We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you love your buns!”
Review of Burgerfuel

Burgerfuel
Ranked #10 of 11 Restaurants in Ellerslie
Cuisines: Fast Food, American, New Zealand
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Takeout
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Takeout
Tenerife, Spain
Level Contributor
105 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“If you love your buns!”
Reviewed June 6, 2012 via mobile

I find the burgers here ridiculously overpriced and the bun is far bigger than the patty. NZ fast food is really expensive so this could be the best of a really bad bunch. Burgers are so easy to make your better to head to pak n save and enjoy your own creations!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank n1c8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    13
    2
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Patan (Lalitpur), Nepal
Level Contributor
73 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Best burger in NZ”
Reviewed May 1, 2012

This national chain is a favorite fallback for us when we don't feel like cooking at home and don't feel like waiting around in a restaurant for food. Most everything is fresh, local, and made in house -- even the sauces!

I used to say it was impossible to order a bad burger here, but then I tried the Hashius Clay which was not so nice. Otherwise, it's all fair game. My favorite remains the Stilton.

I'd like to see them make the drink options more transparent, and include all burgers as part of their combo option. As it stands now, it's way too easy to be overcharged.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Sam C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Enjoyed the Veggie Burgers!”
Reviewed April 20, 2012

We're vegetarians & always on the look-out for off-beat culinary opportunities. Visited the burger fuel joint in Taupo as there was a copy of the menu at the motel where we were staying and I saw that the veggie items were separately cooked. Enjoyed the experience so much so that we ended up going again. We tried out a couple of different types of burgers, spud fries & pumpkin ginger motobites. I personally liked the combustion veggie over the V-twin. The motobites were excellent with the yogurt dip while the spuds were a bit over the top - couldn't finish it. A pretty decent meal.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank AnilKrishnaSing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waitakere
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“best burgers & service”
Reviewed April 11, 2012

We arrived at our motel after a long drive and were really tired. We opted for takeaways so we could blob in our motel.
We went to the Burgerfuel which was absolutely mobbed, but came away in good time with their usual delicious, very high quality food. Anyone who hasn't had Wagyu burgers needs to try them.
The young manager was phenomenal, moving at great speed and getting all her staff working at top level. And it was all done cheerfully. Awesome.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank JuliaMaybank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
35 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good honest burgers”
Reviewed February 26, 2012

Does what it sets out to - delivers a tasty burger and fries at a reasonable price. The wagu burger was tasty with good salad and the aioli with the fries was delicious. Comparable to GBK in the UK in terms of food quality without the arrogance or price tag! The Taupo location looks out over the lake with the mountains as a backdrop - perfect.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pdotie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Burgerfuel also viewed

Ellerslie, Auckland Region
Ellerslie, Auckland Region
 
Auckland, Auckland Region
Ellerslie, Auckland Region
 

Been to Burgerfuel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing