We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and clean hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Waipuna Hotel & Conference Centre
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 26, 2014

Good place by the lake n 15mins from downtown harbour. We had a comfortable stay and nice room. Bathroom is big and had a nice tub. Nicely lit room. Conveniently located from the city. Auckland is a great city as well and mount Wellington is 10 min drive from the hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RinulFirefly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (317)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

242 - 248 of 317 reviews

Reviewed February 15, 2014

Tourist hotel with noisey guests arriving back from a bus tour at 2 am disrupts sleep patterns. We used the conference facilities and dissappointment is the only way to describe the hotel and its facilities.
Conference room was poorly air conditioned, we had to request a change of chairs (to hard to sit in all day). The morning and afternoon tea where perfect, the buffet lunch was average at best.
The room had been recently refurbished and was fine however one of the colleagues needed to move rooms as his was not just old and tired but included cockroaches and fleas.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
Thank Kruiza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daron_Gray, Director of Sales at Waipuna Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded March 9, 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on our hotel.
We appreciate your comments and will be discussing them as a team.

With regards to your colleagues room, the following action was taken.
Once this was reported to reception we moved the guest to another room and put the room out of order. A pest control company inspected the room and I can confirm that they could not find and infestation and gave the room the all clear.


Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2014

Received a very friendly welcome on arrival, quick check-in and a very comfortable and spacious room. Very quiet room, everything I needed. Had some problems getting the internet connection working but received very swift and cheerful support from front desk - even late at night.

Restaurant was very good indeed - both breakfast and dinner. Gym and pool were uncrowded and well maintained.

I would be very happy to stay at this hotel again anytime. Very good value compared to UK experience.

Room Tip: Some rooms face to the back and others face the water. I was at the back but it was very peaceful an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2014 via mobile

The hotel's remote location constricts clients to relax utilizing their facilities but the poorly maintained, musty gym was unattended therefore became a playground for children. The pool was not maintained either thereby making the pond next door more inviting... Finally I decide to relax at the spa but found it not to be in service. Giving up on the recreational facilities I decide to relax at the hotels restaurant were the buffet is strongly recommended by the staff. I'm usually reluctant to partake in buffet dinners as the quality is low but I was told the buffet includes sushi and the price of nearly $50 for the meal alone convinced me otherwise. If McDonalds made sushi it would probably taste like theirs and the food was not only of low quality but poorly kept as it was soggy on the bottom and dried out on the top (as most buffets).
The tourist busses parked out front should be indicative of a budget hotel but the $200 for one nights stay says the contrary...

Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
Thank Mangosdead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2014

This would have been our first time staying at Waipuna after attending many weddings and day conferences in the function rooms in the past and we were really happy with our entire stay,

We selected a school holiday package for a quick 2 night stay with our small daughter. We had not planned early enough to get out of Auckland for the long weekend and opted to just stay somewhere local and Waipuna offering a really competitive rate for what we received, far better than anything else on the market. I actually half expected to make 'allowances' for the standard received or quality of facilities based on the rate paid but was pleasantly surprised. We opted for the Bureau room because our small daughter will not sleep in her own room just yet and this option had the best 2 bed configuration deal available for our late notice booking,

The bathroom is very modern and we could not hear an ounce of outside noise from within our room. The hotel itself was lovely and quiet, staff very warm and inviting, helpful though we needed minimal aid, we were happy to just lump around and enjoy our time off with each other. We did not manage to enjoy the pool area because of fabulous Auckland weather but it looked lovely, well kept and the gym facilities were good. The hubby did well and made sure he went down, despite my planning to head down, I just couldn't muster up the energy!

We had a buffet breakfast built into our accommodation package which was amazing. Plenty of options, hot and cold and we were pleased to note that while the compendium in the room stated breakfast is cleared at 930, the staff were gracious and left everyone eat well past this point.

We enjoyed the buffet dinner also - but are breakfast people so that was a highlight for us!

Only teeny tiny niggle is the Sunday night buffet was shown on the website and on documents within the room as having a magician on hand, when we arrived to dinner we learnt this was not on for the month of Jan and our daughter, whom we had spent the day explaining what a magician was, was rather disappointed but nothing to be really fussed over at all.

Overall, fabulous stay and I am already looking to bring my sister and daughter back for a girly weekend away and to test out the fabulous looking High tea with them!

Def worth a visit!

Room Tip: If your not to shy to request (as much as I travel I really hate to be a pain and ask for trivial th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paulune N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2014

If you are looking for somewhere out of the Auckland CBD, but not too far away.....then stay here.
Great rooms, so much space. Nice in expensive restaurant.
I was there for work. I can really recommend the meeting rooms and the catering is not overly
Priced. Plenty of parking and if delegates are flying in its only 30 mins to the airport.

Room Tip: See if you can a room with a view of the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PJay2412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2014

We stayed here two nights as a base for visiting Waiheke and Rangitoto.
After the swift and welcoming check-in, we were delighted with our 5th floor room (525) and the amazing view of the Panmure Basin, however we found the whole floor and room were VERY warm. After an hour of having the air conditioner on full blast, we rang reception to let them know the room was still uncomfortably warm. Within 5 minutes the gentleman on duty had inspected the room and moved us across the hall to a much cooler room (528) Excellent, efficient service - we were not at all fazed about the room change and absolutely loved our stay - esp the having a hearty and compete breakfast overlooking the Basin.
The new bathrooms were particularly impressive and it was obvious to us that the place is run by an excellent team.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
Thank Tomw84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daron_Gray, Director of Sales at Waipuna Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on our hotel.
I was dissappointed to hear that you had an issue with the air conditioning in the room but can confirm that this has been addressed by our maintenance team.
I was however pleased to hear that it was dealt with in a speedy manner and that you enjoyed the rest of your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mount Wellington
4.9 mi away
Quality Hotel Parnell
Quality Hotel Parnell
#19 of 66 in Auckland Central
725 reviews
5.8 mi away
Cordis, Auckland
Cordis, Auckland
#5 of 66 in Auckland Central
4,458 reviews
2.9 mi away
Ibis Auckland Ellerslie
Ibis Auckland Ellerslie
#1 of 2 in Ellerslie
701 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Best Western Ellerslie Ellerslie International
2.9 mi away
Novotel Auckland Ellerslie Hotel
5.9 mi away
Jet Park Hotel & Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waipuna Hotel & Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waipuna Hotel & Conference Centre

Address: 58 Waipuna Rd | Mt Wellington, Mount Wellington, Auckland 1060, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Mount Wellington
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Mount Wellington
Price Range: $106 - $228 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Waipuna Hotel & Conference Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waipuna Hotel and Conference Centre is one of New Zealand's largest and most comprehensive Auckland conference centres and hotel accommodation venue. Primarily dedicated to staging conferences, meetings, exhibitions, product launches, seminars and special events. We are just 15 minutes from both Auckland City and Auckland's International Airport. Waipuna is set amongst 6.26 acres of parkland overlooking a picturesque saltwater lagoon. Our prestigious 4-star hotel accommodation and superb guest facilities, include 450 free off-street car parks, internet, restaurant and bar options, and a swimming pool, spa and gymnasium for your use. We have 148 spacious hotel accommodation options ranging from Bureau rooms to Presidential suites perfect for families, holiday makers, corporate traveller, or romantic weekend getaways. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Waipuna Hotel & Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waipuna Hotel And Conference Centre
Waipuna Lodge
Waipuna Hotel Auckland
Waipuna Hotel & Conference Centre Auckland/Mount Wellington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing