We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique and beautiful place”
Review of A Stone Wall Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
A Stone Wall Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Windham B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Unique and beautiful place”
Reviewed August 17, 2013

The architecture and setting for this Inn are truly spectacular. We enjoyed the room, the deck, the gardens and the hospitality. It was such a lovely stay we hated to leave. The breakfast muffins were incredible. My husband never eats muffins and he loved them! It was delightful to take a morning walk around the pond and gardens; so peaceful. The owner and staff have done wonderful things with this property and they seem to keep doing more. It is definitely worth a visit; next time I hope to stay longer.

Room Tip: The whole place seemed quiet and I am sure all of the rooms are very nice. Some rooms had more stai...
See more room tips
Green Features: A Stone Wall Inn is an environmentally friendly establishment. They are energy conscious and they recycle and reuse.
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pat O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    12
    6
    2
    0
See reviews for
8
60
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Riverdale, New York
1 review
Reviewed August 15, 2013

A Stone Wall Inn is a beautiful, well furnished, cozy inn set in Windham Vermont. The seclusion and wonderful views from our private terrace was what really set this place over the top. We went to escape the noise and the heat of The Bronx and that is exactly what we found. We got peace and quiet on top of a temperate, almost chilly, atmosphere. We stayed in the Pond View room and it was the best decision we could have made. It was cozy and the loft bed was wonderful. Breakfast in the morning is always a good choice and filled us up. The Inn Keeper is very ncie and will cater to your every need to the best of his ability. This trip was an all around great idea and we cant wait to go back again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerville, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 11, 2013

Loved this inn! The architecture and grounds were BEAUTIFUL. The owner and staff were hospitable and friendly. Our shower never seemed to work properly- I would have liked it to have been better maintained, as we did pay extra for the jacuzzi room.

Room Tip: We loved the Outlook room and had PERFECT star-gazing opportunities both from our bed, through the w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank arbackman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean L, General Manager at A Stone Wall Inn, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to give us a review and let us know where we can improve.

I apologize that the shower caused you issues. We do adhere to a maintenance schedule, however some issues do not manifest themselves until guests are in the room. I do wish you would have told me about the issue while you were here. As I mentioned to you, and to every guest at check in, I live at the inn, and I am always available to assist with issues. Not to mention, the owner is also the architect, who has literally assisted with the construction of each and every space on the property, and is available to assist in maintenance problems at the property. We also have a master carpenter/plumber/electrician who is on property 4 days a week, and on call at other times, who was more than capable of fixing this situation.

While I do wish you had come to me so we could fix the issue quickly, the next guest to check into the room notified us of the problem and we had the showerhead replaced within an hour of being notified.

Again, thank you for your candid remarks, and we hope to see you again when you visit Vermont.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
1 review
Reviewed August 7, 2013

We had a great time the owner and manager were friendly and personal! The land was beautiful and the architecture as well. The breakfast was delicious, a lot of carbs though, muffins and pastries, but all homemade fresh that morning.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Emily M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed August 6, 2013

A stone wall inn is a cozy welcoming inn. the staff is so friendly and helpful, they have tons of tips and ideas for your stay. the rooms and grounds are all neat, clean, unique and comfortable. we really enjoyed our stay and would highly recommend checking out a stone wall inn!!

Room Tip: we stayed in the look out room with the jacuzzi tub it was great!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Renee D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vernon, Connecticut
1 review
Reviewed August 3, 2013

Absolutely loved this B&B! Unique architecture, beautiful grounds/landscaping, excellent/friendly innkeepers, great food, and quiet and relaxing. A great place to go in any season. We will definitely be back and recommend that others check out A Stone Wall Inn.

Room Tip: All the rooms are great. Check out the website for a description of each room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed July 23, 2013

Nice, modern architecture - a unique departure from the typical B&B. Very eco-friendly, sustainable ethos and policies (heated via wood stove, solar panels, compost collected from breakfast, etc.). Small staff, very kind and helpful. Only drawback is that sound travels in building, so not ideally private for a romantic getaway. Would be good to rent The Corner House w/family for a week away.

Green Features: See general comments - A+ for environmentally-friendly practices
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maria K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Windham
6.0 mi away
Grafton Inn
Grafton Inn
#1 of 1 in Grafton
325 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Upper Pass Lodge
The Upper Pass Lodge
#1 of 4 in Londonderry
138 reviews
3.2 mi away
Snowdon Chalet
Snowdon Chalet
#1 of 3 in Londonderry
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Blue Gentian Lodge
Blue Gentian Lodge
#2 of 4 in Londonderry
53 reviews
7.4 mi away
Windham Hill Inn
Windham Hill Inn
#1 of 2 in West Townshend
228 reviews
3.5 mi away
Magic View Motel
Magic View Motel
#2 of 3 in Londonderry
37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A Stone Wall Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A Stone Wall Inn

Property: A Stone Wall Inn
Address: 530 Hitchcock Hill Rd, Windham, VT 05359-9653
Location: United States > Vermont > Windham
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Windham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — A Stone Wall Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Designed by an award-winning architect, A Stone Wall Inn is not your average bed and breakfast. You won't find doilies, antiques, and Victorian era furniture; What you will find is modern architecture, with buildings designed to interact with the environment, artistic symbolism in every nook, meandering staircases that lead you to unique rooms, and custom designed furniture pieces. As Vermont's Greenest Inn, we use no fossil fuels in the heating of our buildings, and use materials which are sensitive to the needs of the environment. The buildings are akin to an adult treehouse, with creative spaces to be found inside and out. Get away from the fast lane, and come explore the pristine nature of Vermont. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire and Hotel.de so you can book your A Stone Wall Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing