We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A polished performance”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ibis Auckland Ellerslie
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Ellerslie
GreenLeadersSilver level
Hamilton & Waikato Region, New Zealand
1 review
“A polished performance”
Reviewed March 17, 2013

I have recently stayed at the Novatel in Ellerslie and I must say that the staff were exceptional! They have been well trained, and add to the were very obliging and courteous, the management can be very proud indeed! There was a mistake made in the bedding configuration in my room, and they were amazing in how quickly and effortlessly they were able to resolve that... Highly recommended indeed!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Wilson777576
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colin M, Manager at Ibis Auckland Ellerslie, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Thank you for your comments. I assure you, on behalf on the management team, we are very proud of our team members and their committment and passion to providing better service each new day. Thank you for your 5 out of 5 rating !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

664 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    145
    327
    141
    33
    18
See reviews for
77
255
72
211
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland
Level Contributor
32 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2013

After reading some of the negative reviews I was wondering what to expect. The IBIS is a hotel that will appeal to the price sensitive traveller. Yes the rooms are small but are very well appointed. The beds are very comfortable, there is a good sized modern TV with a good selection of SKY channels. Yes the windows do not open but why would you want to open them??? The hotel is next to a busy road and with the sealed double glazed windows you don't hear a thing. The air conditioning is efficient and does the job. The bathroom while small is very cleverly designed and has everything you need. The main advantage of the IBIS is that you have access to the facilities of the NOVOTEL (the IBIS is incorporated into the NOVOTEL ) which means access to the excellent facilities like the restaurant and bars
I notice one Trip Advisor complained about only 20 minutes of free Internet access on the lobby computers. Get real. I don't actually know of many hotels that give any free Internet access and the IBIS / Novotel computers are decent modern computers too (unlike many hotels I have stayed at which have old slow computers for the paid internet).
In summary I would stay at the IBIS Ellerslie again. Unless you are going to live in the room 24/7 who cares if it is small? but if room size is important, go and stay in the NOVOTEL but I guarantee you will not be paying IBIS prices

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tipene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colin M, Manager at Ibis Auckland Ellerslie, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Thank you very much for your comments. We are very happy that you were pleased with what you found. Thank you for pointing out the facilities at Acacia Restaurant and Garden Bar, and for highlighting the complimentary Mac stations that can be found in the lobby area. We appreciate your thoughts !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whakatane, New Zealand
Level Contributor
68 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2013

We have stayed twice before and know the Ibis will be in tip top order. Rooms are small but very good for short stays when you are not going to be in all day. We had their seafood buffet for dinner. The cold dishes and the deserts and cheese board were great but, the hot dishes were all over cooked. The oyster shots were heavenly and don't miss the crab bisque. Tip, Dont go across the parking area to the great outdoor cafe for breakfast. We found out why only 2 others went there. We will be back at Ibis next time in Auckland. Good parking and access.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank maurice e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colin M, Manager at Ibis Auckland Ellerslie, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Thank you very much for your comments. We were sorry to read about the over cooked items, but we were excited to share your thoughts on the crab bisque and oyster shots. We are committed to delivering an excellent, fresh and vibrant seafood buffet.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, Canterbury, New Zealand
Level Contributor
53 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

We arrived at the Ibis to be greeted by Jacob, one of the universally friendly and extraordinarily helpful staff - in truth we had just come from witnessing some dreadful customer service at our car rental place and were a little overwhelmed by our welcome :) Our room was small, but perfectly formed. The bed was vast and spotless, with enough pillows to get luxuriously plumptious with. We had the usual essentials, kettle, iron, hairdryer and a big flat screen tv ... as well as a clean, neatly designed bathroom with a shower which had a terrific blast to it. Of course I managed to get myself locked out of my room in my bathrobe whilst pursuing the cleaners to get another teabag - but that was fine as it gave me a chance to discover that they were lovely too. Sorry about that :(
The position of the hotel is perfect too,a 2 min walk to Greenlane train station with really easy city access, but far out enough that you can have free parking included, should you be driving.
A great big thumbs up to the Ibis!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah_Pallett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colin M, Manager at Ibis Auckland Ellerslie, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Thank you very much for your comments and the fantastic rating you gave for our hotel. We are so pleased you found our team members to be 'extraordinarily helpful'. That's a great compliment. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tauranga
1 review
Reviewed March 13, 2013

We found the location of the Hotel easy to find, with adequate parking close by. We were greeted on arrival and the formalities were very quick and friendly. Our rooms just what we required for the stay we expected to have, mainly to sleep. Being so close to the city we were able to get appointments in good time. The added bonus was the restaurant attached to the hotel where we dined Friday evening. It was their first seafood buffet which was nicely presented and best of all delicious. I have friends staying at Ibis this weekend and have advised them of this restaurant. We will come again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank SkytrackTauranga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colin M, Manager at Ibis Auckland Ellerslie, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Thank you; we will look forward to welcoming you back !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whangarei, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 12, 2013

I'm a regularly at Ibis Ellerslie.

- Ibis Ellerslie offers the best value for money, and you'll be hard pressed to find a better deal then that offered by Ibis Ellerslie in Auckland.

- The rooms offer sufficient space to enable the user to have a comfortable stay.

- The hotel offers modern décor and an LCD T.V. with sky channels so that one can watch the rugby.

- and the staff are very helpful and can usually resolve any concerns promptly.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Ray240
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colin M, Manager at Ibis Auckland Ellerslie, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Thank you so much for rating our hotel 5 out of 5 ! We do appreciate your thoughts.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level Contributor
111 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2013

Auckland was pretty full, my usual hotels were not available, so I thought a bit laterally. I usually stay inner city, which Ellerlise is not, really, but the Ibis is so close to the Greenlane Motorway junction that it's really just as convenient. And there was no motorway noise at all. Easy to find, lots of parking, and all the basic facilities you need. This is a no nonsense basic hotel, with fairly small rooms, but modern, clean and very comfortable. The tariff was also basic - very good value. Restaurant and bar facilities are those of the more upmarket Novotel, so you get the best of both worlds.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sparky81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colin M, Manager at Ibis Auckland Ellerslie, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Thank you for your comments. I'm pleased you were able to enjoy the best of both worlds. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ellerslie
0.0 mi away
Novotel Auckland Ellerslie
1.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Ellerslie International
2.4 mi away
Quality Hotel Parnell
Quality Hotel Parnell
#17 of 66 in Auckland
651 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Waipuna Hotel & Conference Centre
Waipuna Hotel & Conference Centr...
#1 of 4 in Mount Wellington
287 reviews
3.0 mi away
Kiwi International Hotel
Kiwi International Hotel
#32 of 66 in Auckland
660 reviews
3.3 mi away
Econo Lodge City Central
Econo Lodge City Central
#49 of 66 in Auckland
310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Auckland Ellerslie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Auckland Ellerslie

Property: Ibis Auckland Ellerslie
Address: 72-112 Greenlane East, Ellerslie 1051, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Ellerslie
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Ellerslie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Ibis Auckland Ellerslie 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ibis Ellerslie is located in the heart of Greenlane offering easy access to many Auckland attractions. The Ellerslie Events Centre and ASB Showgrounds are in walking distance, Vector Arena, Mt Smart Stadium and Eden Park are only a short train trip away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ibis Auckland Ellerslie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Auckland Ellerslie Hotel Ellerslie
Ibis Hotel Auckland
Ibis Hotel Ellerslie

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing