to Sonja and Steve.
We will be returning as soon as we can!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 24, 2017
So glad you enjoyed your stay and we wish you and your wife well.

Sonja & Steve
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Extraordi...
1 review
“Get away from it all perfection”
Reviewed March 13, 2017 for a stay in March 2017

Stayed in this lovely cabin with my boyfriend and it was even betterthan we expected. The cabin is in a very spacious park with other cabins on the shore of the Loch but even though there are other cabins on the park it was so quiet and peaceful we felt that we were totally secluded. The hot tub is just amazing. We sat in it every night we were there listening to the fire burning and the wind in the trees. We even went in it in the rain and it just added to the natural feeling. We can;t wait to come back to our little piece of perfection. Thank you so much for letting us stay.....we will be back.

Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 14, 2017
Thank you for your review and we are glad you had a lovely time. Look forwards to seeing you back here again:-)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andy W
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Nice but beware the hot tub”
Reviewed March 12, 2017 for a stay in February 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Nice location and facilities. Well appointed warm and comfy cabin. We choose to come here as a hot tub is a real treat for the family. No problem in it being prepared for us on arrival, but be warned it will take the two bags of logs rather than the one the instructions seem to imply. Told where to buy another bag for later in the week which we duly did, not cheap but you'd have thought we'd be getting the right thing. It transpires when trying to heat the hot tub on day three that the logs we bought were wet and so smouldered without giving the heat required. Gave up after several attempts and a few frustrating hours. Hot tub also does not have jets so nothing like the experience at say Forest Holidays, though granted nothing like the cost. Nice place but if the hot tub is a major draw for you, it might disappoint.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 13, 2017
Thank you for your review and we a sorry to hear that you. Had a problem with the hot tub,. Our instructions clearly state that the hot tub requires approximately one bag of wood a day to keep the tub hot. If it is a.lowed to go cold then it will require more wood. Please note that we can only guarantee the wood we supply to guests on arrival. Any wood bought on site or elsewhere is not our responsibility.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duncan S
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 review
“Cosy lodge in an amazingly beautiful setting!”
Reviewed December 5, 2016 for a stay in December 2016

Fern lodge is a really comfortable, homely lodge in some of the best scenery Scotland can offer.
The kitchen/dining room is well equipped and easily cooked for 7 of us. Decent sized sink helped with the washing up too! The beds are comfortable and spacious, even the sofa bed was comfy! There are big sofas to laze about on round the warm fireplace whilst you wait for the Hot Tub to heat up.
Lighting and stoking the fires for the hot tub was a lot of fun for our group, part of the charm of the place I'd say. But if you're not into that sort of thing, they can easily light it for you to be hot on your arrival. We really enjoyed our evenings relaxing in the tub, probably the highlight of our weekend.
A couple maps in the lodge pointed us towards a lovely walk over the river and round to a ruined castle where we saw a dramatic sunset over the mirror clear loch. There was boat rental that we didn't have time for, but if we ever return (which we'd love to) we plan on having a trip out on the water!
The hosts Sonja and Steve were easy to contact and very friendly and approachable.
Thanks for a great time! We'll be sure to come back.

Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 6, 2016
Thank you for your review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay:-)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eleanorra...
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great few days away ”
Reviewed May 15, 2016 for a stay in May 2016
6
people found this review helpful

We stayed here for 3 days. Although we had a good time, there were a few aspects which let it down.
We were under the impression that we would only require the two bags of logs provided for the hot tub, however we had to purchase 3 more from Irene costing a further £22.50. However when the hot tub was heated up it was incredibly enjoyable!
Also, in the description it stated that the lodge had a freezer which it did not. This was a let down for us as we had purchased a lot of frozen food which then went to waste as it wouldn't keep without being frozen.
Additionally, when using the oven we discovered that the grill does not work.
Overall however we really enjoyed our stay and would highly recommend hiring out a boat for the day to explore the beautiful Loch and castle.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 20, 2016
We are glad you enjoyed your stay at the lodge. Thank you for letting us know of the fault on the grill. We will rectify this
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing