We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Limited Menu” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Zaranda

Zaranda
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: The restaurant is situauted in Castell Son Claret and has a former michelin star chef who has just moved there
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Limited Menu”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

We selected the Michelin * restaurant as we were staying close by and love fine dining.
When the highlight of the evening was architecture, it tells you enough about the meal.

The menu was a very limited and the service deteriorated during the evening.
This then made the experience seem expensive.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Colin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    89
    13
    12
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“What a Surprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

I was apprehensive when I discovered this Restaurant was attached to the Hilton Hotel but the food was superb and a lovely location. Watch the local wine which is bit expensive compared to other quality Spanish Wines. The hotel is worth visit just to view, my party were speechless at its fabulous layout.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mike H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

Initially concerned with "attached to Hilton Hotel" but so wrong. Hotel is converted old manor house with Zaranda restaurant to one side of magnificent cobbled courtyard with tables both inside & outside. Superb team led by delightful owner with partner Chef, escapees from Madrid to this idyllic location. Amuse bouche of red mullet - smoked - opened our eyes to proceed through the Menu Zaranda, some dishes just outstanding - black poached egg - amazing, glazed confit of Ox-tongue - scrumptious. Surpassed a 3* in Italy & even our favourite 1* in Scotland - sorry but true! Wished we had selected our own wine as not overly impressed with their selection of wines. Not cheap but excellent value for this quality of food. Well deserved Michelin* worthy of more.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank nbsusie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amstelveen, Noord-Holland, Netherlands
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great local foods”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

Service and cuisine deserving of the Michelen star. Sommelier was very attentive and entire staff was great.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Aaron N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Give this man a(nother) star!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

Zaranda took a brave step a couple of years ago moving from Madrid to Mallorca, but what a wonderful decision to open in this fabulous new setting. The restaurant is in the beautiful 14th century courtyard of the Hilton Hotel in Llucmayor.

We ordered the top tasting menu and selected one of our favourite Spanish wines (from Mallorca,) - the amazing Miguel Gelabert "Sa Vall Private Selection"

Almost lost for words, I can truly put this meal into the top 3 of my life, (which includes the 3 star Michelin - El Bulli.) Every aspect - the setting, the service, the sommelier, and of course the food was superb. I could go into the intricacies of the extremely long menu, (in fact, so long, that we couldn't manage the cheese board and one of the fabulous desserts!,) but you must try it for yourselves. Perfection.

The chef and owner, Fernando Perez Arrellano and his charming "maitre d'" wife, thoroughly deserve another Michelin star next year.

One very slight niggle, which is down to the hotel, not the restaurant, is that guests with suitcases trundle through the courtyard from time to time slightly spoiling the peace. But, it certainly doesn't detract from the excellence of the meal.

The price is absolutely correct for this level of restaurant, and even seems good value in comparison to some other Michelin recommended restaurants who most certainly do not deserve their star, (see my recent review on Skina - Marbella!)

Go and enjoy.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank TheProductionHouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zaranda also viewed

Palma de Mallorca, Majorca
Es Capdella, Calvia
 
Es Capdella, Calvia
Costa d'en Blanes, Majorca
 

Been to Zaranda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing