We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great stop for food or coffee”

The Roost Farm Bakery
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Description: We are a passionate farm! We create and share locally grown food and wines Situated in the heart of North Saanich's pastoral landscape, the focus is on local food and wine, and sustainability. More than just a bakery/cafe, The Roost roosts on 10 acres of farmland where we grow many items used to produce the food we proudly serve. The wheat grown and milled on-site is used to bake breads fresh daily. The blueberries, sheep, and a unique vineyard, all add to the authentic experience. You'll love coming out to our place! Whether you sit on the porch, get comfy in the secret garden, relax on our "chicken-bus", or laze at a picnic bench looking out over the farm and vineyard, you are sure to enjoy a passionate farm experience!
Sidney, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A great stop for food or coffee”
Reviewed March 10, 2013

Ended a wonderful Peninsula bike ride with breakfast at the Roost. The place was packed as it is popular so we ended up sitting on the funky old school bus set up for dining. Our breakfast choices were all excellent! Perfectly done Benny on a delicious basil scone; Yummy brie and yam omelet with whole wheat toast; and the traditional Roost breakfast of eggs & bacon. Everything was fresh and served hot. Even as busy as it was, the service was friendly and quick. A great stop for breakfast, lunch or dinner or just for a cup of coffee!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Steve D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    90
    60
    18
    14
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Don't pass this one by.”
Reviewed January 27, 2013

This is a little hidden treasure, as I do not like going to all the big main resturants for breakfast/brunch etc. Roost Farm Bakery is right near the International Airport on Vancouver Island. Not much to look at from the front but don't drive by, stop and please go in, as it is very friendly and the food is even better. Is small, so not many tables but what we did not realize is there is a bus parked next to the cottage which has been converted into another part of the cafe for seating area, very different. Food execellent, very friendly staff and roosters that run around in the front garden area. If you can't stop then you can get all baked goods there, beards, cakes, pies or can even be a coffee stop for you.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank June S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, BC
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“We're so looking to live close by!!”
Reviewed November 19, 2012

Were fortunate to live only a few minutes away from the Roost. We visit there a few times a month and its always delicious. They have great breakfasts, lunch, and in the summer pizzas mad in a woodfired oven.

And there bread and baked goods are fantastic, we always take something home with us each time we vist

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank camoking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grapevine, TX
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Quaint setting, decent food, distracted service.”
Reviewed October 17, 2012

We read about the Roost Farm Bakery in a travel article and decided to try it for a casual lunch after arriving via ferry.

The setting is charming and quaint, with a converted school bus with dining tables inside, roaming chickens, and a gigantic homegrown pumpkin out front.

Food was just OK - salads seemed hastily assembled, pulled pork pie was not heated through fully. Desserts were fine, but seemed pricey. Service was scattered - the counter employees were a bit curt and tables in the dining area weren't bussed/cleaned. We had to clear someone else's dishes and ask for the table to be wiped so we could sit for our meal. Also saw lots of flies in the dining area - yuck!

No alcoholic beverages available. Their bistro serves wine but closes at the end of the summer.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gvtxgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Saanich BC
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Local Gem”
Reviewed September 27, 2012

Farm atmosphere- simple but well prepared breakfasts and lunches. Excellent breads and pastries. Very popular.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank George G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Roost Farm Bakery also viewed

Sidney, Victoria Capital Regional District
Central Saanich, Victoria Capital Regional District
 
Central Saanich, Victoria Capital Regional District
Sidney, Victoria Capital Regional District
 

Been to The Roost Farm Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing