We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superbe location & excellent dinner!”
Review of Margarites

Margarites
Ranked #1 of 2 Restaurants in Kipoi
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $17 - $29
Cuisines: Diner, Greek, Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Scenic view, Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Business meetings
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Our restaurant, is situated in the center of Zagori, in the village of Kipi.Our restaurant, "Margarites" is an impressive three-storied building with a unique yard which includes a bar for the summer period, is located very close to our hotel (Kipi aggelon), in the main street that crosses the village.
Aalst, Belgium
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Superbe location & excellent dinner!”
Reviewed July 20, 2014

After having visited the Vikos canyon, we had a wonderfull time at this restaurant. Excellent food and enthousiastic service!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Anne V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

379 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    273
    61
    35
    4
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canterbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A Gem”
Reviewed June 15, 2014

We were recommended to try this restaurant. We initially had lunch, it was so good we returned for an evening meal. Huge portions, the best cheese pie. The proprietor George was an genial host and we were welcomed like old friends. Excellent value. Truly a hidden gem. If you go nowhere else in Kipi do pay a visit to Margarites, you will be charmed, delighted and indulged.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank terence t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good food, friendly staff in a small village”
Reviewed May 6, 2014

We had a light dinner on a cold rainy evening. Warm room with a fireplace. Nice tasty grilled feta, great French fries and fresh roasted vegetables. Friendly staff. Not cheap, not expensive. Good menu, good value.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lpLondon359
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“good food and excellent service”
Reviewed May 5, 2014

the food was tasty and fresh. the atmosphere and decoration were unique and made us feel very welcome. also, the owners were very nice people that turned the whole meal into a great experience.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank zoya m m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed May 1, 2014

My family and I were very impressed with this restaurant. I never expected to find a restaurant of this quality in such a remote area.

The decoration is country modern and is visually very appealing but also inviting and homely. The owner and staff were very welcoming and did their best to satisfy our request.

What sets Margarites apart is the quality of the food. They serve traditional Greek cuisine with some modern twists, tasty comfort food, but most of all brilliantly executed. It's basically the kind of food a Greek mother would cook at home, if she were a Michelin-stared chef. The pan-fried pork (τηγανια) melted in my mouth, possible the best version of this dish I have ever had. The beef stew with orzo (κοκκινηστο) was equally delicious and perfectly prepared. There were plenty of interesting options for salads, starters and desserts and none of them disappointed.

We enjoyed this restaurant so much, we visited all three days we stayed at Kipoi.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kalamaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Margarites also viewed

 
Dilofo, Zagorohoria
Monodendri, Ioannina Region
 
Koukouli, Zagorohoria
 

Been to Margarites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing