We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Horrible experience (including theft)” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Spa Villa del Mare

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Hotel Spa Villa del Mare
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Acquafredda
Essen, Germany
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Horrible experience (including theft)”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2011

First of all, this is my first review for tripadvisor. I feel the need to write so I can save someone else the trouble I went through here. I was here for a business trip together with 70 other colleagues for an international meeting. The rooms have not been renovated for decades, there are ants and mosquitoes everywhere, the breakfast buffet is the poorest I have seen in years of travelling and this hotel is definitely NOT a 4-star - you are told to carry your own luggage to your bedroom!
But the worse came when my wallet was stolen from my bedroom (which I duly locked every single time, even when I was inside). The lack of cooperation from the manager included trying to cover up the incident (completely insensitive to the fact that I was left with no money, no credit/debit cards, lost my ID and driver's license, all this only 2 days before having to return home), initially refusing to send a staff member with me to the local police so I could report the missing documents and in the end charging me the taxi that took me there (which I had to ask a colleague to pay for me)!! And I thought I was being considerate when reporting it as "missing" rather than as "theft" to the police... one of the lousiest pieces of hotel management you'll ever see.
I am SURE that you can find a better place to stay than this. Save yourself the trouble - the only good things here are a hotel that has an access to the beach and a swimming pool (a single one, mind you) plus three or four friendly staff members, and that's most certainly not worth what I have described above. 4 stars??? You must be out of your mind.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank travelling s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    74
    43
    31
    30
See reviews for
55
115
6
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2010

If you want to pay 120 euro for a good view (with a very loud train passing every 20 minutes included), go ahead. This is hotel that should be closed right away. Auwful rooms, everything looks old, outdates, from past times. The breakfast is zero! They should be ashamed to serve this to people and claim they are a four star hotel. You have to schlep your own luggage down and up many stairs...The isolation is terribe so you can hear everything what is happening next door or below or on top of you. Try to find another hotel in Maratea or even better a small B&B with good service and fresh and new interior and motivation! This hotel just wants to cash in without doing any necessary investment. Lost glory!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank reisduive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Acquafredda hotels

Moscow
Level Contributor
113 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 245 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2009

Hotel overdue renovation. The rooms are no fun to be. But very friendly staff and beautiful beach. (See photos).

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Aion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2008

Ants everywhere
Extremely expensive for very low quality services
Air conditioning not working

  • Liked — nothings
  • Disliked — ants in the bed
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank naukach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Acquafredda
0.6 mi away
Hotel Il Gabbiano
Hotel Il Gabbiano
#2 of 4 in Acquafredda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 303 reviews
8.1 mi away
Hotel Ristorante Borgo La Tana
0.2 mi away
Hotel Club San Diego
Hotel Club San Diego
#3 of 4 in Acquafredda
3.5 of 5 bubbles 423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Pianeta Maratea Resort
0.0 mi away
Romantic Hotel & Restaurant Villa Cheta Elite
3.0 mi away
Santavenere Hotel
Santavenere Hotel
#10 of 16 in Maratea
4.5 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Spa Villa del Mare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Spa Villa del Mare

Property: Hotel Spa Villa del Mare
Address: Via Nazionale, 85041 Acquafredda, Maratea, Italy
Location: Italy > Basilicata > Province of Potenza > Maratea > Acquafredda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Acquafredda
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Spa Villa del Mare 4*
Number of rooms: 73
Also Known As:
Hotel Del Mare
Del Mare Hotel
Hotel Spa Villa Del Mare Maratea, Italy - Acquafredda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing