We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Getting what you pay for”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mount Richmond Hotel
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Getting what you pay for”
Reviewed June 16, 2013

I was after budget accommodation for a couple of nights and that is what we got. Rooms are very small. Floor in our room creaked and squeaked badly when we walked. Wi-fi not accessible in our room. Awoken at 5am by neighbour. Walls paper thin and he also had those pesky floorboards!
It is rather soul-less. Room service did respond quickly with our request for ice and water.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    34
    35
    25
    21
See reviews for
21
49
3
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2013 via mobile

Wouldn't reccomend to a homeless person. Local staff lovely but managed and operated un professionally no assistance, no help, no way woul I return I wouldn't even park my car anywhere near. I am genuinely surprised how this hotel stays open. It's a poor excuse for and establishment. I wouldn't trust the beds, in any rooms the facilities are appalling. And again management is for want of a better word completely incompetent. Good luck if you decide to try. It's on you

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank m s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Mount Wellington hotels

Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 10, 2013

I stayed here earlier this week in a room that overlooked the pool. There is not much sound proofing between the rooms which meant I could pretty much hear all of the conversation in the room next door. The pool area also acts as an outdoor drinking area and the group that arrived at 6pm were still drinking and yelling at 10.30pm. I contacted reception to ask if they could be moved inside (the pool is supposed to be closed at 10pm) and was told the bar would close soon so "things should be quiter then". Of course when told it was last drinks the group ordered more and the noise continued on.

Management took no action to curb the noise.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank HarryW854
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
254 reviews
113 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2013

The room was small, and the bed and desk both huge. Result - no room for cases, no room to move, no space for bedside tables, no way to actually use the desk, as it almost hit the foot of the bed. The hotel has at least 2 wings facing each other & our room overlooked the restaurant - more accurately, the restaurant windows all faced directly into the room, and were no more than 10 feet away from our window, so we had no privacy at all! With the curtains drawn to shut out the wait staff (sitting and watching the restaurant TV as there were no customers actually eating), we felt as though we were spending the night in a very dark and overhot cupboard (no air-con, minimal lighting). The bedding and shower-room were clean, but the carpet was filthy - not just stained, but covered in fluff, hair, toe-nail clippings and the like. Definitely do not plan to return here any time ever. It's also in a pretty poor neighbourhood with no real amenities around - the only local choice of places to eat outside the hotel were a take-away fish and chip shop and a Wendy's burger bar.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IMUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taupo
Level 6 Contributor
297 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2013

We had the family room I guess, one king in one room and 2 beds in an adjacent room. Not a lot of room and the bed was the couch. Had to get enough cups and glasses as had not left enough. Room was clean and the bed and pillows were great. Wanted to take the pillows home with me.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TaupoSheryll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2013

Stayed a night and could not believe the room — very small but stuffed with a king size bed which made movement around the room difficult for two mature adults. Trying to manoeuvre inside the room was hernia inducing. I've stayed in bigger rooms in Hong Kong hotels paying pretty much the same rates or less!

The bathroom was of average size but the sink was so small that splashing water onto one's face resulted in hitting one's head against the mirror. There was insufficient space to place anything but the basic toiletries provided by the hotel.The hook on the door was of thin plastic and could be easily broken if used. The fan in the bathroom can only be described as asthmatic and the airconditioner suffered from bouts of flatulence every minute or so — sleeping through it proved to be a challenge despite the comfortable bed.

Although free internet access was provided, there was no way to sit at the table to do one's work due to the tight space constraints— possibly the reason why the only chair in the room was placed in the far corner of the room instead of by the table.

However, a big plus was the staff at the bar/ restaurant — friendly and helpful with great service skills. The food was good — we enjoyed the delicious garlic bread, lamb salad and strudel. with cream and ice cream.


We definitely won't be staying here again although we might still eat at the restaurant.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scs98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Invercargill, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed January 29, 2013

Our familly lived hotel for four days,friendly and helpful staff,the room was clean,the bed was big enough for three people,my son was really enjoy the free wifi,it ias pity for the room was not big enough but it was good value for money

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank legend z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mount Wellington
4.0 mi away
Ibis Auckland Ellerslie
Ibis Auckland Ellerslie
#1 of 2 in Ellerslie
688 reviews
1.8 mi away
Waipuna Hotel & Conference Centre
Waipuna Hotel & Conference Centr...
#1 of 4 in Mount Wellington
307 reviews
7.0 mi away
Kiwi International Hotel
Kiwi International Hotel
#32 of 67 in Auckland
688 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Auckland Airport Kiwi Hotel
4.0 mi away
Novotel Auckland Ellerslie Hotel
2.0 mi away
Grange Motor Lodge
Grange Motor Lodge
#3 of 6 in Manukau
211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mount Richmond Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mount Richmond Hotel

Property: Mount Richmond Hotel
Address: 676 Mount Wellington Highway, Mount Wellington 1062, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Mount Wellington
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Mount Wellington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mount Richmond Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 Star hotel, recently refurbished, just 10kms from Auckland city centre and 15kms from Airport. 8 conference/function venues & wedding facilities for up to 200 guests. Restaurant & Bar. Swimming pool, Spa & Gymnasium. Broadband internet throughout. Great food, great facilities and friendly staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mount Richmond Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mount Richmond Hotel Auckland/Mount Wellington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing