We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of The Best Restaurants In the World!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Zaranda

Zaranda
Carretera Andratx Km-7 /C. Catala 1.7, 07181 Es Capdella, Calvia, Majorca, Spain
971-138 620
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: The restaurant is situauted in Castell Son Claret and has a former michelin star chef who has just moved there
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“One of The Best Restaurants In the World!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

Tucked away in a luxurious and expensive resort in the middle of nowhere, Zaranda is miraculous. Three star Michelin attention to detail, and superb and imaginative cooking. It's Mallorca, so of course the emphasis is on local fish and produce. But the intelligent combinations of flavours and textures are genius, on a par with Daniel Boulud and Keller in their best moments. The food is fresh, and sometimes exquisitely simple and at other times, very complicated-- not dishes you could possibly cook at home. The wine advice was brilliant, and each of three bottles for our group inexpensive and wonderful. Local chef/owner Fernando Perez Alellano is there, and does not charge much for food of this quality. Bravo! Bravo!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank clayton r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    80
    11
    11
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Breathtaking location, fabulous food and wine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

I took my husband for dinner to celebrate his birthday. In my opinion it is an absolute "must visit" location and restaurant and probably one of the most memorable meals we have ever had in our 4 years of marriage.

Starting with the venue, lovingly restored as recently as April this year, Castel Son Claret is breathtaking! A beautiful tree lined drive takes you to some incredible gardens and a brilliantly renovated Spanish style farm/castle.

We took a drink in the Olivera restaurant, overlooking the infinity pool and orchards, complete with sheep wearing bells. I had a Castell 75 - champagne, citron and Hendricks gin cocktail which was ridiculously tasty!

We took dinner in the Zaranda restaurant in the courtyard. Beautifully decorated tables, fabulous service from all the staff with special mention to the maitre d for being so welcoming, a cracking sommelier and our waiter.

The food was delicious. We went for the shorter tasting menu with matched wines and we thought it was excellent value. The Mallorcean pork amuse bouche, lobster bisque, pigeon breast and re worked Black Forest gateau were particularly good courses. The matched wines presented were excellent, when there is only 2 of you it is so nice to still be able to match your wines to your courses without having to buy 3 or 4 separate bottles (not to mention how drunk you would be)! A Spanish cava, 2 whites, a sensational rose and beautiful dessert wine really complimented the meal.

All in all a first class experience!! We will definitely be back.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CFTG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good restaurant, but not Michelin standard”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

We opted for the shorter of the two tasting menus. The chef focused on local traditions and ingredients which we liked. All the dishes were tasty and good, but nothing extraordinary. The waitors were in general quite slow and seemed to be very focused on one table (not ours) instead of giving all the guests equal attention. Small things which you expect at a Michelin restaurant lacked. We had to wait a long time to put in our wine order, then waiting a long time to actually get the wine. We werent too impressed with the skills of the sommelier. We've been to a few Michelin restaurants, but Zardana does unfortunately not live up it's star. It's certainly a place to visit if you just want a nice meal with nice ambiance (inside the hotell Castell son Claret. It has moved from it's previous location).

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Iselin Hebbert L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vastra Gotaland County, Sweden
Level Contributor
64 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Poor manners by the maitre. Destroyed the whole experience”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012 via mobile

I was there in sept for my girlfriends birthday. I had made a reservation 6 weeks before and I had gotten the confirmation through sms.

When arriving, it took us probsbly 1hour with taxi. The maitre(short haired women 40-60)
She looks at me like im an alien when i say i have a reservation. She says We dont have it but you can sit here becouse we have 1 cancelation. I show here my confirmation. But she didnt care.

Then we choose the large menu . They try to rush it so hard that we. Fellt stressed and uncomfortsble. We had all our snacks together with tje first amuse. A joke. This was not even late. 2100 we had the booking. But we were the last table.

The sommeliere from argentina was very good!
The chef de rang made strange noises from his throught the whole night.

Food was great but service ruin. Our experience. I was emberassed that this dinner was my birthday present for my girlfriend.

To bad for the kitchenstaff aswell. This behavoiur in the diningroom will surely make you lose tje michelinstar

    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
6 Thank Mrboudin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Limited Menu”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

We selected the Michelin * restaurant as we were staying close by and love fine dining.
When the highlight of the evening was architecture, it tells you enough about the meal.

The menu was a very limited and the service deteriorated during the evening.
This then made the experience seem expensive.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Colin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zaranda also viewed

Es Capdella, Calvia
Es Capdella, Calvia
 
Costa d'en Blanes, Majorca
 

Been to Zaranda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing