We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Consistently Good”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Waipuna Hotel & Conference Centre
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 21, 2013

We have stayed here before, mainly when on business. Recently my husband completed a feedback card and we were surprised with a free nights accomodation, breakfast and late checkout.
We were upgraded on arrival to a refurbished room on the 4th floor which was nice. Lovely new bathroom, good size room and a view of the water.
Breakfast was nice, farily standard hotel fare.
We had a drink in the bar on arrival and found the staff friendly.
Overall, a lovely stay, thanks Waipuna.

Room Tip: We stayed in one of the newly refurbished rooms which was lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HomebaseTauranga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (317)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

256 - 262 of 317 reviews

Reviewed August 5, 2013

I have stayed in this hotel twice and would go back again and again.
The location is picturesque, the staff are excellent, the conference centre is wonderful,there are good opportunities for fitness activities and it is close to good shopping and the trains at Sylvia Park.

Each time I have had a room with a view over the lagoon. Each time I cannot fault the service at reception and in the restaurant - courteous and efficient.
We stayed as a family though I was actually at a conference for three of the days.The conference facilities are good and well-organised, with good technical support and excellent food choices for teas and lunches.Good space for trade displays.
The rooms are spacious, quiet, uncluttered and clean.Nice to have the little safe in the wardrobe.
The restaurant has good views over the lagoon ( nicest when the tide is in). Extensive choices for breakfast, all so yummy!
We walked the short distance to Sylvia park to catch a train into Britomart which is very convenient to the ferries and the bus exchange. Three types of transport within a few yards of each other, wow!
At the hotel we used the swimming pool, gym and went jogging around the lagoon. The latter is a great way to start the day!
My only disappointment was the very limited free internet. It did however keep our son in check (true computer nerd).
My latest stay was on my own for a conference.( I was happy to find a ATM for those conference-special purchases!) It was a great little get-away, Time to relax and enjoy the comfort of the hotel but also so handy to kickstart your day running round the lagoon. The swimming pool and spa were just what I needed at the end of the day, bliss!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fussy c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2013

This is the second time I have stayed at the Waipuna Hotel. This time it was not for a conference and just a quick overnight stay. The room had been recently refurbished and was looking very nice. The bathroom had been completely redone and certainly lifted the room from previous visits. The only major concern this time was that we were put on the third floor which was currently under renovation. Plastic covered a lot of the hall way and the waft of paint fumes was not overlay pleasant at all. It would have been nice to have been forewarned about the possibility of being put on this floor. Other than that the stay was very nice. Also the TV had been locked out as it didn't think a guest was checked in to that room. Breakfast in the restaurant is extremely expensive so if you can hold out to visit a café then would be better value. Ended up costing $23 for a bowl of cereal. Cooked was $32.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gahchch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2013

Waipuna Hotel & Conference Centre is a lovely hotel to stay in. If you are lucky enough to get a room with a view of the lagoon/pond it is great! Lovely and interesting walk as well around the lagoon. Rooms are a good size and house cleaning is of a high standard. Staff were friendly and helpful. It is a very busy hotel and conference centre. Returning late at night it was reassuring to see security patrolling the area.
Had one breakfast at the hotel which was great, but just a little over priced we felt.
Couple of little things that could be improved - lighting in the rooms could be better for those readers amongst us. Mainly lamps where a good centre light would have been appreciated.
Good selection of room snacks available, but just a bit expensive! Brought home a dessert one night but alas, only a teaspoon to eat it with.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the lagoon.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LilyNewZealand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2013

Heat pump in room wasn't working when outside temperature was down at 4 deg C. Got bumped up to the executive suit no questions asked, but that was even colder with inadequate heat pump. That said I love the very well appointed rooms. Nothing like it in the rest of Auckland for the price.. Recommend the buffet dinner option, but breakfast is bit too expensive for my liking even thought the company was paying.

Room Tip: Standard rooms are perfectly acceptable. No need to pay for an upgrade
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Danny L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daron_Gray, Director of Sales at Waipuna Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on our hotel.

I was dissapointed to hear that the heat pumps were not working in the rooms.
These have been attended to and with the cold spell Auckland is currently experiencing we have decided to turn on the heat pumps on all arrival rooms in the afternoon, to ensure guests are greeted in a room that is warm and welcoming.

Once again thank you for your comments.

Regards

Daron Gray

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2013

I have stayed here dozens of times. A very friendly enjoyable hotel. Staff are very accommodating and helpful. Nothing a problem. They remember me each time I go and always willing to have a chat in a friendly but not overly effusive way.
Very good for conferences and meetings.
Would recommend it to anyone.
The staff in the company I work for all enjoy staying here and were most disappointed when for a while we had to stay elsewhere.
We all requested to be able to stay back at this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank PCMcT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daron_Gray, Director of Sales at Waipuna Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on our hotel.
I am glad you enjoyed your stay, and really appreciate your loyalty.
It is always a pleasure to receive feedback such as yours.

Kind regards

Daron

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2013

We stayed here for a wedding, one of 3 that they were holding there that day. You'd think that would mean chaos but each event kept to its own area and every ran super smoothly. We were also able to get a very good bulk rate and felt we got a lot for our money.

The rooms are large and tidy and really well kitted out, the service was first rate. Great place to stay!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank daegal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mount Wellington
4.9 mi away
Quality Hotel Parnell
Quality Hotel Parnell
#19 of 66 in Auckland Central
724 reviews
5.8 mi away
Cordis, Auckland
Cordis, Auckland
#5 of 66 in Auckland Central
4,457 reviews
2.9 mi away
Ibis Auckland Ellerslie
Ibis Auckland Ellerslie
#1 of 2 in Ellerslie
701 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Best Western Ellerslie Ellerslie International
2.9 mi away
Novotel Auckland Ellerslie Hotel
5.9 mi away
Jet Park Hotel & Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waipuna Hotel & Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waipuna Hotel & Conference Centre

Address: 58 Waipuna Rd | Mt Wellington, Mount Wellington, Auckland 1060, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Mount Wellington
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Mount Wellington
Price Range: $106 - $229 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Waipuna Hotel & Conference Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waipuna Hotel and Conference Centre is one of New Zealand's largest and most comprehensive Auckland conference centres and hotel accommodation venue. Primarily dedicated to staging conferences, meetings, exhibitions, product launches, seminars and special events. We are just 15 minutes from both Auckland City and Auckland's International Airport. Waipuna is set amongst 6.26 acres of parkland overlooking a picturesque saltwater lagoon. Our prestigious 4-star hotel accommodation and superb guest facilities, include 450 free off-street car parks, internet, restaurant and bar options, and a swimming pool, spa and gymnasium for your use. We have 148 spacious hotel accommodation options ranging from Bureau rooms to Presidential suites perfect for families, holiday makers, corporate traveller, or romantic weekend getaways. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Waipuna Hotel & Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waipuna Hotel And Conference Centre
Waipuna Lodge
Waipuna Hotel Auckland
Waipuna Hotel & Conference Centre Auckland/Mount Wellington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing