We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Friends of the National Parks Foundation Volunteer & Conservation Center in Bali
Nearby Hotels
Coco Resort Penida(Nusa Penida)
$74
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ari La Casa(Nusa Penida)(Great Value!)
$18
$16
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$45
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$43
Agoda.com
View Deal
$16
$15
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Nusa Garden Homestay(Nusa Lembongan)
$18
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
Poh Manis Lembongan(Nusa Lembongan)(Great Value!)
$38
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Ocean Sunset Villas Ceningan(Nusa Lembongan)(Great Value!)
$32
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Semabu Hills Hotel(Nusa Penida)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Puri Sari Mangrove(Nusa Lembongan)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (63)
Filter reviews
63 results
Traveler rating
48
11
3
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
48
11
3
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsorganic gardena lot of funlocal communitybird sanctuarytree plantingexplore the islandbeautiful islandteaching englishbeach cleaningnew friendstropical paradisegardeningvolunteersstarlingsbirdseducationalschool
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
39 - 44 of 63 reviews
Reviewed September 10, 2012

i have just returned to Nusa Penida for the 5th time to be a volunteer at Friends of National parks Foundation. i return to help the locals and volunteers with re-forestation, organic gardening and rehabilitation of the bali starling. Originally the king of Klung Kung sent all the prisoners here and they were ordered to cut down every tree and drain every swamp, so the island was decimated, up until now. The entire island is powered by wind generators so the air is pristine with not to many cars and mainly scooters. there is a bemo taxi you can call. FNPF has a nursery that grows many species and these are offered for free to village banjar locals. the bali starling prized for it's putih (white) plumage was almost at extinction, up until now as Bayu, pak Mike, Nyngah, Wayan and many more carers and donators help this bird become rehabilitated in it's natural environment, you get to live in either a bamboo house, dorm or a private room all with mosquito nets, of course it only cold water showers but with perfect temperatures and weather who needs to warm up more.
Volunteers can work up to 4 hrs per day, but it isn't really work when you sing in the garden and pot up rainforest specie, knowing that they will bring fresh air, cooling temperatures and of course much wildlife back into nature, after that freedom in paradise is awaiting with snorkelling and diving along coral reefs and seaweed beds, take a guide as the currents are very strong, Tambiling forest is serene and is completed with male and female water holes. There are beautiful temples including Dalem Ped, the only temple in all Bali to house the 4 temples, it is a mecca for hindus due to this reason. Giri Putri is immuculate,a caved entrance into a giant cave with white limestone naga steps and many small meditation caves. many more things to see and do so i guess i,ll have to plan another trip.

Room Tip: front can be alittle noisy in the morning as the scooters go to the school at around 6 am, the dorm is clean with bunk beds, the bamboos house is very quiet and peaceful
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank sandranilsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 9, 2013

Thanks for your lovely review of our volunteering center. We agree Nusa Penida is indeed a paradise. We hope that you can one day get back to volunteer with us again. Terima kasih.
Sincerely,
Dr Bayu Wirayudha
FNPF CEO and Founder

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2012

I was volunteering for a little bit over 3 weeks and I loved every bit of it. This island is unique with it's nature, peacefulness and people. FNPF is doing great work on the island and the staff and Nusa Penida people are big part why I felt welcome from the beginning. This island has a special spirit, unspoiled feeling which I hope will never be spoiled. If you want something else than touristy beaches and constant noise, this is the place to visit. Just don't spoil it!

Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
1  Thank siltsi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fnpf, CEO and Founder at Friends of the National Parks Foundation Volunteer & Conservation Center in Bali, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2013

Thanks for your review, we are glad to hear you had a great time.

Thank you also for your kind words about our staff on Nusa Penida and our important conservation work – there is a lot to be done out there to protect Indonesia’s wildlife, its habitat and to help local communities. Terima kasih.

Sincerely,

Dr Bayu Wirayudha

FNPF CEO and Founder

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2012

We volunteered as a family (kids 6 and 2) for a week - FNPF works closely with the communities on Nusa Penida and it was a unique way for us to give back to Bali.
We did some gardening in the morning and swimming/snorkeling/playing on the beach in the afternoon. It was a fun learning experience for us all - my kids did not want to leave and became good friends with the local children.

Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
2  Thank LuH0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2012

This place is magic. It's a miracle that near such a tourist infested place like Bali, there is something that is still unspoiled. We took the scooter that we rented from Kuta to here with the ferry. I must say this was the best idea so far. You can really explore the island more freely this way. Ant there is a lot to explore.

I recommend visiting this place when in Nusa Penida. Enjoy

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank merivee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2012

We booked a week here at the start of our 6 week holiday in Bali and then went to the mainland for the next 5 weeks but only lasted 4 weeks as our kids were begging us to go back for our last week as they loved the Penida experience so much (we gave in to them pretty quickly as it is a great way to escape the constant pressure of buy buy buy on the mainland).
The last review I feel was a bit harsh and displayed a lack of understanding of the local culture.
The great thing about this place is that you can do as much work as you feel like or not. If the previous reviewers had any problems with amenities they should of done something about it instead of leaving it and then complaining.
MIke is a wonderful, generous, welcoming man who made us feel completely at home and was nearly always up in the mornings before us and I ventured out of bed usually around 7am. We did some sweeping, collecting manure, attending to compost heaps, digging veggie patches, observing the birds and a lot of chilling out reading books, playing cards, meeting other wonderful people, lazing in hammocks, eating great cheap food at the warung across the road, attending numerous local ceremonies and festivals, snorkeling and day trips exploring the island.
The kids had some real interaction with the local children via- reading with them, dancing, playing soccer, learning songs, and many other things.
If you want a very different holiday experience were what you put in to it is what you get out of it, instead of a prepackaged holiday experience were everything is handed to you on a plate, then this is the place for you as we will definitely be going back there again
If your a family and wondering my children are aged 9(girl) and 12(boy).

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews