We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice retreat”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Romantic Hotel & Restaurant Villa Cheta Elite
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Acquafredda
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 28, 2012

We stayed here for a few days on our honeymoon and overall had a lovely experience. The hotel is clean, the staff is incredibly friendly and helpful, and the views are very pretty. The rooms are clean and tastefully decorated. Note: in off-season (starting in early October), the place is empty - there were maybe 4 or 5 guests there the entire duration of our stay. The beach is right across the street and, although, a bit of a hike down, is nice. Note: bring the bug spray, though, because teensy tiny sand fleas are everywhere on the beach and will bite! The restaurant is just so-so; excellent wait staff, but the food is just ok and is overpriced. There is chess in the lobby, which is a nice touch if you're waiting for all the area restaurants to open (8pm-ish). Maratea is about a 10-15 minute drive and is nice (but again, almost completely dead in early October!).

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MPC1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (624)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

88 - 94 of 624 reviews

Reviewed October 12, 2012

We spent 4 nights in late September at the Villa Cheta and had a nice stay there despite an abundance of wasps.
Having breakfast and dinner on the terrace was extremely pleasant. The service is friendly and efficient, the food was good with only one dinner choice which was disappointing.
We took full advantage of the sun loungers on the solarium terrace as they were the only comfortable furniture in the public spaces. Some easy chairs in the garden or on some of the many terraces would be an improvement to be able to read or relax in comfort.
Overall, we found this hotel to be a good traditional Italian hotel.
A word of caution if you are paying by credit card : we were charged in pound sterling rather than euros despite our protest and this cost us over £20.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ettemar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2012

Let's start with the positives: the good news for Trip Advisor fans is that the surcharge for an extra breakfast coffee and the prohibition for storing items not purchased from the hotel in the room mini bar (criticised by previous Trippers) are things of the past. Further good news is that the hotel site inspires poetry; the hotel building, decor and furnishings (in classical Italianate style) justify the romantic epithet in the hotel's name and the staff are both efficient and friendly. The restaurant also offers a choice of dishes, freshly prepared, if unspectacular. What then is the problem? This is ostensibly a four star hotel with, however, neither pool nor sun-lounging area (there's a substitute shared pebble beach across the main road and some100 metres down a steep incline). Additionally, there's neither wellness nor other leisure facilities that are today commonly standard in this category of seaside hotel (and indeed available in neighbouring Acquafredda and Maratea properties). For the money (194 € for a double room with sea view, non-high season) we would also have expected, at a minimum, a complementary bowl of fruit and/or mineral water in the room and, ideally, something special rather than the saucer of tired sweets provided. We also paid 15 € per night for our dog with the request from the hotel management on arrival that he remain practically inaudible and invisible during our stay. There is, though,a hopeful postscript: we understand that this winter's extensive hotel renovation plans include construction of an outside 15m x 8m swimming pool offering the opportunity to correct the current pricing.Viator Coloniae

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Viatorcoloniae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cinnano, Proprietario at Romantic Hotel & Restaurant Villa Cheta Elite, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2013
Google Translation

Gentile Signore,
pensiamo che la sua sia una piccola vendetta personale perché le abbiamo chiesto più volte cortesemente di non far scorrazzare liberamente il cane in hotel e soprattutto al ristorante ( come le era già stato comunicato al momento della prenotazione ).
Una domanda: visto che siamo così cari e senza servizi perché non è andato nella struttura ad Acquafredda direttamente sul mare e con il centro benessere, ma ha scelto di rimanere qui da noi?
Non sappiamo inoltre da chi abbia avuto l'informazione così dettagliata della costruzione della
piscina, notizia ovviamente sbagliata perché non fornita direttamente dalla proprietà.
Ne deduciamo quindi che tutto quello che dice è da prendere con il beneficio del dubbio.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2012

A place were the past doesn´t pass.
been back to Villa Cheta is like getting back to Neverland, how else can you describe a Fairy place magically situated between a rocky south italian montain and a cristal blue and pacefull sea??? Villa cheta is the answer, and the greenish of the garden surrounding the Villa all over around makes you really a main actor in a majestic place.
the reception team fully ready and open for any request and wish to be satisfied, smiling, but with a good and genuine smile, not pretencious at all!!!
the room was a little piece of sky next to the moon, every little detail was taken into cosideration, I loved the small bath basket full of shower gel and body cream!!
The food is a firm and solid part of the experience, especially if delighted enjoyed on the terrace with a priceless moonlight illumnation.
At the time of leaving we were already planning a time to come back, you can easily leave a little piece of hart to villa Cheta, and I personally think this place is like the Hotel california...you can check out any time you like but you can never leave!!!!

M.

Room Tip: Every room has a unique taste and do not forget to enjoy a sparkling drink at the terrace during the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mariomaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2012

Nice hotel, excellent food but on a very busy road. The beach (200) steps below is very small with an outflow pipe. All very claustrophobic. A pool at the hotel would improve the experience if you are staying for more than a few days. You need to drive to get to a decent beach and the driving is seriously scary. A lovely hotel for a couple of nights.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rosymcc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2012

A beautiful boutique hotel in a dreamy village. The staff were great and the setting beautiful. A bit of a steep walk down to a stoney beach, but the water was beautiful once you were in. Great food, and the gardens were exciting to explore.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tony R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2012

this is a b&b , not a hotel. We arrived at noon and there was nobody except the personal at the hotel. Everybody was very friendly and the "Hotel?" was very clean. Our room was really basic.
In the corner of our bathroom was just a curtain for the shower. No swimming pool because this makes too much noice. Not even nice lounge chairs to rest.
In the morning they allready asked us to reservate a table and then we had to order what we would like to eat in the evening. At the terrace of the restaurant they have a beautiful sea vieuw but the food is not good. Fish and meat are overcooked and very dry. Is it only the vieuw that makes it a 4 star hotel? After dinner people go to sleep because there is no nice place to sit and drink something.
We travel at lot and this is the first time in our life that we left a hotel to take another one.
We where very happy to find a fantastic hotel in Maratea .

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gerd d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cinnano, Proprietario at Romantic Hotel & Restaurant Villa Cheta Elite, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2013
Google Translation

Gent.mi Signori,
siete arrivati in hotel alle 13.00 in pieno Agosto e a quell'ora maggior parte dei nostri ospiti erano in spiaggia ( beati loro ! ).
Il fatto che non abbiate percepito che l'hotel fosse pieno per tutto il periodo è un bene, siamo riusciti nel nostro intento di offrire relax e privacy agli ospiti.
Non capiamo come mai se avete mangiato così male avete deciso di cenare anche la seconda sera ( preoccupandovi di prenotare il tavolo con largo anticipo in mattinata per godere della vista molto entusiasti ).
Avete chiacchierato tutte le sere, dopo cena, con altri ospiti seduti felicemente nel patio sorseggiando vini e digestivi.
Non è vero quindi che non ci sono posti dove stare, forse volevate la discoteca?
Vi ringraziamo comunque di essere andati via un giorno prima del previsto, ci avete dato la possibilità di occupare la vostra camera con persone molto carine che ci hanno apprezzato.
In ogni caso avete decisamente sbagliato albergo, la prossima volta sinceratevi che l'hotel abbia l'animazione per ballare la tarantella!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Acquafredda
3.7 mi away
La Locanda delle Donne Monache
8.1 mi away
Hotel Ristorante Borgo La Tana
3.0 mi away
Santavenere Hotel
Santavenere Hotel
#8 of 15 in Maratea
111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Hotel Villa delle Meraviglie
4.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Pianeta Maratea Resort
2.9 mi away
Hotel Murmann
Hotel Murmann
#9 of 15 in Maratea
407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Romantic Hotel & Restaurant Villa Cheta Elite? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Romantic Hotel & Restaurant Villa Cheta Elite

Address: Via Canonica 48, 85046 Acquafredda, Maratea, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Basilicata > Province of Potenza > Maratea > Acquafredda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Acquafredda
Price Range: $179 - $186 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Romantic Hotel & Restaurant Villa Cheta Elite 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Romantic Hotel & Restaurant Villa Cheta Elite reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Romantik Hotel And Restaurant Villa Cheta Elite
Hotel Cheta Elite
Cheta Elite Hotel
Romantic Hotel & Restaurant Villa Cheta Elite Maratea, Italy - Acquafredda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing