We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Five Star Value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Swinside Lodge Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Newlands
Reviewed August 25, 2011

When booking, my partner and I were a little concerned by the 2 star rating of this hotel. However, these fears were totally unjustified. This is high class accommodation serving top end food with attentive, helpful staff and managers.
It’s a small hotel in an isolated, but easily accessible location. This means that the “atmosphere” in the dining room at night is very much dictated by the nature of the people in residence at the time. Over the three nights we stayed it ranged from formal to very friendly. Nevertheless, fellow guests aside, you will not be disappointed by this hotel and, like many others, we thoroughly recommend it.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Snow-gnome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (223)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

124 - 130 of 223 reviews

Reviewed August 11, 2011

We stayed here for 2 nights an found it to be a wonderful oasis. Beautiful peaceful location, 10mins walk from Derwent Water, fabulous food (I think I had one of the best starters I've ever had! Gravadlax, crab remoulade and a beetroot dressing - delicious!). Very friendly, helpful hosts where nothing was too much trouble. Our room was the smallest in the hotel but perfectly formed! Lovely touches like home made biscuits, a little dish of choccies! Eveywhere was very clean and well maintained. Would definitely recommend it for a relaxing weekend where excellent walks, beautiful location, fab food and wine are what you want! Looking forward to a return visit!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KathyRyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2011

I visited the Swinside for dinner with family, and although much of it was good food, there was no choice at all. For the price, I thought this was quite expensive. Unfortunately, the atmosphere in the dining room was not what we were looking for - it may depend on the evening but people were not chattering and there was no 'buzz'; making it feel slightly uncomfortable and less relaxing than hoped.
I have eaten in several restaurants and hotels within the area, and would prefer to revisit one of these.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank rbh1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mjbkb, Owner at Swinside Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2011

Hello Outside Diner, Thank you for taking the trouble to post a review albeit three months after visiting for dinner only. You would have been made aware at the time of booking that we only offer a daily changing fixed four course dinner with any dietary requirements noted and catered for and informed of the £45 per head charge inclusive of Vat. As such i am a little surprised you should wish to comment of there being no choice and that you found it expensive. What is offered at Swinside Lodge is fine dining with a relaxed and warm ambience and not unfortunately a wine bar 'buzz' and constant chattering that drowns your dining partners conversation - there are obviously from your comments many alternative venues around Keswick where you can enjoy this atmosphere and as a hotelier i would appreciate knowing exactly where these places are so we may also enjoy them when opportune.

Exactly what warrants your rating of 3 out of 5 for cleanliness and 2 out of 5 for service completely baffles me as out of literally thousands of guests and outside diners who we enjoy the company of each year i don't think anything on your rating could be further from the truth, if nothing else i'm confident it will raise a titter amongst everyone who comments to the contrary.

I would add that i am a little more than 'slightly disappointed' that no comment was made in your review of cleanliness and service if this was an issue with you - possibly it helps you to justify your mistake on choice of dining on this occasion.

Mike Bilton
Proprietor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2011

have just spent two nights in this lovely hotel.We were made very welcome from the owners kath&mike.the hotel is set in a peaceful area ten minutes walk down to the lake. We stayed in the chestnut room which was nicely decorated and very comfortable.The food at the hotel was superb compliments to the chef ;also an extensive wine list on offer.We look forward to a return visit to the swinside lodge.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank juliemarie28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2011

My partner and I had a wonderful time at Swinside. The food and hospitality were excellent and we did some great walks without even having to get in the car. We had a long weekend at Swinside and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. Thank you!

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emmahotstuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2011

Myself and my husband spent 2, child free nights, at the Swinside and it was absolutely great. We were looking for a complete break to recharge our batteries and we definately got it! Location is lovely - near Derwent water, view of Catbells and Causey Pike from our window and there are multiple walks that can be started from the hotel. We took advantage of the packed lunch and walked straight from the hotel - chefs energy bar was needed! Hotel room was lovely- nice bath at the end of a long walk. Food superb, both breakfast and dinner. Hosts lovely and very kindly lent me a walking stick which helped with our mamoth trek! Would definately come back for another restful weekend!
Whilst the hotel isn't in Keswick it's a lovely walk around the lake and I'd imagine a very short taxi ride if you choose to have a night out to sample the great pubs in the town....

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maggsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2011

My wife, son and myself stayed at the Swinside Lodge in July for 2 nights. Firstly it's a great location being only a 5 min walk from Derwent Lake, there are some superb walks and no need to take the car as you can easily start a number of different walks from the hotel. Our room was very clean, we were made extremely welcome by the owners and the 4 course evening meal was superb. We liked the fact that the hotel was small with only 7 or so rooms. We will certainly stay again..

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SGB028
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newlands
2.0 mi away
The Keswick Country House Hotel
1.7 mi away
Inn on the Square
Inn on the Square
#5 of 17 in Keswick
661 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Cottage in the Wood
The Cottage in the Wood
#1 of 1 in Braithwaite
599 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Mary Mount Hotel
Mary Mount Hotel
#4 of 17 in Keswick
551 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Derwentwater Hotel
The Derwentwater Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portinscale
749 reviews
3.0 mi away
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Castlerigg
644 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swinside Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swinside Lodge Hotel

Address: Grange Road, Newlands, Keswick CA12 5UE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick > Newlands
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Newlands
Price Range: $156 - $230 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Swinside Lodge Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small luxury hotel in the heart of the English Lake District personally owned and run by Mike and Kath Bilton. A warm welcome awaits - hospitality and food are our passions, and the hotel has recently been voted in the top three Fine Dining Restaurants in Cumbria with an AA 2 Rosette Restaurant supplemented by a 75 bin wine list. Local wildlife including red squirrels can be seen in abundance in the gardens, and spectacular walks and drives start from the hotel's door. Seven bedrooms all with beautiful mountain views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Swinside Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swinside Hotel Newlands
Swinside Hotel Keswick

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing