We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Be careful using batercard here”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Cornwall Park Motor Inn
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Epsom
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Be careful using batercard here”
Reviewed March 8, 2014

So rang up late afternoon for accommodation accepted us to stay 2 nights with batercard then later cancelled by the manager as wouldn't do two nights on bartercard even though we would of happily paid for the third night cash. this has caused alot of inconvenience;

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Braywards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buttanut, Manager at Cornwall Park Motor Inn, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Yes we made a mistake of taking the barter card booking in the beginning, our receptionist is new and is unaware the difference of barter card and cash, we take barter card bookings only when we are not busy, and soon as I was aware of the booking we called and email to explain the situation, the guest wanted to book 2 nights, and we had only one room left in one of the nights, so we ask the guest we could accept barter card for 1 night and cash for the nearly booked night, but he refused, so we told him that we can not take the booking due to we need to serve cash customers first, and we apologies for the error and inconvenience.

Once again sorry for the inconvenience that we caused you, have a great weekend.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    33
    9
    2
    2
See reviews for
18
40
5
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2014

For many years we have stayed at this motel but it is now getting very tired. The location in fantastic - just across the road from Cornwall Park and a brisk walk thru there before breakfast is well worthwhile. New beds have been installed by the new owner, Aaron Chang, but we were disappointed to find that these were only standard size. The bedroom in the one bedroom unit was extremely cramped - would have been better if an extra single bed had not been in the room. A lot of work is needed on the place, but because of it's location, we would probably stay there again. Other motels in the area seemed to be no better. Aaron was very helpful and obliging.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter and Mary G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buttanut, Manager at Cornwall Park Motor Inn, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
We took over management last year June, and so far we changed all the sheets and pillows, and towels, we also in the process of changing new beds to all the units, instead of those commercial bed everyone uses, we are getting pocket spring zone support beds, we also upgrade our entertainment to 50+ guest select in every unit, the cooking pots and pans are also upgrade to chef quality, and we are looking at upgrading the studio rooms tv into smart internet tv as well.

Follow by that we then will start looking at the fixture on the rooms, like the carpets and wall papers etc, I'm sure every time you come you will notice some difference and we'll make sure of that.

Have a great weekend.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queenstown, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
288 reviews
103 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2013 via mobile

The room was spacious, clean and well laid out. Amenities were good quality for the price. Although I had a room close to the main road noise was not a problem. Just a very good value place to stay in Auckland.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anwil51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whangarei, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2013

This Motor Inn is clean, modern and serviced daily. The only thing I would request next time is a do not disturb sign to put on the door. I was there for business and was still in the room when housekeeping just burst in and it wasn't until I said hello that they noticed me. Very apologetic and did what they needed to do as quickly as possible so as not to disturb me any further. Next day they did knock first, which I appreciated. The room I was in was quiet and the bed reasonably comfortable. I had to be in Auckland for the week and I appreciated being put into their smallest room the first night as they had no other rooms available on the Monday night. Was very basic, but the bed was divine and they offer breakfast as there is no kitchenette in that particular room. The person at reception was not very welcoming and said very little to me at check in, but in the big scheme of things, I would rather have a melancholy receptionist and the best stay than the alternative. I would highly recommend this place for short or lengthy stays. I loved having 50+ channels of Sky too.

Room Tip: I was in room 17. It was quiet, clean, comfortable and modern!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TraxnDax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2013

We were really impressed with the Cornwall Park Motor Inn. The grounds are well kept, it is very clean and is situated across the road from Cornwall Park. Checking into the motel was prompt and we were given an upgrade from the Standard Studio rate. We had left some business materials in the unit, as we were delivering a course in Auckland. Shirley, who was working on reception, kindly sent the materials to us in a taxi, otherwise we would have had to return to the unit ourselves to collect the necessary materials. The unit is tastefully decorated and the bed was very comfortable. We would return to Cornwall Park on future business trips when working in Auckland.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer269
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2013 via mobile

We were first given a room that did not match the description of the "executive studio" which we had booked. It was small and did not contain many of the amenitites it was supposed to have. When we enquired we were initially told that it was the correct room. Only after I showed the person in the office his own web site did he agree to give us another room. The second room matched the description. Once we had the right room, we were pleased with the accommodation. It was clean and comfortable. The motel's location was excellent for us - a quick trip to the city and easy access to the motorway. Even with a room close to the road there was little noise overnight.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Rick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2013

My son and I stayed at this motel for 3 months due to a house fire from June to September 2013.
I looked at about 7 other motels in the immediate area and this motel had the best 2 bedroom option with a queen bed in one bedroom and two king singles in the other. It has two bathrooms, one with a bath and a fridge with a proper freezer on top.
Aaron is making improvements all the time - while we were there sky television was upgraded to more channels. He was always helpful when we required any assistance.
There is a bus stop right outside so going in and out of town is very easy and the park is just across the road for walking. Restaurants and a movie theatre are a short walk from the motel.
Everyone who visited me while I was there were really impressed.

Room Tip: We were in unit 22 which is ground level with carparking right outside unit. Great with the fridge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sue L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Epsom
1.3 mi away
Ibis Auckland Ellerslie
Ibis Auckland Ellerslie
#1 of 2 in Ellerslie
688 reviews
2.3 mi away
Quality Hotel Parnell
Quality Hotel Parnell
#17 of 67 in Auckland
684 reviews
1.3 mi away
Novotel Auckland Ellerslie Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Parklane Motor Lodge
2.4 mi away
Best Western Ellerslie Ellerslie International
1.6 mi away
Greenlane Manor Motel
Greenlane Manor Motel
#2 of 8 in Greenlane
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cornwall Park Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cornwall Park Motor Inn

Property: Cornwall Park Motor Inn
Address: 317 Manukau Road, Epsom 1023, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Epsom
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Epsom
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Cornwall Park Motor Inn 4.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cornwall Park Motor Inn offers spacious and comfortable MOTEL accommodation in the inner circle of Auckland City & located opposite the Logan Campbell Fountain and Monument in the heart of Epsom & Greenlane. 3 1/2klms from the city centre & 14 klms from the airport ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Cornwall Park Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cornwall Park Motor Inn Epsom, Auckland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing