We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely quiet cottage”
other travelers have booked this property
Cabin with hot tub on deck
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Cabin with hot tub on deck
Relaxing in hot tub Shona Cabin front perspective
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
20 reviews
Cabin with hot tub on deck
Relaxing in hot tub
Shona Cabin front perspective
Open plan living area
Night time
Double bedroom
Twin bedroom
Main bathroom
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Dalavich, Argyll and Bute, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 20 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Matt H
Camberley, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Lovely quiet cottage”
Reviewed August 2, 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

The cottage itself is very nice with plenty of space for our party of three. Upstairs there are two bedroom rooms. Downstairs there are two more bedrooms, bathroom, lounge, kitchen dinner and utility room. On the other hand with a party of six, it would be a bit of a squash, eg there is only one toilet.

The rental includes bed linen but not towels, so remember to bring some, unlike us!

Everything inside is clean and in good condition. A lot of it looks looks newly fitted and decorated. There is even a decent sized TV in the lounge, as opposed to the ancient tiny CRT TVs some rental owners like to install. Outside, you are very near Loch Awe and some pleasant woodland walks. The cottage doesn't directly overlook the loch but access is easy enough and there is boat hire in the village (though we didn't try it).

In the village is a single shop with general good, post office and cafe so you'l have drive to Oban to find the nearest supermarket. The cafe does a very nice breakfast though.

The only downside is that to get to the cottage, you need to drive 14 miles down a single track road. This does mean that getting anywhere takes about 3 minutes before you get to the main road. On the other hand, you aren't disturbed by passing traffic.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: The location
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 13, 2014
Thank you for your review, I am glad you enjoyed your stay.
Regards
John
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annaand99
London
1 review
“Lovely cottage, stunning location”
Reviewed June 19, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

This cottage was obviously recently and lovingly renovated. It had everything we needed in terms of amenities (apart from the internet, but I think if you come to a place like this, you don't really miss it, plus you can get connected at the social club down the road if you want). The whole place is very comfortable and cozy (the only thing I might suggest is a rug in the living room, to make it feel even cosier sitting around the log fire). The village is remote and the nearest proper supermarket is an hour's drive away, so come stocked with food. There is also no phone reception. However, you are pretty much on the shore of beautiful Loch Awe and there are lots of great walks within easy walking and driving distance. I don't think I would attempt to come here without a car, but it does appear to be possible. The owner lives just across the road and is very friendly and helpful. This is a real getaway, especially if you are coming from a big city. I would definitely come back again.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 27, 2014
Thank you for your comments, I'm glad you enjoyed your stay and would love to see you again. I will definitely get a rug for the living room and appreciate your feedback.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex B
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“A fantastic find :)”
Reviewed June 19, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

I was really impressed with this cottage, it had a very 'home' type feel to it rather than just your usual holiday accommodation. It was spacious, comfortable, well equipped & located in a friendly little village right on the edge of a loch.
I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this place to anyone & look forward to going back some time in the future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Log fire
Liked least: No internet/Wifi
Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 6, 2017
Thank you for the review
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claire070...
Glasgow
1 review
“Lovely cottage with breathtaking views”
Reviewed June 25, 2013 for a stay in May 2013

This accommodation has it all! Breathtaking views, The location is stunning providing countless opportunities for great walks, bike rides and and huge range of family activities. The owners were very friendly and helpful, giving us lots of tips to help make the most of the area. Couldn't recommend this highly enough

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: i liked everything about my stay in Bluebell cottage
Liked least: that i had to come home
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 6, 2017
Thank you for the great review
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing