We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Romantic getaway”
other travelers have booked this property
Sloy cabin by Loch
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Sloy cabin by Loch
Cabin viewed from the shore Living area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
26 reviews
Sloy cabin by Loch
Cabin viewed from the shore
Living area
View through French windows
Beech at cabin
Sunset over loch
Camp fire on beech
Kitchen area
Lots of space and privacy
Hot tub with great views
Pretty woodland setting
Regular visitor. Taken by guest
Osprey at nearby nest. Taken by one of our guests
Different view at every turn
Double bedroom
Its all about the great outdoors
Nearby Kilchurn castle
Bike hire on site
Cabin floor plan
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Dalavich, Argyll and Bute, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 26 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
emmadavie
Wakefield, United Kingdom
1 review
“Romantic getaway”
Reviewed February 23, 2017 for a stay in February 2017

Just came back from a wonderful stay at sloy. It really is a treat!

The location is beautiful. Whilst not completely isolated from other cabins it does feel private and far enough away from neighbours.

Very close to the loch and lovely in the hot tub under the trees.

Will will look to return as soon as we can!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zena27
Ramsgate, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Stunning location for a relaxing break”
Reviewed October 18, 2015 for a stay in October 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Warm welcome from Irene, the housekeeper. Lodge was basic but warm and cosy. Everything we needed was supplied. Didn't make use of the hot tub, but we did have a couple of barbecues round the fire pit, which isn't bad for October. Views and wildlife are stunning. Saw red squirrels every day in the trees outside the lodge and lots of buzzards. Had a couple of meals in the clubhouse, which were very good. No pine martins this time, but the jam sandwiches we left outside every day all disappeared, so many lovely places to visit in the surrounding area, Inveraray and Crinan are a must, and if you can go on the Sealife Adventure boat trip from Seil. We saw Eagles, seals, wild goats, and best of all Dolphins , as well as the whirlpool.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Brown water!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert H
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nowhere better”
Reviewed September 6, 2015 for a stay in September 2013

I have stayed in Dalavich several times and every time is as good as the first. Beautiful location, great people and great fishing. The cabins are basic and that is how it should be in a setting like this. Love the hot tub, sitting in it looking out over the loch on a moonlit night is wonderful.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: nothing
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 11, 2016
Hi Robert, glad you enjoyed your stay.

See you again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert M
Louth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful location, stunning views but painful to get to.”
Reviewed August 25, 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

My wife and 9yr old daughter stayed here at the beginning of August for a week. We all had a great time and are still missing it. The cabin is in a great location with a beautiful view onto Loch Awe, the cabin was clean, tidy and comfortable, but we spent most of our time visiting areas around like Oban, Fort William, Ben Nevis, Loch Ness, so we only sat in the cabin for an hour on a night. You must add at least half an hour onto any journey your going to make, the single track road to the cabin B845 from the A85 is painful, very twisty and slow, that's the trade off for a stunning location.
The hot tub was great, it does take two full bags to get it going the first night, probably two and a half to get it closer to 100 degrees though, then a full bag the next night but at £7.50 a bag I think this is a little expensive.
Irene is lovely and very helpful. There are some lovely walks close by. If you are someone like myself who loves to feed the midges then there is little to be done about that, I've tried everything, my wife and daughter never get bitten and didn't here, personally I got bitten worse in Wales.
Tried some spin fishing by the loch but had no luck, but still had fun!
If your going to walk Ben Nevis be prepared for a hard slog, it seems like your never going to get to the top, its very cold near the top but great to see snow in August!
Some people have commented about the interior, which I guess could be updated and a little bit more comfortable but that's going to depend on how long your going to be inside.
All in all a great holiday enjoyed by all, we wouldn't hesitate in booking again but the road(A845) makes it hard work if you want to go and travel around seeing other places.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location of the cabin at the edge of the Loch
Liked least: The drive on the A845 to the cabin
Traveling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
macstorqu...
torquay
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing views, great place to unwind”
Reviewed August 18, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Stayed for a week in July, what amazing views. A great place to relax and take in the beautiful surroundings. There is a local shop which doubles up as the post office and café and you can get a drink at the local social club. The cabin is close to the loch just a few steps down and you are on the waters edge. Oban is definitely worth a visit while you are there. Another bonus, the owners are really helpful with regards to booking and communication.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the peace and quiet of the location
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean D
1 review
“fantastic views in an serene part os scotland”
Reviewed April 20, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

just spent 2 fantastic days at sloy lodge,lovely sunshine,hot tub was great, nice and cosy cabin, looking forward to going in the winter for monster pike. my 2 dogs had an absolute ball. plenty wild life and fantastic scenery,cant wait to go back

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: easy access to fishing
Liked least: nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
esrva00
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Amazing Views”
Reviewed March 9, 2015 for a stay in March 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Travelled 470 miles to get to this cabin and it was every mile, the scenery was amazing and the snow just made it even more special, the cabin is small but well kitted out and warm the hot tub experience is only added to by being a genuine wood burning type ( but be aware that it will take about 4 hours to heat from cold) and is great to sit in the hot tub while the snow is falling, there is NO internet or mobile phone signal at the cabin which for me only adds to the charm, be aware that the decking can be slippery when wet (which is most days) but all in all the stay was exactly as we expected, 30 feet from a lovely Loch with at 6 ducks visiting every day and such peace and quiet i cant remember the last time i went for days on end with out hearing a phone ring, and what a location for exploring the highlands.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness
Liked best: the views and tranquility
Liked least: no real negatives as was made aware of any before booking
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing