We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Does exactly what it says”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Waipuna Hotel & Conference Centre
Certificate of Excellence
Essex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
319 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Does exactly what it says”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2011

On a business trip we wanted to avoid typical high-rise hotels (like the ones in every city in the world).

Instead, we wanted a place with character, convenient for the airport, with ample free parking, a swimming pool, pleasing aspect, good food, friendly service and comfortable, modern, spacious accommodation.

That's what we got; at a good price, too.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roy and Sarah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

288 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    139
    29
    4
    3
See reviews for
47
74
9
126
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
New Zealand
Level Contributor
45 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2010

We booked this hotel mainly for it's location to Mt Smart Stadium to attend a concert. Was 15 minutes walk away from a large shopping mall with lots of eating options. As we were only there the one night we used very little of the property facilities.
The desk staff were friendly and happy to phone for our taxi's and shuttle transport.
The room itself was ideal for our needs. Bathroom clean and spacious. Pleased the room had air conditioning as it was a hot day.
Would stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shazm1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brit
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2010

I have stayed here on a number of occasions for a night or two on business because of its location convenient for where I have to visit. I have been allocated a variety of rooms but all basically comfortable with queen beds variable quality of bathrooms. Parking is spacious and free - a good plus. The restaurant is very average, no real complaints except that the buffet is very expensive unless you want to really pig out. Like the restaurant, some rooms have a good view but others are really gllomy, with overgrown gardens outside the window. Usual winges, expensive drinks and broadband. Room heating is by reversible a/c and in the winter if the room hasn't been occupied it's b.... cold and takes some warming up - and the unit is noisy.
In conclusion, a reasonable business hotel, don't think I would stay here for relaxation or if I was paying the bills myself.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Easternrover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2009

Stayed in a King Room in the Lagoon wing of the hotel for the weekend.

Good points: flatscreen TV, nice balcony + chairs with a small view of the Lagoon from our location, lots of little areas of outside gardens & seating, the Lagoon running track, VERY comfy King bed, quiet & tranquil, FREE parking.

Less positive points: bathroom dated (but clean), uncomfortable pillows if you prefer softish / feathers, homes & area surrounding Hotel does have a few unsavoury looking charachters, but we didn't see anything to put us off the place.

Good value & a nice change from central city accomodation.

We didn't eat at the Restaurant but they have done an excellent job of refurbishing this and if we hadn't had other plans I am certain we would have happily dined there.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pintado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2009

I had quite a pleasant stay, I have normally stayed at the Langham in the city centre, but this hotel was nearer to my place of work, but only a 5minute walk from the main shopping centre and train st (apparently trains into the city centre run frequently). The room was very comfortable, spacious, quiet and with very comfy beds. The room looked out onto the lake which you can walk/jog around. Breakfast was good, although a bit pricey at $22 for continental. I had dinner at the restaurant one night and that was very good.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chicken_or_beef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, UK
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2009

Restaurant was very good with and exceptional cold buffet (hot choices as well but the cold was excellent).

Try to get one of the rooms with a refurbished bathroom... big improvement.

Handyish for the shopping centre and the train into town but not too much else in the area.

Swimming pool not open in the winter. Very good parking area (more convenient at the back).

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blujonah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
105 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2008

We stayed as a family of four here (2 x adults, 2 x children), and found the amenities to be perfect for us.

Our room had 2 x queen sized beds, and was clean and tidy when we entered it.

We managed to get a special internet deal which included a bottle of bubbly upon arrival, 2 x adult buffet breakfasts, and a late check-out (12 noon) for $169!!

There is a well-equipped (for a hotel!) gym, outdoor pool (unheated) and outdoor spa pool for guest's use.

Breakfast in the Voyager Restaurant turned out to be of an even better experience than when we last stayed there approx. 3-4 years ago. The food is fresh, tasty, and the variety of choices surpassing the more expensive/well known hotels which we have stayed at!

It is a 5 minute (or less) drive to the recently opened Sylvia Park shopping mall - so you can shop til you drop whilst staying here too!

  • Liked — The location; and superb buffet breakfast!
  • Disliked — Unheated outdoor swimming pool!
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank chynna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mount Wellington
1.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Ellerslie International
2.9 mi away
Ibis Auckland Ellerslie
Ibis Auckland Ellerslie
#1 of 2 in Ellerslie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 664 reviews
2.9 mi away
Novotel Auckland Ellerslie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Jet Park Hotel & Conference Centre
7.5 mi away
Novotel Auckland Airport
5.7 mi away
The Langham, Auckland
The Langham, Auckland
#5 of 66 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,066 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waipuna Hotel & Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waipuna Hotel & Conference Centre

Property: Waipuna Hotel & Conference Centre
Address: 58 Waipuna Rd | Mt Wellington, Mount Wellington 1060, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Mount Wellington
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Mount Wellington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Waipuna Hotel & Conference Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 148
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Waipuna Hotel & Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waipuna Hotel And Conference Centre
Waipuna Lodge
Waipuna Hotel Auckland
Waipuna Hotel & Conference Centre Auckland/Mount Wellington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing