We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't miss! - Simply Magic”

Hanson Bay Wildlife Sanctuary
Book In Advance
More Info
$227.89*
and up
Kangaroo Island in a Day Tour from Adelaide
More Info
$281.84*
and up
Kangaroo Island 4WD Full-Day Tour - Flinders Chase National Park
More Info
$301.97*
and up
Best of Kangaroo Island 4WD Full-Day Tour
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
London
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Don't miss! - Simply Magic”
Reviewed January 25, 2013

Wow - we saw 12 koalas including 2 babies in this beautiful location amongst an avenue of bluegums. A female koala got right out of her tree and walked in front of us! The Sanctuary is teeming with wallabies, roos and birds. The guide (blonde girl) was excellent, and the tour was exciting and interactive. We loved it. This tour will make you understand why we must protect the exquisite place that is Kangaroo Island.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Angel2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

327 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    183
    102
    31
    8
    3
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
27 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Just brilliant!”
Reviewed January 18, 2013

Desperate to see Koalas and Kangaroos in the wild, Hanson Bay Wildlife Sanctuary was suggested to us by a ranger at Flinders Chase. Even though it was the middle of the day, there were a few Kangaroos in the (unfenced) paddock, but the best was to come once we had paid just $6 each and made our way to the Koala areas. We had been told at the desk that if we failed to spot any Koalas, simply to return there and someone would take us to show us where they were - a sign on the entrance said that 20 had been spotted so far that day. We needn't have worried. The Koala Walks are two areas of naturally growing Eucalyptus trees, and the Koalas have simply chosen to frequent them. They were quite hard to spot at first, but the beauty of this place is that it not only allows you to see wild Koalas, it also provides the opportunity to learn where and what to look for. Having learnt this, we were then spoilt for choice, seeing Koalas wherever we turned, including mothers with youngsters. This really was a great experience, and was added to by seeing Wallabies and more Kangaroos as we walked round. Be sure to allow sufficient time to stroll round slowly though. While we were there a coach party/tour arrived and spent less than 15 mins looking at the Koalas. I'm sure if they had not been pointed out, many people would have gone away disappointed.

We were able to put our new found 'spotting' skills into practice the next day when driving on an unsealed road from Seal Bay to Stokes Bay. Travelling slowly, I spotted a Koala in a tree beside the road. We pulled over and on looking around spotted another 5, including a Mum with a tiny baby! I'm sure we would not have realised they were there if we hadn't previously been to Koala Walk. Highly recommended.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank SunL0ver57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice walk among the koalas”
Reviewed January 15, 2013

Walk around at your leisure and they help you spot the koala's by putting a flag by the tree. Saw many up close and got some great photos. Only $5 admission.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank JezzaSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Koalas, koalas, koalas”
Reviewed January 15, 2013

Great place for people who have never seen a koala before as you a sure to see one here. Children love looking for them so an interesting place to take the kids. An easy place to walk around.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank mcwheel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, TX
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Lots of koalas”
Reviewed January 13, 2013

We spent about 45 minutes there in the afternoon and just wandered around by ourselves. We found 9 koalas, 4 wallabies, 5 kangaroos and a 2 Crimson Rosella birds. I wish we could have come back for the Nocturnal Tour.

There's also a small cafe, some staples like milk and bread in their store, and honey tastings.

I highly recommend this place.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank TexRamblinMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hanson Bay Wildlife Sanctuary also viewed

Kangaroo Island, South Australia
 
Seal Bay, Kangaroo Island
 

Been to Hanson Bay Wildlife Sanctuary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing