We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Give this man a(nother) star!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Zaranda

Zaranda
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: The restaurant is situauted in Castell Son Claret and has a former michelin star chef who has just moved there
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Give this man a(nother) star!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

Zaranda took a brave step a couple of years ago moving from Madrid to Mallorca, but what a wonderful decision to open in this fabulous new setting. The restaurant is in the beautiful 14th century courtyard of the Hilton Hotel in Llucmayor.

We ordered the top tasting menu and selected one of our favourite Spanish wines (from Mallorca,) - the amazing Miguel Gelabert "Sa Vall Private Selection"

Almost lost for words, I can truly put this meal into the top 3 of my life, (which includes the 3 star Michelin - El Bulli.) Every aspect - the setting, the service, the sommelier, and of course the food was superb. I could go into the intricacies of the extremely long menu, (in fact, so long, that we couldn't manage the cheese board and one of the fabulous desserts!,) but you must try it for yourselves. Perfection.

The chef and owner, Fernando Perez Arrellano and his charming "maitre d'" wife, thoroughly deserve another Michelin star next year.

One very slight niggle, which is down to the hotel, not the restaurant, is that guests with suitcases trundle through the courtyard from time to time slightly spoiling the peace. But, it certainly doesn't detract from the excellence of the meal.

The price is absolutely correct for this level of restaurant, and even seems good value in comparison to some other Michelin recommended restaurants who most certainly do not deserve their star, (see my recent review on Skina - Marbella!)

Go and enjoy.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank TheProductionHouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    89
    13
    12
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
43 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“A delight”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

On a hot summer's evening, what a lovely place to eat. Our Table d'hote menu (78 euros) came with several amuse bouches, the food was excellent and copious, the setting superb, and at a total cost of just under 200 euros for two, with wine and coffee, very good value for money. Highly recommended.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Pilotjohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bucks,england
Level Contributor
178 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
“deserves it's Michelin star”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

We stayed for a night at the Hilton sa Torre so that we could eat at Zaranda.The tables are situated in the lovely courtyard of the old building and this beautiful setting is a perfect one for this exceptional gastronomic experience. We had the "menu Zaranda" with the wine flight; the total per person E125.The staff are extremely attentive and explain everything about each of the courses. The food is superbly presented and every course - from the several tapas to the pudiings, were a joy to savour. For a special occasion, this is a wonderful place to eat.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank blondieBucks_england
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Pricey but well worth it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

Amazing food to tickle your taste buds and to fill you up. Great chef and fully deserving of a Michelin Star!!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Vasculardoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Exceptional”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

This is an exceptional restaurant. initially I was a little surprised by some of the combinations listed on the menu but I have to say everything we had really was a perfect. A previous review metioned that the chef thought he was better than he actually was. For me this was one of the best meals ever and shall remember it for some time, this chef is seriously talented. The final bill whilst not cheap was worth evey penny. I've eaten at almost every top class restaurant on the island and this has to be number 1. If you enjoy serious food then make the trip its worth it

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ukreview9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zaranda also viewed

Palma de Mallorca, Majorca
Es Capdella, Calvia
 
Es Capdella, Calvia
Costa d'en Blanes, Majorca
 

Been to Zaranda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing