We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Neat & tidy facilities & a place to visit if you haven't seen a koala.”

Hanson Bay Wildlife Sanctuary
Book In Advance
More Info
$284.65*
and up
Best of Kangaroo Island 4WD Full-Day Tour
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Port Augusta, Australia
Level Contributor
59 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Neat & tidy facilities & a place to visit if you haven't seen a koala.”
Reviewed April 21, 2012

Koalas pretty much guaranteed with staff placing flags at the base of trees where koalas are snoozing. The park is very neat & tidy and the pathways wide and clear of tree debris. Would recommend a visit if you have an hour or so to burn but would rate other areas above it if stretched for time.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Reeba315
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

319 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    178
    101
    29
    8
    3
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5,152 reviews
1,905 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1,844 helpful votes
“an amazing experience - a must on any visit to KI”
Reviewed April 11, 2012

This is a must -loved all the animals but the highlight was the mother roo who wandered over to see us and invited us to see and touch the baby roo in its pouch

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank RonWamberal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kangaroo Island
Level Contributor
131 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Guaranteed Koalas”
Reviewed March 24, 2012

Koalas aren't that easy to find on KI so the Koala Walk is a great asset. Entry only $5 and very helpful staff.

Helpful?
1 Thank Derdod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
105 reviews
57 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Most amazing koala experience ever!”
Reviewed March 20, 2012

Went during the day (allow an hour-ish) with our two kids (ages 3 and 5), who enjoyed finding the rocks and flags along the path that indicated when a koala had been spotted in an adjacent tree. Very helpful for the grown-ups too, since we have a track record of being terrible wildlife spotters... But our big thrill was seeing a koala at the bottom of a tree - on the ground! We've only ever seen them up trees before - and sometimes very high up so you can just see a blob... but not here. We were able to follow the koala through the reserve as it walked, bounded (who knew koalas even do that!), stopped as if to pose for photos, and then finally chose another tree and climbed on up (slowly, so we could all watch).

We were super lucky to have this experience (a week later we're still excited to remember it!) but even if you don't see koalas out of their trees the sanctuary is beautifully set up to maximize your success with spotting, and I believe their night walks are even better (with little kids this wasn't a possibility for us). There's also a surprisingly good cafe on site with fresh cakes and good coffee as well as the usual ice creams and so on. The staff were exceptionally friendly too. And don't miss going down to the Hanson Bay beach - stunning landscape, and ocean waves or a calm river mouth to choose from for swimming.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank AnnaDBJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
102 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Wild koalas asleep in the trees.”
Reviewed March 18, 2012

This place is wel worth a visit as it is one of the few spots where you are guaranteed to see a wild koala.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Neil B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hanson Bay Wildlife Sanctuary also viewed

Kangaroo Island, South Australia
 
Seal Bay, Kangaroo Island
 

Been to Hanson Bay Wildlife Sanctuary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing