We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unique”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of A Stone Wall Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
A Stone Wall Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Windham B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
“Unique”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013

This was me and my girlfriend's first stay and it was definitely an interesting place. Very quiet and peaceful. We had an ant problem in the first room we stayed in but the manager was very nice about letting us switch rooms. The manager and the owner were very friendly. The rooms were a little smaller than expected but they were cozy and comfortable. We felt at home at this place and would definitely go back.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrea D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    12
    6
    2
    0
See reviews for
8
60
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Holyoke MA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013

There was no snow when we left MA, but a wintery mix falling when we arrived in VT. The Inn was very quiet the first night and Sean said it was fully booked for the second night of our stay. We heard about the Inn through a Groupon coupon.

Arrival and check-in were great greeted by Sean the Inn keeper for our weekend and his dog. Got a tour of the house. Were blown away by the woodstoves used to heat the central lounge areas. It seemed that we were the only guests to use each of the lounges in the evening. It was March madness time and instead of driving to a local watering hole we caught up on the games there in the lounge. There were no TVs in each room which was fine by us.

Great breakfast each morning. Nothing too wild, but we had a bread pudding one morning and fruit with fresh brewed coffee. The breakfast room was bright and wonderful.

We stayed in the stargazer room which seemed to be shoehorned into its space in the house. It Was a cool room with its own porch.

Inn stayed quiet throughout our stay you didn't hear people moving around during the evening hours even though it was fully booked. It was a modern and funky place to stay and we enjoyed ourselves throughout our stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bruce B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2013

We've stayed at A Stone Wall Inn twice in the past month (March 2013) and will continue to come back. The property is beautiful and hidden away from neighbors so you have beautiful views. The hot tub and dry sauna are a wonderful way to relax after the day and Sean's (the live-in manager) evening treats are always delicious. There is a recreational room with a big TV and guest fridge if you want to bring your own beverages or snacks.

The rooms are cozy and not your typical hotel room. They all have unique layouts and individual perks. Some of the rooms lack in great lighting/big mirrors in the sink area but you can definitely make do with what's there. The beds are cozy with lots of pillows and warm comforters and there are excellent drapes to block out the sun if you want to sleep in.

Sean makes an excellent breakfast and can easily cater towards food allergies in tasty ways. Definitely worth waking up for! There are get information sheets on things to do in the area and amazing restaurants.

Be warned there is no cell service at the Inn and no TVs in the room (although there is great wifi). This wasn't an issue for us at all and provided a much needed escape.

Overall, we can't wait to come visit again!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mentallini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ithaca, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

A Stone Wall Inn is like no other B&B - modern and sleek architecture with clean lines, built from recycled materials with a commitment to sustainability... we felt it was similar to a wooden playground for adults with twists and turns and always something unique to look at (but not overwhelming). The manager, Sean, welcomed us and answered all of our questions. Our room was incredibly clean and offered a great view (we were in The Outlook). Particularly for couples, I recommend this Inn for a quiet getaway. We spent our weekend traveling through all of the tiny quaint towns that surround this area and thoroughly enjoyed coming back each night so such a sweet place.

Room Tip: The Outlook offers a great layout, jacuzzi, and beautiful view. It is over the kitchen and stairs t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MichelleA556
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2013

A Stone Wall Inn welcomes you like a friend and then gives you practically free reign over their "house". The Inn has a great story and we love a place with a story. The attention to details is impressive, the architecture is incredibly interesting (in a great way), the interaction with the environment is amazing, and it's clean and comfortable on top of all of that. Sean, the Innkeeper was friendly, helpful, and accessible and he made a mean egg-free zucchini bread per my egg allergy. We had a great time there and look forward to visiting again...I could go on and on, but will spare you...

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cathy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
92 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013

Our group of five rented the private house on the grounds of A Stone Wall Inn for our ski getaway in January. The house was spacious, comfortable and clean. There is no cell reception, but there is a land line in the house, which is also equipped with Internet. Movies on demand via a Roku streaming box attached to the TV. The bedrooms were comfortable. Heat provided by a rustic wood burning stove. Good water pressure and plenty of hot water for the whole house. Full kitchen. About 30 mins by car to Stratton; Mount Snow is also nearby, as well as a few smaller hills. Interesting, quirky architecture. Scenic wooded surroundings. Excellent homemade breakfast provided. Friendly and helpful hosts. Furniture in the living room area could have been more comfortable, and stereo speakers were blown, but overall a great experience.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013

We visited last weekend for a getaway celebration, and we are so glad we chose this spot. Sean, the Innkeeper, is very hospitable and happy to discuss the interesting history of this property and all it had to offer. It's remote enough to escape city life but close enough to enjoy an evening out for dinner, a day of antiquing, or to sample cheeses in a nearby village. We highly recommend A Stone Wall Inn and are eager to return.

Room Tip: Each room offers something unique. If the doors are open when you visit, feel free to explore.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jordan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Windham
6.0 mi away
Grafton Inn
Grafton Inn
#1 of 1 in Grafton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 314 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Upper Pass Lodge
The Upper Pass Lodge
#1 of 4 in Londonderry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
7.3 mi away
Inn Victoria
Inn Victoria
#1 of 9 in Chester
5.0 of 5 bubbles 469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Magic View Motel
Magic View Motel
#2 of 3 in Londonderry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
2.7 mi away
Blue Gentian Lodge
Blue Gentian Lodge
#2 of 4 in Londonderry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
5.9 mi away
Cold Moon Farm Bed & Breakfast LLC
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A Stone Wall Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A Stone Wall Inn

Property: A Stone Wall Inn
Address: 530 Hitchcock Hill Rd, Windham, VT 05359-9653
Location: United States > Vermont > Windham
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Windham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — A Stone Wall Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Designed by an award-winning architect, A Stone Wall Inn is not your average bed and breakfast. You won't find doilies, antiques, and Victorian era furniture; What you will find is modern architecture, with buildings designed to interact with the environment, artistic symbolism in every nook, meandering staircases that lead you to unique rooms, and custom designed furniture pieces. As Vermont's Greenest Inn, we use no fossil fuels in the heating of our buildings, and use materials which are sensitive to the needs of the environment. The buildings are akin to an adult treehouse, with creative spaces to be found inside and out. Get away from the fast lane, and come explore the pristine nature of Vermont. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your A Stone Wall Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing