We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food for a reasonable price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Restaurant Baren
Ranked #1 of 2 Gsteig B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 18, 2013

We had lunch at the "Gaststube"...
- Portion size was perfect and food was very good
- Price for the lunch menu is more than correct and very competitive (18 CHF for starter and main dish)
- Nice setting but could have some music in the background
- Friendly staff
Keep it up and we are looking forward to our next visit...

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MR R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 14, 2014

Better late than never we would like to thank you for your kind comment!
Our greatest goal is to satisfy our guests and it seems like we did quite well on your visit! We are looking forward to your next visit and hope you'll be positively surprised by the nice background music that we have put in the meantime:-)!

Best regards

Anne-Sophie, Lukas & the whole Bären-Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (40)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Restaurant Baren
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

17 - 23 of 40 reviews

Reviewed November 8, 2013

Good restaurant, fine quality and variety of cuisine. Enjoyable Breakfast. comfortable rooms in this family run hotel located close to Gstaad. Very friendly owners and staff. good location on the main road with fine view of mountail range.

Room Tip: You will enjoy your stay and the food quality is superb.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank d w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 14, 2014

Better late than never we would like to thank you for your kind comment!
Our greatest goal is to satisfy our guests and it seems like we did quite well on your visit! We are looking forward to your next visit and hope you'll be positively surprised by the nice background music that we have put in the meantime:-)!

Best regards

Anne-Sophie, Lukas & the whole Bären-Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2012

i havent sleapt there but the restaurant is just great. I spent a couple of evenings there with my parents and friends. Staff is incredible great. Food was perfect i can realy recommend the chili fondue best i ever had. if you prefer a lovely and quiet evening, go to the bärensaal which is the restaurant on the first floor. If you like the locals near you the the Gaststube is perfect. For all the chees lovers, the Fürgrube on the groundfloor is just amazing. they are litarlly cooking racelette in front of you.
Keep it up you guys are great.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Thomas W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled solo
Thank TheBrainWasher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2017, traveled with friends
Thank maxl123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: December 2016, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Maria G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: Pokoje z widokiem na szczyty lub na rzekę
  • Stayed: August 2016, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maniek9252
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Restaurant Baren? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Restaurant Baren

Address: Gsteigstrasse 1, Gsteig 3785, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Gsteig
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Gsteig
Price Range: $124 - $168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Restaurant Baren reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing