We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was alright, but not worth the price”

Hanson Bay Wildlife Sanctuary
Book In Advance
More Info
$218.26*
and up
Kangaroo Island in a Day Tour from Adelaide
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“It was alright, but not worth the price”
Reviewed October 9, 2013

My wife enjoyed this place as you see koalas in their natural habitat. I know they live high in the trees, and you do seem to get a sore neck trying to find them but it's not worth the entry fee. I think it was about $16 - $18 for the family (2 Adults and 2 kids) but what you get for that is a chance to walk up and down a 100m - 200m corridor looking for koalas in the gum trees. I heard it used to be a gold coin donation. i would say a fair price for a family is more around the $10.00 mark.

When we arrived we saw a wallaby a little way from the entry gate but before you enter to see the koalas. As you do, the kids rushed over to take photos, and the woman from the shop comes out and shouts.... "You enter this way!!!" Maybe she thought we were trying to see animals for free. They just seemed a little desperate for the $. I don't mind paying a fair price for attractions as everyone is in business to make money and I know the tourist industry is struggling, but she did seem a little desperate.

All in all, not a bad place to visit if you don't mind looking for blobs high up in the trees in their natural habitat, but to get a closer look I would suggest one of the wildlife parks.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Shane2108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

323 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    180
    101
    31
    8
    3
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“The Koala Walk is ok for kids.”
Reviewed October 6, 2013

Kids enjoyed playing spot the Koalas. International tourists would lap this up , but we thought the $18 fee to walk along a 100mt long gum tree avenue spotting koalas which were plentiful seemingly everywhere on the island , was a bit much.
Gold coin entry would be more appropriate.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tony W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great for the kids & bigger kids”
Reviewed October 5, 2013

Spent the first hour walking around looking at the koalas sleeping happily in the trees. Then after dark we went out for another walk. This time there was many more animals out and we even saw a little koala showing off in the tree next to its mother.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jeff P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
82 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Plenty of koalas”
Reviewed October 4, 2013

Well organized and operated visit. Meander along well formed pathways along corridors of trees or a little forest to view koalas in their natural habitat. Remember to look down for echidnas and kangaroos. We had a simple but delicious roll and coffee for lunch

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Margaret W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles, ca
Level Contributor
61 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“night tour a great way to see wildlife since most are nocturnal”
Reviewed September 28, 2013

An outstanding tour with a knowledgeable guide willing to try to answer all questions. With torches (flashlights) we were able to see many nocturnal native marsupials in an area protected from predators. We saw wallabies, and koalas, and and kangaroos who generally hide duing the day. It was worth every penny

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank robw17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hanson Bay Wildlife Sanctuary also viewed

Kangaroo Island, South Australia
 
Seal Bay, Kangaroo Island
 

Been to Hanson Bay Wildlife Sanctuary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing