We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent Secluded Holiday Cottage”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
9 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Newlands, Keswick, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 9 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
David B
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent Secluded Holiday Cottage”
Reviewed June 7, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Just returned from a fabulous week with friends. Excellent accommodation, ideally situated for walking, cycling, or just relaxing. Spacious Sitting Room, well fitted kitchen, two double bedrooms with en-suites. Oh, and a very handy store room where you can put your bikes etc.
John & Fiona live in the working farm next door and they are very friendly and made us feel very welcome. Some people might regard the location as a bit remote but if you look at the map before you book you should know what to expect i.e. it's quiet and secluded with picturesque, easy walks to Littletown tea room or Swinside pub. We parked our cars by the cottage when we arrived and didn't move them until we left a week later. Walk to Hawes End and catch the bus to Buttermere etc or the launch on Derent Water to Keswick or elsewhere on the lake. Plenty of nearby Wainwright hills for more serious walkers.
We'll be back.
Thanks again Fiona & John
PS - hope you enjoyed the party on Friday night.... Ruth, Dave, Linda & John

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, friendliness
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 10, 2016
Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts on your stay at The Hayloft, we are so pleased you enjoyed your time there! It sounds like you had the best of both worlds there, with the peace and seclusion of the location, as well as plenty to do locally - how lovely to take a holiday from the car too! We certainly hope you return for another stay soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moors_201...
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
155 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Superb Holiday Cottage”
Reviewed June 6, 2016 for a stay in November 2015
1
person found this review helpful

To Fiona and John apologies for this belated review of the Hayloft in Braithwaite from John, Celia and family who visited in early November last year. The Hayloft is a tremendous holiday cottage displaying all the attributes any guest could possibly wish for. From the welcome on day one to the time of our departure our seven day stay was a wonderful experience.

Fiona and John were perfect hosts and nothing was too much trouble. Together with our black labrador pup Cole we all loved the isolation of the location and our many local walks (even in the rain) were thoroughly enjoyed. It is a perfect venue to use as a base to tour the Northern Lakes and nearby Keswick is an excellent lakeland town.

The week we visited the weather was extremely wet and it was not too long after we left the serious flooding in the area started to occur. This meant we did spend more time in the cottage than we had planned but because the cottage is so lovely and cosy this extra time spent indoors was not the slightest problem. The two bedrooms with their own en suites with the living area in between is quite near to perfection. My wife totally loved the layout and would have been happy to have stayed longer. Would we recommend the Hayloft to a friend - Yes we most certainly would.

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SteveWebb...
Hexham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The perfect, luxurious getaway.”
Reviewed December 29, 2014 for a stay in December 2014
2
people found this review helpful

From the moment we arrived all was perfect. The location is stunning and far enough 'out of the way' to be wonderfully quiet. But close enough to village shop and further afield to not feel cut off. Walks from your back door and the hills all around. Excellent hosts on a working farm. The property is 5 star and equipped to a very high standard.. There is a log burner to die for, with plenty of fuel, along with oil central heating. A spacious & homely environment. Both bedrooms have roomy en suite bathrooms, and great showers. The lighting within the open plan can be dimmed throughout, this we found to be a pleasant touch. The building is full of character but tastefully renovated with a crisp modern feel. Laminate flooring and carpeted bedrooms. Plenty of books, dvd's, games with guides and maps to allow you to explore or relax. Views from the windows are awesome. See attached photo's. A positively great experience.
Cockermouth a few miles further North, offers a good deal too, well worth a look for shopping.
Thank you Fiona and John.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: To be able to relax in perfect surroundings and luxury.
Liked least: Everything was just so. Thank you.
Traveling group: Young Children
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton
Reviewed December 2, 2013 for a stay in September 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
West Camel
Reviewed June 22, 2013 for a stay in April 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Luxury-minded travelers Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
HUthwaite
Reviewed June 20, 2013 for a stay in March 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Uttoxeter
Reviewed December 5, 2012 for a stay in September 2012

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
Luxury-minded travelers Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing