We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very happy stay at Waipuna”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Waipuna Hotel & Conference Centre
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Very happy stay at Waipuna”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2011

The service at Waipuna was friendly and professional, check-in and check-out were quick and easy.

The room was spacious, clean, modern and the bathrooms were huge, had large shower, full bathtub etc. The beds were comfy and warm.

The location is great if you have a car and know Auckland well. There was free car parking and plenty of spaces, we came back quite late at night and had no trouble finding a park very close to our room.

We very very happy with our stay and will be back again if we ever need to be close to Mount Wellington or Sylvia Park shopping mall.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KateW84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

288 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    139
    29
    4
    3
See reviews for
47
74
9
126
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level Contributor
71 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2011

A very good conference hotel, with all the facilitates for gatherings of varying sizes. Location away from the city centre keeps everyone focused, but large grounds allow for breaks and walks with room to get away from your colleagues. Waterside position means lovely views from some rooms. Not in the luxury bracket, but the rooms are huge and very well-appointed, so a stay fro several days doesn't leave you feeling stir-crazy. Both room service and restaurant food were above expectations (buffet breakfast especially).

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kiwijj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne , Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2011

On a trip over from Aus for business they comapny put me up here .. Feels a little like your in the middle of no where thats for sure , but its a short drive from the airport .

I ended up with a loft room , which i must say was very nice , the bathroom was brand new and would give it a 10 out of 10 !

There was a nice sitting area with tv and upstairs a nice big bed with another TV. Shame my view was of the car park but hey what can you do .

I was disappointed there was no wireless internet available , so had to sit at the desk to do any work (which was prob for the best) although there is not enough power points to plug in ur laptop so u will have to make a choice between phone or light lol !

House cleaning was good but i was a little disported that a few things i got from the mini bar where out of date , like the 3 month old orange juice - YUCK !

They need to have portable phones in the lofts , you have all this space and 3 phones but , these days multi tasking is key so having to be stuck in one location while on the phone is frustrating.

The food .. well it was gorgeous ! Breakfast yummy !! Make sure you try all the beautiful honeys they have on off and the staff are wonderful .

Would i stay here for business , sure would there is a big shopping centre down the road that i could have visited if i hadn't been so dam tired after working all day . Would i stay here if i was a tourist and visiting auckland , def not ! You want to be staying down town . Nothing against the hotel just location is not set up for seeing sights !

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheGirls17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, NZ
Level Contributor
168 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2011

I expected an older tired hotel: what I experience was a modern tidy resort.

Bedrooms are a very good size and have been done up nicely, and the TV worked well. We decided to stay outside of the city so that we had no parking hassles. I guess that the property is a good 20 - 30 minutes out of the city (with no traffic), and is in a pretty location.

The customer-service is excellent including check-in staff and house-keeping.

It is nice to have breakfast in a hotel restaurant with a nice view. There is also linen serviettes and linen table cloths. This is more than I would have expected for a hotel breakfast. Breakfast is very average for what you pay but is good value with one of their inclusive packages.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank guynz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2011

A nice room with 2 queen beds and a view of a lake/basin. Nice facilities in the Hotel. Very good value for money. very good service. The staff were friendly and knowledgeable.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zelazny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson, New Zealand
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2011

just got back from a 3 night stay. Went for a conference.
We had room 218 which hasn't been refurbished so it's a bit tired the beds are comfortable and the room is a good size with a king and a queen.
unfortunately our room backed onto a staff stairwell and some sort of store room so it was quite noisy which meant we ddin't get a good nights sleep.
had a look at other rooms that had been refurbished and these were much nicer with views over the lagoon so for the same price I would ask for one of these next time.
restaurant had a really nice buffet for $45 which was good value.
It's quite out of the way in a residential area of Mt Wellington about a 5 minute drive to Sylvia Park.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank frazzledfozzle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitianga
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2011

Very comfortable spacious room with lovely outlook over the lake. Very quiet. The service was unobtrusive and efficient. I love staying here as it is easy to access, is close the Sylvia Park and has fantastic rooms and lovely restaurant.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MooEyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mount Wellington
1.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Ellerslie International
2.9 mi away
Ibis Auckland Ellerslie
Ibis Auckland Ellerslie
#1 of 2 in Ellerslie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 664 reviews
2.9 mi away
Novotel Auckland Ellerslie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Jet Park Hotel & Conference Centre
7.5 mi away
Novotel Auckland Airport
5.7 mi away
The Langham, Auckland
The Langham, Auckland
#5 of 66 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,066 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waipuna Hotel & Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waipuna Hotel & Conference Centre

Property: Waipuna Hotel & Conference Centre
Address: 58 Waipuna Rd | Mt Wellington, Mount Wellington 1060, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Mount Wellington
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Mount Wellington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Waipuna Hotel & Conference Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 148
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Waipuna Hotel & Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waipuna Hotel And Conference Centre
Waipuna Lodge
Waipuna Hotel Auckland
Waipuna Hotel & Conference Centre Auckland/Mount Wellington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing