We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great service, friendly staff” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Parklane Motor Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Parklane Motor Lodge
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Epsom
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great service, friendly staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2012

Parklane Motor Lodge is centrally located, close to the ASB Showgrounds, and at walking distance from One Tree Hill. I have been visiting the Lodge off and on, but noticed a remarkable change under the new management of Clair and Mandy. They genuinely cared to make sure that my stay was comfortable and enjoyable. The rooms are very tidy, clean and cheerful. A little attention to landscaping the outside would certainly add value for me. I shall stay here again fore sure!

Room Tip: Just mention your preference and taste to Clair or Mandy and they would help you with the best choic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vijay S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Parklane Motor Lodge, responded to this review, July 7, 2012
Thank you very much Vijay for the great comments, we are thrilled that we have made an impact on your stay with us. We are in the process of freshening up the whole motel and landscaping is defiantly on the list, hopefully the next time you visit this will be under way.

Many Thanks
Clair and Mandy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    22
    34
    21
    32
See reviews for
42
34
10
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Oamaru, New Zealand
Level Contributor
105 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2012

This motor lodge is very well positioned for visitors to the ASB Showgrounds, which is why we chose to stay. But the facilities are basic, the room is heated only with a small portable heater, and wireless connectivity is extremely expensive. But since the rooms are fairly well priced, I suppose that is a small (high) price to pay.

The service is very friendly, though, and there are some interesting ethnic eateries a short walk away, so there are enough positives to out way the basic facilities of this accommodation.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank James G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParklaneMotorLodge, Manager at Parklane Motor Lodge, responded to this review, June 19, 2012
Thank you very much for your comments and I am happy that our service provided to you met with your expectations. We have just taken over Parklane and are are making our way through the whole property to make improvements, We do have more heaters available at our office if required.
We welcome guests to approach either myself or Clair if any issues arise and we are very happy to remedy any issues that our guests may have.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2012

Thank you Clair and Mandy for being such welcoming and hospitable hosts and for going the extra mile to accommodate our early check-in and extra guests. The room was very clean, comfortable and presentable and conveniently close to the Greenlane Clinical Centre. We look forward to staying with you again when back in Auckland. Regards Jeff & Sue

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParklaneMotorLodge, Manager at Parklane Motor Lodge, responded to this review, June 5, 2012
Thank you so Much Jeff & Sue for your taking the time to review us, we are so glad that we made your stay hassle free when you were both up here under trying circumstances, Sue we wish you a speedy recovery and hopefully catch up with you both in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2012

I have stayed here before, previous to the new management and have to admit I was not impressed, This time around it was excellent.. Clair and Mandy are brilliant and extremely efficent ... excellent stay once again.. i have been to stay twice already.. will be back no doubt really soon.. thankyou for having us.... jade

Room Tip: i like spa baths so if you are out and about during the day then 14... but if you are planning on st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jade M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParklaneMotorLodge, Manager at Parklane Motor Lodge, responded to this review, May 25, 2012
Hi Jade
Thank you for your great feedback, It is a pleasure having you stay with us and am so glad to hear that you will be back, we are slowly going through and working hard to ensure the whole property reflects our passion for what we do.
Thanks for taking the time to review us and we look forward to seeing you soon.
Clair and Mandy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whanganui, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2012

My husband and I have just had two wonderful nights with the above motel. We have stayed in many over the years including 5 star and found this motel one of the best we have experience. It's location was just across the road from where we needed to be yet only 5 minutes from the centre of Auckland.
The communication with Clair and Mandy both with booking, staying and leaving was amazing. They went out of their way to help us. The room was incredible, felt like we could really relax and enjoy. Very clean and wanted for nothing.

Would highly recommend this to anyone couple, single or family and we will certainly be using their services again.

Debbie & Murray Kirkness
Wanganui NZ

Room Tip: We did n't try the restaurant but it sure smelt great. Nor did we try the fitness centre. The f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParklaneMotorLodge, Manager at Parklane Motor Lodge, responded to this review, May 22, 2012
Hi Debbie and Murray
Thank you so much for your wonderful review, as we have just taken over the management of Parklane Motor Lodge, with a review like yours, we know we are on the right track to providing great service and attention to detail. We are very handy not only to Alexander Park across the road but also to many great other attractions in city of sails. After talking to you about the clear domed roof we had another guest who was watching the planes go overhead at night and she was saying it was an awesome experience
we look forward to welcoming you both back very soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2012

We stayed at this property since it was close to the city centre and a part of the golden chain. This was listed as a gold We have had a good experience so far in all our stays with the golden chain but this experience was a disappointment. It started with us being checked-in into a room which was not cleaned. Guess a bunch a youngsters had a party in the room and there were beer bottles & dirty bed-sheets lying around. To give credit to the motel - the manager did come immediately, apologized and took us to a new room. The property looks run-down & there is trash accumulating in the car-park area. This is listed as a premium property in the golden chain website but basis our experience I don't think so. Would not visit again.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AnilKrishnaSing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParklaneMotorLodge, Manager at Parklane Motor Lodge, responded to this review, April 26, 2012
Dear Guest,

We are very sorry that you've had this experience at our motel, on the date you checked in with us we had just finished having 3 cricket teams stay and unfortunately the room we had allocated to you had not yet been cleaned at the time when you checked in as our cleaners were working late into the evening to get the mess cleaned up after these 60+ Guys. I'm glad we were able to promptly move you to a cleaned room and that this didn't cause too many hassles or disruptions to your stay.

The mess that comes with 60+ Guys is amazing and as they had been with us a whole week it had been near impossible to keep the outdoor areas tidy after them. I can assure you that rubbish accumulating on the outside of the property does not occur often and once again I do apologize that this has not been a great experience for you and reflected poorly on our motel.

This coming week we will be leaving as the managers of this property to move on to the next step in our career. There will be new managers and we know that this will help bring new ideas & improve many different aspects of our guests experience.

Kind Regards,

Wayne Sharplin & Matt Durand
Motel Management Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Epsom hotels

Rotorua
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2011

Thank you to Wayne and the team at Park Lane Motor Lodge for accommodating our class trip at short notice! All rooms were clean and comfortable, mini bars were unstocked as requested, beds were moved to fit groups as required, check in was arranged smoothly (not an easy feat with this many kids)all questions were answered prior to arrival, other guests were fairly warned of our stay.
Some of the children's comments are below:
It was cool because the rooms were big, the motel was huge
It was fun, the pool, the rooms
The pool and sky movies made it awesome
Easy to get to comfortable and clean
I liked it because it had everything we needed
Because we behaved good and it was cool because it had a pool
Flash
I liked that we got to choose who we shared with
I really really liked where we stayed it was a really neat place I would like to stay there again
Fabulous rooms
Really really good rooms, balconies and had a pool
It was very cool
Sweet as, flash, felt like a king!!
Comfortable and relaxing
I liked it because of the rooms
It was awesome with a spa, balcony, and fluffy blankets
Cool, it was very nice
It was flash with the pool and our room had a big TV
Because it had a pool
Bliss!
Good sleeping arrangements
So easy
Awesome, comfy beds

Well done and thanks so much Wayne and Matt, Debbie Atkinson, Principal

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParklaneMotorLodge, Manager at Parklane Motor Lodge, responded to this review, January 8, 2012
Dear Debbie,

We were more than happy to accommodate your school group, being a 38 room motel meant it was no hassles to fit your large group in quite comfortably. It is great to read all the comments from your students and the staff members/parent helpers alike and glad to hear that everyone had such an enjoyable time.

We look forward to welcoming you all back on the next school trip.

Kind Regards,

Wayne Sharplin and Matt Durand
Motel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Epsom
1.3 mi away
Ibis Auckland Ellerslie
Ibis Auckland Ellerslie
#1 of 2 in Ellerslie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 655 reviews
2.7 mi away
Quality Hotel Parnell
Quality Hotel Parnell
#17 of 68 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 639 reviews
1.3 mi away
Novotel Auckland Ellerslie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Cornwall Park Motor Inn
0.1 mi away
Epsom Motel
Epsom Motel
#2 of 8 in Epsom
4.5 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
0.8 mi away
Greenlane Suites
Greenlane Suites
#3 of 8 in Greenlane
4.0 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parklane Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parklane Motor Lodge

Property: Parklane Motor Lodge
Address: 222 Green Lane West, Epsom 1051, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Epsom
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Epsom
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Parklane Motor Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Parklane Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parklane Hotel Auckland
Parklane Motor Lodge Epsom, Auckland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing