We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like being a guest at someone's SUPER cool house!”
Review of A Stone Wall Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
A Stone Wall Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Windham B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed April 3, 2013

A Stone Wall Inn welcomes you like a friend and then gives you practically free reign over their "house". The Inn has a great story and we love a place with a story. The attention to details is impressive, the architecture is incredibly interesting (in a great way), the interaction with the environment is amazing, and it's clean and comfortable on top of all of that. Sean, the Innkeeper was friendly, helpful, and accessible and he made a mean egg-free zucchini bread per my egg allergy. We had a great time there and look forward to visiting again...I could go on and on, but will spare you...

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cathy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (92)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

65 - 71 of 92 reviews

Reviewed March 16, 2013

Our group of five rented the private house on the grounds of A Stone Wall Inn for our ski getaway in January. The house was spacious, comfortable and clean. There is no cell reception, but there is a land line in the house, which is also equipped with Internet. Movies on demand via a Roku streaming box attached to the TV. The bedrooms were comfortable. Heat provided by a rustic wood burning stove. Good water pressure and plenty of hot water for the whole house. Full kitchen. About 30 mins by car to Stratton; Mount Snow is also nearby, as well as a few smaller hills. Interesting, quirky architecture. Scenic wooded surroundings. Excellent homemade breakfast provided. Friendly and helpful hosts. Furniture in the living room area could have been more comfortable, and stereo speakers were blown, but overall a great experience.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013

We visited last weekend for a getaway celebration, and we are so glad we chose this spot. Sean, the Innkeeper, is very hospitable and happy to discuss the interesting history of this property and all it had to offer. It's remote enough to escape city life but close enough to enjoy an evening out for dinner, a day of antiquing, or to sample cheeses in a nearby village. We highly recommend A Stone Wall Inn and are eager to return.

Room Tip: Each room offers something unique. If the doors are open when you visit, feel free to explore.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jordan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2013

My friend and I wanted to get away for a couple of days and enjoy the snow and quiet.
We stayed at A Stone Wall Inn, and it was a wonderful experience.The Inn is close to ski areas, restaurants and shops to browse thru, but is high on a hill which provides a relaxing and quiet experience. Everything there was top quality and immaculate. Every room including common areas are a unique ,thoughtful and comfortable design. Even though we were away from the busy life all is modern.This Inn has a very low impact on the environment
Sean, our host was always available if we needed anything and incidentally is a great cook. We expected a continental breakfast but got quiche, homemade muffins and jam along with juice,and coffee.Cookies ,brownies and fruit were available during the day.for snacks We visited during the cold weather so were sorry not to be able to take advantage of the grounds and pool, but we had a jacuzzi!!!
I have stayed at many different B&B's most being in older homes, but this new home was a pleasant surprise , all it's angles fitting right in to the mountain.
We live in southeastern Mass. and this area of Vermont is very close and easy to get to.
We loved it!! and strongly recommend this lovely Inn.

Room Tip: there are two buildings to stay in, the main house while quiet is closer to common areas the other...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dori l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2013

My wife and I were so excited to find this place near Stratton and Bromley Mt. We couldn't stop talking about what a great place it is. It's environmentally conscious and beautiful. Sean the manager was great in helping us find unique places to dine at and very friendly and helpful. Every morning we had fresh baked muffins, scones, or delicious zucchini bread waiting for us which he baked from scratch. Every room has a unique look and set up. We can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Cathedral room. Tall ceiling with a great super comfy loft bed plenty big for two...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mwv115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2013

It's a mile or two off the main roads, and it doesn't fit the stereotype of a B&B: instead, it's a fascinating example of unusual, inventive architecture with a wonderful, rambling layout and very welcoming hosts.

We stayed on a winter weekend, and the rooms were cozy and well-kept. The shared areas were exactly the right balance of tidy and relaxed, with cozy nooks and interesting books around every corner. The layout almost inevitably means you'll brush up with other guests (but the rooms themselves are fully private), which just adds to the appeal.

You're out in the woods, which means peace and quiet - and beautiful views out the windows. The location is good too - in between Bromley and Magic, for the ski crowd (we weren't) with the minor warning that all the places to eat (and there are half a dozen or more) are about ten minutes away.

If you want an Old Victorian with Ye Olde Pub just past the reception desk, Vermont has plenty of those; this isn't that. But if you're looking for a very welcoming experience in a modern, quirky (in the best way) setting, Stone Wall is a great spot.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank M M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013

I spent a yoga weekend at A Stone Wall Inn in September. The place was beautiful, unique, and very well kept. I stayed in the Stargazer room, which was the perfect spot for me and my dog, Gypsy. I think it would be a bit tight for a couple, but it had a lovely balcony and shower, as well as a super comfortable bed. It was very cozy!

The grounds of the inn are lovely and there is lots to see. The inn really is dog-friendly and I spent much of my time exploring with Gypsy. The innkeepers are very friendly and the breakfasts were delicious. It was the perfect place for a yoga retreat and I hope to return again this year!

Room Tip: If you're traveling with a partner, I'd call ahead to make sure the room is large enough for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melinda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to A Stone Wall Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A Stone Wall Inn

Address: 530 Hitchcock Hill Rd, Windham, VT 05359-9653
Location: United States > Vermont > Windham
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Windham
Price Range: $100 - $215 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — A Stone Wall Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Designed by an award-winning architect, A Stone Wall Inn is not your average bed and breakfast. You won't find doilies, antiques, and Victorian era furniture; What you will find is modern architecture, with buildings designed to interact with the environment, artistic symbolism in every nook, meandering staircases that lead you to unique rooms, and custom designed furniture pieces. As Vermont's Greenest Inn, we use no fossil fuels in the heating of our buildings, and use materials which are sensitive to the needs of the environment. The buildings are akin to an adult treehouse, with creative spaces to be found inside and out. Get away from the fast lane, and come explore the pristine nature of Vermont. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your A Stone Wall Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing