We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable stay for friends wedding.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Spa Villa del Mare
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Acquafredda
Reviewed August 31, 2013

We stayed here for 6 nights for an English wedding. Beautiful setting on the coast looking out to sea. Rooms (we had a sea view ) was very spacious with air conditioning, balcony and stunning views. Bathroom a little dated with only head holding shower attachment over the jacuzzi bath and no shower curtain. Pool lovely and a private beach below. Beach sunbeds an extra charge which at euro16 per day we found very expensive! Staff friendly. No lunch available other than basic sacks at beach snack bar but not an issue. Make sure you have insect repellent as the biters are mighty and many in our group had spectacular reactions to bites! Jelly sea shoes a must if you want to take a dip as stoney beach a real challenge on the feet! Overall a lovely hotel in a beautiful rustic spot in Italy.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank Cousinaliba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (306)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

6 - 12 of 306 reviews

Reviewed November 5, 2012

My friend and I were doing a southern Italy coast line trip. No agenda or hotels planned. We definitley wanted to see Maratea and the large Jesus statute. The small town of Maratea was my favorite place in Italy. The coast rivals Amalfi and I like Maratea better than Positano.

Now for the hotel. We showed up late and dusty from a long ride from Sicily. This hotel was perfect. It was in mid Oct and was a little slow. We got treated with great respect from staff and the rooms were awesome. Overlooking the water and beach. Pool was nice and I don't know why others complained about train, both my friend and myself loved it. Great place to stay. Convenient to super market and the quaint little town of Maratea. We ran out of time but I believe this would be great place to explore Pollino National Park then come back and hit the beach, pool or spa. We saw the spa and the staff was really friendly and the facilities were nice. We could not have been treated better by staff and management. My friend spent some time with the owner and was quite impressed. I am hotel snob and would stay here in a second. Did not eat any food. We went to town for that. You can get rooms that open up and drop in pool or ones with views from bay. Cool hotel.

Room Tip: Depending on time of year you can stay walk out to pool or room with view to sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PurdueMIke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2012

We stayed here for 5 days at the beginning of September for a short holiday and had a wonderful time. The cliff edge location is truly stunning, overlooking a beautiful turquoise bay with a small private beach (snack bar parasols, beds etc.) the beach is reached by steps or lift.
Our room was tastefully furnished and comfortable, the hotel facilities are good and the heated seawater spa is something not to be missed. We treated ourselves to a massage and wow, what an exquisitely relaxing experience.
The hotel staffs were friendly, could speak English and were very welcoming; we are intending to return for another stay.

Room Tip: Looking up from the beach they all seemed to have balconies with wonderful views. Our end of the hot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 601Jabes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2011

This hotel was a distaster. I think it has not been renovated since it was opened - I had ants and mould on the walls in my room! Furniture were old and stinking, so I was keeping all my clothes in my luggage. Staff was rude, lazy and they did not speak english. Cleaning service was poor - they did not clean well and when I came, I discovered that one of the shower gel bottles contained water - so actually it could contain everything even something harmful and cleaning staff should have checked if the bottel was opened or not. I was there for a business trip, so we were 60 people only and busy for most of the day, but I cannot imagine hotel full of families with children as there is only small outdoor swimming pool and small, not nice beach. They do not have a luggage service, and there is no lift, so I had to carry my luggage alone in this "luxurious" hotel. Also restaurant is very poor, food looks cheap and is not tasty - again, service is horrible.
About their buiseness/conference facilities: air conditioning in conference room is so loud that it is hard to hear the speaker, and usually when the air-condidioning was working, the microfon did not (sometimes also all electronic devices, so we had to sit in hot room, to continue...)

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Me137
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2011

First of all, this is my first review for tripadvisor. I feel the need to write so I can save someone else the trouble I went through here. I was here for a business trip together with 70 other colleagues for an international meeting. The rooms have not been renovated for decades, there are ants and mosquitoes everywhere, the breakfast buffet is the poorest I have seen in years of travelling and this hotel is definitely NOT a 4-star - you are told to carry your own luggage to your bedroom!
But the worse came when my wallet was stolen from my bedroom (which I duly locked every single time, even when I was inside). The lack of cooperation from the manager included trying to cover up the incident (completely insensitive to the fact that I was left with no money, no credit/debit cards, lost my ID and driver's license, all this only 2 days before having to return home), initially refusing to send a staff member with me to the local police so I could report the missing documents and in the end charging me the taxi that took me there (which I had to ask a colleague to pay for me)!! And I thought I was being considerate when reporting it as "missing" rather than as "theft" to the police... one of the lousiest pieces of hotel management you'll ever see.
I am SURE that you can find a better place to stay than this. Save yourself the trouble - the only good things here are a hotel that has an access to the beach and a swimming pool (a single one, mind you) plus three or four friendly staff members, and that's most certainly not worth what I have described above. 4 stars??? You must be out of your mind.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank travelling s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2010

If you want to pay 120 euro for a good view (with a very loud train passing every 20 minutes included), go ahead. This is hotel that should be closed right away. Auwful rooms, everything looks old, outdates, from past times. The breakfast is zero! They should be ashamed to serve this to people and claim they are a four star hotel. You have to schlep your own luggage down and up many stairs...The isolation is terribe so you can hear everything what is happening next door or below or on top of you. Try to find another hotel in Maratea or even better a small B&B with good service and fresh and new interior and motivation! This hotel just wants to cash in without doing any necessary investment. Lost glory!

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank reisduive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2009

Hotel overdue renovation. The rooms are no fun to be. But very friendly staff and beautiful beach. (See photos).

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Acquafredda
4.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Pianeta Maratea Resort
8.1 mi away
Hotel Ristorante Borgo La Tana
3 mi away
Santavenere Hotel
Santavenere Hotel
#7 of 15 in Maratea
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Romantic Hotel & Restaurant Villa Cheta Elite
2.1 mi away
Hotel Villa delle Meraviglie
3.6 mi away
La Locanda delle Donne Monache
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Spa Villa del Mare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Spa Villa del Mare

Address: Via Nazionale, 85041 Acquafredda, Maratea, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Basilicata > Province of Potenza > Maratea > Acquafredda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Acquafredda
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Spa Villa del Mare 4*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Il Romantico Hotel Spa Villa del Mare sorge in posizione strategica lungo la splendida Costa di Maratea, vera oasi d’incanto tra la montagna ed il mare, dominata dalla magica imponenza del Monte San Biagio e l’imponente statua del Cristo Redentore, alta 22 mt. Un luogo da sogno, ideale per indimenticabili soggiorni turistici o di lavoro. Per i matrimoni Maratea offre poi una scenografia unica nel suo genere, che renderà ancora più prezioso il giorno più importante della vostra vita. Costruito fra ulivi e carrubi su un costone roccioso, l’Hotel è il luogo ideale per chi è alla ricerca di una vacanza all’insegna del relax. E’ dotato di una splendida Spa – Talasso, spiaggia privata servita parzialmente da ascensore, piscina, parcheggio, sala meeting attrezzata per incontri scientifici e congressi, salette riunioni, sala stampa, sala TV, ampi terrazzi elioterapici sul mare, due ristoranti, servizio bar direttamente in spiaggia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Spa Villa del Mare reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Del Mare
Del Mare Hotel
Hotel Spa Villa Del Mare Maratea, Italy - Acquafredda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing