We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A hotel to dream of”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Romantic Hotel & Restaurant Villa Cheta Elite
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Acquafredda
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A hotel to dream of”
Reviewed July 29, 2014

We have stayed at this hotel around 6 times and the marvellous thing is that it just gets better and better. The setting is of course magnificent, with mountains around and the sea before you. The hotel building is elegant, a Liberty building with discreet additions that maintain the character of the original building.The service is attentive discreet unobtrusive. Reception can answer and queries and is ready with good advice about the local area. This year we felt the food, always very good, had moved into the excellent category. The outdoor dining is perfect and is truly romantic, on a terrace to the side of the hotel, with views of seascape, twilight, sunset and moonlight. The choice is limited but we never had any difficulty finding what we liked. There is no pool but the nearby beach, accessible by lift from the hotel above the beach if you purchase a voucher from reception is in a charming bay, but even better to take a 20 minute trip to La Secca, a beautifully appointed beach and picnic complex.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank john w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

594 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    502
    75
    12
    4
    1
See reviews for
130
370
9
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Norfolk
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2014

We have just returned once again from a superb stay at Villa Cheta and once again absolutely everything was spot on. Everyone at the hotel are extra special and work very hard to make your stay a memorable one. The hotel itself is spotlessly clean, the food is exceedingly good and the staff are very friendly and helpful. Another lovely touch were the in-room toiletries which Stefainia has developed - which were so lovely that we didn't want to use our own. We visit Villa Cheta every year and always repeat the same views, as there is really nothing at all to complain or be negative about. Looking forward to our next visit in September.

Room Tip: From our pevious visits to Villa Cheta I would suggest that any room is good to stay in
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lolaNorfolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northport, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2014

Beautiful villa overlooking lush gardens and the sea. Rooms are elegantly appointed with embroidered linen and antique furniture. Cuisine was best of entire 20 day trip! They offer a 4-course prix-fixe dinner (half board) that is outrageous! Appetizer, pasta, entree, desert. It was actually too much for us, and we discovered we could have opted for a two course meal- but didn't want to miss any of the fabulous dishes.
Parking is tight, but the owner greets you as you pull up and offers to park for you. No hotel in Italy had window screens, so opening the windows at night was not an option with the mosquitoes. But the A/C worked great.
It was the most relaxing stay of our trip, We were well rested, well fed, and near enough to local sights. Highly recommend!

Room Tip: Rooms on second floor facing patio, gardens and sea are spectacular!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 007travelr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Potenza, Italy
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2014

Absolutely EXCELLENT!! I am from Potenza (140 Km away from Maratea) and usually spend my summer vacations nearby in my family private house. Nevertheless, in order to organize a working meeting, I planned to host my guests (1/3 foreigners) to a hotel which could offer the proper atmosphere and feeling you could get in Maratea. I was convinced by some friends that Villa Cheta Elite would have been suitable for this. After the 3 days staying I can state that it is a PERFECT place for having a rest and appreciate the beauty of Maratea’s coast. The rooms are spotless and very comfortable and the accommodation is positive on every aspect. The common internal and external spaces are very well preserved and kept, they are cosy and express an old-fashioned elegant style which is in perfect balance with the Villa and the typical Maratea’s coast buildings. Considering this you’ll really appreciate the towels with laces, pieces of furniture and old paintings hang up on the internal white walls of the Villa. Some rooms have astonishing view of the coast, but anyway you can enjoy it from either the solarium or common terraces too. Talking about food, it was top-class!!! We had three dinners and in all circumstances the taste was delicious and dishes were beautifully served. The wine selection, is a little bit expensive. I would suggest the "house" wine which is of good quality. The staff can speak English, they are what you can get from a 5-star hotel – stating they are polite and professional could actually depreciate their high value. The car park is a little bit small, nevertheless we have never had problems although we got there by estate cars. The only complain that could be moved is related to the beach that is just underneath the hotel but it is not owned by Villa Cheta Elite itself. To reach the beach, you need to use very uncomfortable stairs which make to regret the choice on the way back because they can be too steep . I strongly suggest to reach the Villa by a small or medium car and get somewhere else to the beach, such as Spiaggia Nera, Cersuta, Macarro or, if the sea is too waved, to La Secca. The last one is 20 km away and the trip there would only take 20 minute costing 18-15 Euros for an umbrella and two sunbeds plus 8 Euros for parking. If you enjoy the Acquafredda beach you can get there by the hotel shuttle and costs are 15 Euros for an umbrella and two sunbeds. Suggested to everyone ideal for middle age couples.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Antonio S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davis, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2014

AMAZING hotel, as beautiful as the photos suggest. Do not hesitate to book here. The building itself is just beautiful, spotless, and dripping with history and art in every corner; the extensive manicured grounds look like they are right out of a travel magazine; the beds are heavenly with gorgeous linens; and the view is unbelievable, especially from the dinner patio. Despite the evening mosquitos, dinners on the patio were the highlight of every day; we have enough food porn photos to make us drool in retrospect all year. But the very best part of our trip was the staff, who are as attentive as I could ever hope for. When we left, I felt like we were personal friends with everyone there. They went far out of their way to accommodate every wish, to the point of over-the-top...for instance, when I was a little disappointed that spaghetti with clams had run out for dinner, Angela was back 5 minutes later with the news that the chef had found a few extra clams to make one more plate of spaghetti just for me. When we asked for a cab to get to the train station early the next the morning, the manager offered the hotel shuttle (and bellman Nicola) to take us to the next town so we could avoid lugging our suitcases on and off the regional train, complimentary of course, and they made sure we had cappuccinos and breakfast too. (We traveled by train and it worked pretty well. Our only mistake was booking to the Maratea train station: the Acquafredda station is closest, followed by Sapri.) I cannot say enough about the gracious and professional service that everyone working at the hotel was happy to provide for us. Fantastic job, folks...I wish all hotels were run like yours!

Room Tip: We had two sea-view rooms at the end of a hall; they were both wonderful (35 and 36)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DancesWchickens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sussex
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2014

Once again we have returned to Villa Cheta for what is becoming our annual 'time to chill out'. We have been visiting this hotel frequently over the last fourteen years and once again it justifies why we keep going back.
The ambience is one of pure restfulness and attentive, but discreet staff, always willing to help and ensure that your time there is enjoyable. As always to food is an essential part of the experience and never disappoints.
We have written about Villa Cheta over the years and are at risk of repeating ourselves, but what we would say is that if you are visiting Italy even if only once, make this the last place you stay and you will always remember Italy and Villa Cheta with affection.

Room Tip: All the rooms are good, but the best have a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank keirae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 18, 2014

just back miss it already fantastic place staff are the best I have experienced in many a year
cannot praise this place enough
the gardens are superb as is the rest of the hotel
read the rest of the reviews and believe every word they say
this hotel gives the type of service and attention that people expected in the twentys and thirties
but is sadly missing today totally superb

Room Tip: just go any room will please
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jim m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Acquafredda
8.1 mi away
Hotel Ristorante Borgo La Tana
3.7 mi away
La Locanda delle Donne Monache
4.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Pianeta Maratea Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Il Gabbiano
Hotel Il Gabbiano
#2 of 4 in Acquafredda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Villa delle Meraviglie
3.0 mi away
Santavenere Hotel
Santavenere Hotel
#9 of 16 in Maratea
4.5 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Romantic Hotel & Restaurant Villa Cheta Elite? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Romantic Hotel & Restaurant Villa Cheta Elite

Property: Romantic Hotel & Restaurant Villa Cheta Elite
Address: Via Canonica 48, 85046 Acquafredda, Maratea, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Basilicata > Province of Potenza > Maratea > Acquafredda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Acquafredda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Romantic Hotel & Restaurant Villa Cheta Elite 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Romantic Hotel & Restaurant Villa Cheta Elite reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Romantik Hotel And Restaurant Villa Cheta Elite
Hotel Cheta Elite
Cheta Elite Hotel
Romantic Hotel & Restaurant Villa Cheta Elite Maratea, Italy - Acquafredda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing