We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very pleased with this hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Waipuna Hotel & Conference Centre
Certificate of Excellence
kiwi
Level Contributor
56 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Very pleased with this hotel”
Reviewed December 3, 2011

Normally stay at Novotel Ellerslie but they upset us with a booking so decided to try somewhere new. Found the Waipuna a great place. Good rooms with Lagoon views. Best water pressure in the shower in any hotel we have stayed in and water pressure is vital to me.

Room Tip: Ask for Lagoon views
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank neatsKiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    140
    29
    4
    3
See reviews for
47
76
9
126
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Rangiora, New Zealand
Level Contributor
47 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2011

Selected by the company as one of the only venues big enough to hold our group the Waipuna turned out to be great, with the exception of the slow and clunky elevators. Room was a little dated but very enjoyable. The bathroom did make up for the bland decor in the rest of the unit. Catering was of a good standard and there was plenty of food. Easy walking distance to a major shopping centre. Staff were very friendly. Internet was expensive so ended up not using. I would not call it a family friendly complex but certainly good for the event we had there.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gahchch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotorua
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2011

We stayed for 2 nights and the rooms were comfortable and clean but the mini-bar in the small fridge was too over-stocked and over-priced, and ther was no room for anything else, the conference we went to was a disappointment as the food and the coffee was cold or had run out.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelbugs269
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2011

Roughly halfway between the city and the airport, the location of this hotel was appealing for me. The room I had was recently refurbished and very comfortable. I had expected a fairly bland place being a conference centre but was really surprised.
The rooms are spacious with a very comfortable bed. The bathroom was of a size and well appointed. There was an iron that was of good quality that actually worked - something of a rarityI'm finding these days!
In all I found my stay to be extremely pleasant. The dinner in the restaurant was fairly plain, but that didn't detract from my stay overall. I wouldn't stay here if I was on holidays as it really is in the suburbs, but for work I would have no hesitation in returning.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SMG2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
129 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2011

Although not convenient for city or North Shore activities this large hotel with multiple convention rooms is good if you have a car or using taxis to visit businesses in the industrial belt south of the city. It is a clean and spacious hotel with good sized rooms, pleasant staff with a bar and good restaurant. I have probably stayed here six times and will go back when in Auckland

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vicnzsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2011

The service at Waipuna was friendly and professional, check-in and check-out were quick and easy.

The room was spacious, clean, modern and the bathrooms were huge, had large shower, full bathtub etc. The beds were comfy and warm.

The location is great if you have a car and know Auckland well. There was free car parking and plenty of spaces, we came back quite late at night and had no trouble finding a park very close to our room.

We very very happy with our stay and will be back again if we ever need to be close to Mount Wellington or Sylvia Park shopping mall.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KateW84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level Contributor
71 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2011

A very good conference hotel, with all the facilitates for gatherings of varying sizes. Location away from the city centre keeps everyone focused, but large grounds allow for breaks and walks with room to get away from your colleagues. Waterside position means lovely views from some rooms. Not in the luxury bracket, but the rooms are huge and very well-appointed, so a stay fro several days doesn't leave you feeling stir-crazy. Both room service and restaurant food were above expectations (buffet breakfast especially).

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kiwijj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mount Wellington
1.8 mi away
Best Western Ellerslie Ellerslie International
2.9 mi away
Ibis Auckland Ellerslie
Ibis Auckland Ellerslie
#1 of 2 in Ellerslie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 672 reviews
2.9 mi away
Novotel Auckland Ellerslie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Jet Park Hotel & Conference Centre
7.5 mi away
Novotel Auckland Airport
5.7 mi away
The Langham, Auckland
The Langham, Auckland
#5 of 67 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waipuna Hotel & Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waipuna Hotel & Conference Centre

Property: Waipuna Hotel & Conference Centre
Address: 58 Waipuna Rd | Mt Wellington, Mount Wellington 1060, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Mount Wellington
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Mount Wellington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Waipuna Hotel & Conference Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 148
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Waipuna Hotel & Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waipuna Hotel And Conference Centre
Waipuna Lodge
Waipuna Hotel Auckland
Waipuna Hotel & Conference Centre Auckland/Mount Wellington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing