We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Welcoming hotel in superb position”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Swinside Lodge Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Newlands
Reviewed October 14, 2010

A small hotel - only seven bedrooms - in a superb position near Derwentwater. Catbells is on your doorstep, and the lake ferry service is only 5 minutes walk away.Kath and Mike Bilton give everyone a warm welcome, and service throughout is excellent. The bedrooms vary in size and shape , but both the ones we have stayed in have been well appointed. There is no lift.
Each night there is a very good, no-choice dinner. The wine list is outstanding, especially so given the small size of the hotel.
Overall, very good food and wine, a warm welcome and a superb position.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IanHYarm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (223)
There are newer reviews for Swinside Lodge Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

151 - 157 of 223 reviews

Reviewed October 10, 2010

My wife and I stayed at Swinside Lodge for 9 days - our delayed honeymoon and it was utterly perfect - just like my wife. The owners Mike & Kath and the staff including Laurent, Debbie & Chef Clive were very friendly, kind, ever helpful and created a totally relaxed atmosphere. Nothing was too much trouble and everything seemed to run so smoothly. The hotel is in the most perfect lakeland setting with stunning scenery and walks from the door. The rooms were fresh and light but also warm and inviting. The service was first class and the food was truly outstanding. I can think of nothing I would change - we really enjoyed the set menu, the pre dinner drinks and chatting with the other guests. We can't wait to return. Thankyou so much all at Swinside. Graham & Karen.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gcce-p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2010

Stayed two nights, 3rd and 4th of October with my Sister-in-Law and partner.

The hard work and attention to detail that is put into the running of this establishment by the proprietors and staff is evident from the first to last minute of the stay.

There really is nothing to criticise, unless the hot water is really very hot, and the excellent food is served in quantities that we found slightly too much to eat, but this is an individual responsibility as guests to address

The lack of a formal bar is not a problem. A full range of beverages (apart from a pint of draught beer), can be obtained at any reasonable hour, and the restaurant wine list is comprehensive and should meet most tastes.

All four of us absolutely enjoyed our short break to celebrate Steve's birthday. We didn't find anything stuffy or formal about the experience. The thing is, you have to talk to other people that you meet and enjoy the break. There are very few places that can do it better.

Recommended without hesitation.

Neil, Sheila, Pat and Steve

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Unitignorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2010

Plan your trip and leave time for relaxation. This is the place to be to recharge your batteries. The lodge is surrounded with magnificent views and you can do lots of walking. Comfortable clothes and great pair of walking shoes and there you go... rain or shine from Swinside Lodge you cannot miss anything! I love there music box...We will definately go back to Swinside Lodge. Gr8888888888 place

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lodge092010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2010

I booked Swinside Lodge Hotel as a surprise for my wife to celebrate our wedding anniversary, having seen the hotel listed in the Sunday Times as one of the most romantic hotels in Britain. Let me just say it didn't disappoint.

Having tried many of the hotels in the lakes I would recommend Swinside. The accommodation was first class and the setting was sensational. The owners were excellent hosts and the food was exquisite. Nothing was too much trouble and we shall certainly return.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MBB10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2010

A small hotel with exceptional personal service .tThe interior is beautifluly decourated and furnished the food is great we enjoyed it so much we are going back with 2 friends

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank loveironstone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2010

My brother and his wife had booked the hotel for a meal to celebrate our wedding anniversary having been encouraged by the reviews on trip advisor.

On arriving at the hotel we were greeted rather formally at the door by the owner, a limp handshake does not constitute a friendly welcome in my mind and we were encouraged to go straight through to the restraunt to have drinks in there. When we enquired about having a pre dinner drink in the lounge / bar area it was obvoius that this was not what she wanted and directed us through to the dining area anyway.

After 10 - 15 minutes the other guests all came through, it was like being escorted by the sergent major, very regimented and everybody was expected to do what was required We all sat and waited for our starter, the silence at times was very uncomfortable, no one was brave enough to raise their voice or pass a polite comment to another table.

The food was very good, unfortunatley when my sister in law had phoned to book she was not informed that it would be a set menu with no choice and my husband does not favour fish, you guessed it - fish for the main course. They were obviously disturbed that he didnt eat it and at that time told us that they would have cooked something different for him had they known (shut the gate after the horse has bolted comes to mind). Full marks, however, for catering for his special request - peas!!! he said they were very delicious.

If you like a stuffy, formal and not very relaxed atmosphere with very nicely presented food, which tastes good then this is the place for you. However, if you preffer to relax and enjoy your meal, with more choice then look elsewhere.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank champions29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mjbkb, Owner at Swinside Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2010

Hi, Thank you for posting your review following your visit to the Lodge as non resident diners. Firstly, everyone is warmly welcomed verbally into the Lodge, as should be the practice in any home or commercial establishment and as for having the limp handshake as a greeting that brought a smile to all our faces as for those that know Kath know she does not do limp handshakes full stop! With regard to your pre dinner drinks, if the Lodge is full with residents it would be our practice to seat you straight away at your table from a comfort point of view but i would have thought this is surely something you would have come across previously in restaurants. As for the silence being uncomfortable,with a full house and people celebrating some occasion, as was your situation, it beggars belief no one spoke. Finally, on booking your sister in law was informed that we offer a fixed but daily changing menu, she would have been informed of the price for this and she would have been asked of any dietary needs so that any ones meal may be adjusted accordingly to suit them. The menu is presented to everyone 30 minutes before dinner and if there should be a problem at that point because someone has forgotten to inform us of any special requirements then there is time before main course to adjust things.I'm pleased the peas were good, hopefully not quite the highlight of your meal, but as the saying goes 'whatever rocks your boat'. Once again thanks for bringing a smile to our faces, we sometimes need it .Best regards, MIke -not the one with the limp hand shake.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newlands
2.0 mi away
The Keswick Country House Hotel
1.7 mi away
Inn on the Square
Inn on the Square
#5 of 17 in Keswick
647 reviews
1.9 mi away
Mary Mount Hotel
Mary Mount Hotel
#4 of 17 in Keswick
545 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Castlerigg
635 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Cottage in the Wood
The Cottage in the Wood
#1 of 1 in Braithwaite
595 reviews
1.9 mi away
Lairbeck Hotel
Lairbeck Hotel
#13 of 17 in Keswick
203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swinside Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swinside Lodge Hotel

Address: Grange Road, Newlands, Keswick CA12 5UE, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick > Newlands
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Newlands
Price Range: $156 - $230 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Swinside Lodge Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small luxury hotel in the heart of the English Lake District personally owned and run by Mike and Kath Bilton. A warm welcome awaits - hospitality and food are our passions, and the hotel has recently been voted in the top three Fine Dining Restaurants in Cumbria with an AA 2 Rosette Restaurant supplemented by a 75 bin wine list. Local wildlife including red squirrels can be seen in abundance in the gardens, and spectacular walks and drives start from the hotel's door. Seven bedrooms all with beautiful mountain views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Swinside Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swinside Hotel Newlands
Swinside Hotel Keswick

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing