We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great spot”

The Roost Farm Bakery
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Description: We are a passionate farm! We create and share locally grown food and wines Situated in the heart of North Saanich's pastoral landscape, the focus is on local food and wine, and sustainability. More than just a bakery/cafe, The Roost roosts on 10 acres of farmland where we grow many items used to produce the food we proudly serve. The wheat grown and milled on-site is used to bake breads fresh daily. The blueberries, sheep, and a unique vineyard, all add to the authentic experience. You'll love coming out to our place! Whether you sit on the porch, get comfy in the secret garden, relax on our "chicken-bus", or laze at a picnic bench looking out over the farm and vineyard, you are sure to enjoy a passionate farm experience!
Mississauga, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
177 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Great spot”
Reviewed July 22, 2014

Loved it here. Very down home feeling. Lots of great great baked goods, bread and serve all meals. The breakfast and muffin we had was very good. The atmosphere was very farm like and service was fast and incredibly friendly. We are from Toronto and will return when in the area

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    90
    60
    18
    14
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
154 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Worth the wait.”
Reviewed July 22, 2014

Always fantastic food whether it's baked goods or pizza. There is always a long wait in line but trust me, it's worth the wait.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Baxterthetravelguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria BC
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Peaches and cream pie”
Reviewed June 24, 2014

I ate at the new Bistro three Sundays in a row. Most memorable is Peaches and Cream pie for dessert and the thyme-flavoured onion & cheese soup. They produce several wines on the property ("Highlands") but arcane liquor rules mean they can pour but you must bring it to the table, and you cannot order beer since they don't make beer. They offer cocktails made with their own wines ... a praiseworthy but, to my taste, unsuccessful venture. Local and able musicians play live I like quiet for supper. better. The (awesome) bakery next door only makes a few wonderful pies a day, so you may want to reserve your dessert as you come in, rather than at the end of the meal. Next time I go, I'll order the Onion soup, Duck confit pizza made with their own flour, and another slice of Peaches and Cream pie.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ken M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great find!”
Reviewed June 22, 2014 via mobile

Incredible, fresh sandwiches and baked goods. Great seating area in the back. Friendly staff. This was a real treat!

Helpful?
Thank FreqravelerSteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Awesome Service, Great Food”
Reviewed May 29, 2014 via mobile

Four of us had lunch in the new bistro area one recent Sunday and we had a great meal and very entertaining time. Chelsea is a real asset to the restaurant. After lunch she took us on an impromptu tour of the farm, offered us a wine tasting and gave us loads of information regarding organizing functions there, wine tastings, history of the place - she really made our visit a real highlight and we will certainly be back. Previously had only eaten in the bakery cafe area of the Roost. Will return to the Bistro for dinner for sure. The food is freshly made and delicious. Highly recommend a visit. Left with a homemade peaches and cream pie, soooo good.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank dexter1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Roost Farm Bakery also viewed

Sidney, Victoria Capital Regional District
Central Saanich, Victoria Capital Regional District
 
Central Saanich, Victoria Capital Regional District
Sidney, Victoria Capital Regional District
 
Sidney, Victoria Capital Regional District
Sidney, Victoria Capital Regional District
 

Been to The Roost Farm Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing