We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 12:00 AM - 11:59 PM
Save
Review Highlights
Awsome Free Experience

Aloha ! This was well worth the visit. Not just for the two stones but also for the surroundings... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
jecepede
,
The Netherlands
Very much worth a visit!

The Museum is easy to find with ample parking on the outskirts of town. If you’re using Google maps... read more

Reviewed 3 weeks ago
TimmyN_11
,
Peterborough, United Kingdom
via mobile
Read all 730 reviews
  
Reviews (730)
Filter reviews
730 results
Traveler rating
444
245
36
5
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
444
245
36
5
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews interactive museum museum is free worth a visit great museum whole family on site glass cases clear picture viking settlement free parking history denmark church centre christianity visitors displays
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
39 - 44 of 730 reviews
Reviewed September 14, 2018

You need more than an hour to fully explore this museum. So much to read and several hands on exhibits. Don't forget to go all the way to the top and onto the roof for a view of two Viking mounds. Nice gift shop on the ground floor level. Otherwise, not much around this museum.

Date of experience: August 2018
2  Thank herculesmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed September 6, 2018

We visited Jelling on our way back to Billund from Vejle. It is a very pretty place with a nice church . The cemetery is one of the most well kept we have ever seen . The Viking museum is free to visit. It was interesting to see how the area has changed over the years with a great view from the roof top.

Date of experience: August 2018
1  Thank TEAMW12
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed September 4, 2018 via mobile

The mounds are accompanied by an information center, which is free to enter. 95% the information there are available in both Danish and English. You feel the history of the Vikings with your eyes, ears, even fingers. The introduction to the Danish Royal family chronicle was a highlight in my opinion - with funny illustrations and detailed commentary, I never thought history lesson can be so interesting!

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank Yinci Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed September 3, 2018

Easy roads from Billund and a really good museum and areas to walk if the weather is fine. The village of Jelling was very clean and had an outdoor water play area for young children. Well worth the effort to see some of real Denmark which was a revelation of calm and serenity.

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank araf
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed August 28, 2018

We had a day out with the family of 13 people including 3 children to spend the afternoon in Jelling the home of the Vikings.
We had a guide to show us around and explain the area including the Church and the land ship of the Vikings. The weather was fair and we had a good guide to help us. After the visit we went to the Museum and the Viking Center. Well worth the time and the Museum is free of charge with free car parking clos by.

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
View more reviews