We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Swinside Lodge Hotel
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
$60
Travelodge
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
$104
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$209
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$157
$146
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$147
$132
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$156
$128
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$74
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pinegrove Hotel(Carlisle)
$67
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$80
$58
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (223)
Filter reviews
223 results
Traveler rating
195
18
8
1
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
195
18
8
1
1
See what travelers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
67 - 72 of 223 reviews
Reviewed June 8, 2013 via mobile

Only went for dinner,we are both chefs and i teach culinary arts so tend to be very picky,the food was really good and very attentitive service.menu was good,I didn't like the starter so they made me something specially which was good customer service

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thecaterer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2013

A return visitto Swinside Lodge. Once again we were impressed by the warmth of the welcome we recieved from Kath and Mike. The room was excellent as was the food. For its size this hotel must have the most extensive wine list anywhere.
The position is excellent, almost at the foot of Catbells and only a few minutes from the Hawse End lakeboat stop. This was very useful as the rain was very heavy on one day of our visit, so a quick trip over to Keswick was very useful
All in all this is a super place to stay with just the right blend of luxury and informality.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IanHYarm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2013

Our second visit to a lovely small elegant hotel. The owners, Kath and Mike, are a friendly and helpful couple who gave us another warm welcome. They, together with Lauren, made our w/e visit a truly enjoyable one. Talented chef Clive provided beautifully presented and delicious meals.

Swinside Lodge is well located for a Cumbrian walking holiday where one can leave the car behind and walk directly from the hotel - a big bonus as parking can be a problem in popular Lake District.

No doubt we will return when in need of a quiet w/e away to enjoy good food and hospitality and wonderful walks along Derwentwater.

Thank you Kath, Mike, Lauren and Clive

Room Tip: We enjoyed "Oak" which was at the back, on the 2nd floor and quiet.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RosemaryGUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2013

We stayed at this lovely hotel during a four day "fine dining" walking tour around Bassenthwaite and Derwent Water. We were warmly welcomed on our arrival and shown to our spacious bay windowed bedroom with views to the front of the hotel. The room was very comfortable although the bathroom was a little small given the quality of the rest of the hotel. Before dinner we enjoyed a drink and a game of scrabble in the lovely front sitting room as well as chatting to our fellow guests. As well as its great location food is the real star attraction of this hotel. The dinner is a set menu (with a choice of desert) but the hotel checked beforehand whether there was anything we didn't eat. I am quite happy having no choice - especially when the food is this good. We started with crab wrapped in smoked salmon followed by a superb cauliflower and blue cheese soup which was absolutely delicious. The main course of beef fillet was also wonderful. The sticky toffee pudding for dessert was just about the best I have ever tasted. This was a really enjoyable meal - top notch fine dining! After a very good night's sleep breakfast was as good as we had come to expect after the meal the night before. Given the fine food it was good we were walking all day to burn off the calories before starting all over again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Wrecktor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2013

our 4th short break for 3 nights at this hotel confirms our view that it is in wonderful location , 5 min stroll to Derwentwater shore, beside Catbells, cosy intimate atmosphere, good food, super hospitality, peaceful , very clean & lovely bedrooms. It ticks all the right boxes for a really contented stay.

Room Tip: liliac bedroom is best in the house.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews