We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 Star PLUS”
Review of Pheasant Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Pheasant Suites
Certificate of Excellence
Canvey Island
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“5 Star PLUS”
Reviewed February 12, 2012

Genuinely blown away. We wanted 5 star and 5 star we got. What a find! The Pheasant Retreat offers genuine complete privacy and luxurious comfort. Ideal for a special occasion or just for a nice romantic break. Everything has been thought of (even a proper hair dryer and hair straighteners for the wife!). The queensize bed was one of the most comfortable beds we've ever slept in and the quality of the linen was second to none. The Pheasant Retreat was also spotlessly clean (So much so, you would think that you were the very first people to enjoy it) The bath was truly luxurous and the special candles were a really nice touch. The quality large screen digital TV (with built in DVD player) and the great selection of DVDs together with the cotton bath robes and slippers makes the Pheasant Retreat a great place to relax. The quality of the food was also superb and well worth the extra cost. I love my food and breakfast was simply fabulous. From the 'posh' porridge to the choice of nine different sausages! Even the honey that came with the toast was warm! The whole experience is a true credit to Lynda and Nigel. Others need to visit and take a leaf out of your book. Thank you for a truly lovely stay. See you again soon!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Glenn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

463 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    452
    11
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
309
33
58
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
woodbridge
1 review
Reviewed February 8, 2012

Private Romantic
Heavenly Exquisite
Exceptional Terrific
Amazing Relaxing
Secluded Excellent
Awesome Astounding
Novel Tremendous
Tranquil

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank horseypeople
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lyndaessex, Owner at Pheasant Suites, responded to this review, February 10, 2012
What an unusual way of writing a review. I suspect a thesaurus was required for this. We do have all sorts of rhymes, stories, recommendations for restaurants and sight seeing and blogs written in each of the suites journals, by our guests. They make very interesting reading and the word Pheasant is widely used.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2012

Fantastic! I wanted 5 star service, complete seclusion, a big big room, bone china, 100% cleanliness, & a choice of 20 types of sausage with my English breakfast. Lynda & Nigel delivered big style. Omg. Never though I'd use my kids dreadful acronym, but it's the only terminology that fits. Why am I sharing this with anyone else?!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cybershotajm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lyndaessex, Owner at Pheasant Suites, responded to this review, February 10, 2012
This very complimentary review relates to Pheasant Lodge. So many of our guests write reviews about the Retreat, so it is lovely to receive one that relates to a different room.
It is certainly a big big room, almost an apartment with a kitchen, 2 double beds, chesterfield settee,desk, breakfast bar and lovely views from all 8 windows. Having so many windows floods the whole room with masses of natural light and generates a very restful atmosphere.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clacton-on-Sea, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed February 3, 2012

We walked in to the pheasant retreat and me and my boyfriend were completely blown away by everything, especially the lovely large bath. Every little detail was well thought out and made the stay even more amazing. The large bed was really comfortable, and the heart shaped leaves on the bed was a lovely touch. Breakfast was lovely, loads of choice especially the sausages. It was very surreal having a door bell ring and then breakfast appeared in a cupboard, but this was very lovely. It was also lovely that we were in complete privacy and was not disturbed once. This was lovely as we didn't hardly leave the room, to make the most of everything in this lovely retreat. I recommend this place to anyone, and Lynda was a really lovely lady, who did her best in anything we asked for. Thank you for a lovely stay. Lisa And Denis.

Room Tip: choose the Pheasant retreat.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lisa4509
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lyndaessex, Owner at Pheasant Suites, responded to this review, February 10, 2012
It makes everything worthwhile when our guests write such lovely comments. The magic cupboard has proved very popular, so much so that we have now installed one in Pheasant Suite. The Retreat was built to ensure that our guests have total privacy at all times and are never disturbed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed January 25, 2012

I travel to Essex on a regular basis with my job and always stayed at a 4 star hotel near to Colchester. About 3 months ago the hotel was fully booked and I had to look for alternative accommodation. I decided to give Pheasant Suites a try and I have stayed here on every trip since. I was so immpressed by the outstanding quality and cleanliness of the suites and I love the peacfull location with views of fields and of course the pheasants. Linda and her family are always on hand if you need any help but the suites have been cleverly designed to give total privacy. I love staying here.

Room Tip: Each suite is absolutely delightful but if you are looking for something really special for a romant...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lyndaessex, Owner at Pheasant Suites, responded to this review, January 26, 2012
We are delighted when a guest feels so much at home that they become a regular. Having a kitchen and a much larger room than you would normally find, in a bed and breakfast or hotel, means that you do not need to go out in the evenings. Many of our guests bring their own food and wine or have a takeaway delivered. They can then relax in complete privacy and unwind. This also has the added advantage of being a much cheaper option than eating out.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Braintree, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed January 13, 2012

My husband and I stayed in the Retreat for 2 nights.

It was absolutely amazing. It is difficult to add anything to all the previous comments that have been written. Lynda had written 'Happy Birthday' on our bed in petals, which was a lovely touch. There was homemade cake, chocolate pheasants in the fridge, a bottle of Amaretto in case we fancied a night cap, lots of DVDs, an enormous flat screen TV and of course the enormous bath. It brought to mind a rugby player's bath,(minus the hunks!!)

We didn't go out the whole time we were there, which was an added bonus as we didn't have to spend lots of money on expensive dinners.

Definitely be back, could easily live there!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank braintreechris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
212 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2012

Just about to head out from a night's stay at Pheasant Suite. Although only a few miles out of Colchester - this place feels off the beaten track - my taxi driver reluctantly had to switch on his sat-nav. I was in the suite - which is extremely private - you get a suite split into a living area and sleeping area with a partition. The breakfast is taken in your room - delivered through a hatch - which means you are not disturbed at all. There is also a patio - although not the weather to use it today. Enjoyed a really quiet nights sleep in a comfortable bed followed by a great breakfast. Everything is very clean and well set up. I arrived late and the owners were very accommodating and happy to take a late breakfast order. Great place - excellent value for money - thanks.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simon D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lyndaessex, Owner at Pheasant Suites, responded to this review, January 12, 2012
Our guest commented on the telephone, when he booked, that he was staying with us based solely on our excellent Trip Advisor reviews so I am delighted that we did not disappoint him in any way.
I would just like to clarify that the partition is actually a solid brick wall with an archway at either end. The breakfast hatch is a new addition to the Suite, based on the success of the hatch installed in the Retreat . This does give our guests total privacy and they have the option of eating breakfast in their dressing gowns, outside in their courtyard or even in bed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Elmstead Market
1.4 mi away
Wivenhoe House
Wivenhoe House
#1 of 1 in Wivenhoe
681 reviews
2.7 mi away
Best Western The Rose And Crown Colchester
3.2 mi away
GreyFriars
GreyFriars
#5 of 23 in Colchester
161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
The Court House
The Court House
#1 of 1 in Great Bromley
106 reviews
4.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Colchester
3.6 mi away
Blue Ivy Hotel
Blue Ivy Hotel
#7 of 23 in Colchester
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pheasant Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pheasant Suites

Property: Pheasant Suites
Address: Balls Farm Tye Road, Elmstead Market, Colchester CO7 7BB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Colchester > Elmstead Market
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Elmstead Market
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Pheasant Suites 5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pheasant Suites are situated in the grounds of the non-working Balls Farm. The 17th century Farm House is surrounded by fields and wildlife and located less than two miles from the centre of Colchester and Essex University, a mile from the village of Elmstead Market, Beth Chatto Gardens and only 15 miles from Harwich. It is on the edge of Constable Country. Guest facilities are completely separate from our own, affording guests a level of privacy not normally associated with Bed and Breakfast accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com and LateRooms so you can book your Pheasant Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing